Chevron Left
Back to Logistic Regression in R for Public Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Logistic Regression in R for Public Health by Imperial College London

4.8
stars
188 ratings
37 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Logistic Regression in R for Public Health! Why logistic regression for public health rather than just logistic regression? Well, there are some particular considerations for every data set, and public health data sets have particular features that need special attention. In a word, they're messy. Like the others in the series, this is a hands-on course, giving you plenty of practice with R on real-life, messy data, with predicting who has diabetes from a set of patient characteristics as the worked example for this course. Additionally, the interpretation of the outputs from the regression model can differ depending on the perspective that you take, and public health doesn’t just take the perspective of an individual patient but must also consider the population angle. That said, much of what is covered in this course is true for logistic regression when applied to any data set, so you will be able to apply the principles of this course to logistic regression more broadly too. By the end of this course, you will be able to: Explain when it is valid to use logistic regression Define odds and odds ratios Run simple and multiple logistic regression analysis in R and interpret the output Evaluate the model assumptions for multiple logistic regression in R Describe and compare some common ways to choose a multiple regression model This course builds on skills such as hypothesis testing, p values, and how to use R, which are covered in the first two courses of the Statistics for Public Health specialisation. If you are unfamiliar with these skills, we suggest you review Statistical Thinking for Public Health and Linear Regression for Public Health before beginning this course. If you are already familiar with these skills, we are confident that you will enjoy furthering your knowledge and skills in Statistics for Public Health: Logistic Regression for Public Health. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

DS

Sep 28, 2019

This one is better compared with the one about linear regression regarding the quizzes, which are designed better to test your knowledge

SS

Apr 11, 2020

Great course! All Life science students and those currently working in Data science& Clinical development R&D should take this course

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Logistic Regression in R for Public Health

By Sajith S

Apr 11, 2020

Great course! All Life science students and those currently working in Data science& Clinical development R&D should take this course

By Nevin J

Dec 05, 2019

Excellent course. Good for those with solid understanding of basic statistics but looking to implement logistic regression in analysis using R. Needs decent understanding of R. It takes you through the basics of logistic regression. It explains really well using analogies and examples. It explains things well without getting stuck in the mathematical background too much. The quizzes are great and the feedback through course outstanding

By MOHAMMAD R W

Nov 19, 2019

I must thank the instructors and Coursera for this course. I have become more confident in using R for data analysis. The course helps you to understand when and when not to use logistic regression for your data. That is important for me as a Biology PhD student.

By Arijit N

Dec 03, 2019

Clinically relevant and lucid discussions.

Thoroughly recommended for medical professionals who are not highly skilled in mathematical analysis and need simple statements and exercises to understand the basic concepts.

Very good for beginners.

By Vivekananda D

Jun 19, 2019

Excellent course! Highly recommended for people who want an introduction to Logistic Regression. I hope the instructor offers another version of the course with little more advanced material (for example, ordinal and multinomial logit models).

By Maria G G H

Mar 10, 2020

Excelente curso, me cuesta un poco de trabajo por que no soy hablante del Inglés, sin embargo, tanto las tareas como los ejercicios están muy bien planeados para asegurar el aprendizaje y mantener el interés hasta su conclusión.

By Ikenna M

Jan 24, 2020

Excellent course and I will highly recommend it to other people seeking to gain knowledge of Logistic Regression. However, there were some typographical errors, which I believe will be corrected by a quality control team.

By Erin

Nov 12, 2019

An excellent way to get oriented to Logistic Regression in R! The course is created with a particular nod to public health, but nearly everything was still relevant to my own research in health psychology.

By Tommys J G G

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent and very complete course on R. Specially for those working in public health and with an interest in understanding models of clinical trials, etc.

By ji t

Apr 05, 2019

very good course!! highly recommend!! Although I am not major in public health, I learned a lot about logistic regression and basic ideas for data science

By rob v m

Mar 24, 2020

Excellent course on logistic regression. I especially appreciated the R code exercises given and the clear videos presented by Dr. Alex Bottle

By Donghan S

Sep 28, 2019

This one is better compared with the one about linear regression regarding the quizzes, which are designed better to test your knowledge

By Sergio P

Oct 18, 2019

Amazing course. I'm looking forward to the survival analysis course. Week 3 is specially good. I'm sure you'll have fun.

By Sara A L

Mar 30, 2020

Very valuable information presented in a very clear way. It was super useful to me. Thanks!

By Pau G C

Mar 03, 2020

A good overview of Logistic Regression from zero.

A very useful tool for public health data

By Moses C B A

Apr 01, 2019

This is one of the best courses. Dr. Alex is amazing and delivers the content quite well.

By Fidel G

Jan 19, 2020

Awesome course and looking forwards to dive into more Statistical analysis

By Arnt D

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent course. To the point explanations with a good sense of humour.

By yi j

Feb 02, 2020

Very practical and explicit course about logistic regression.

By Tsang S L

May 15, 2020

Excellent teaching! very useful R codes!

By Enrique L

Mar 27, 2020

Really good course!! Highly recommended.

By qianmengxiao

Apr 14, 2020

I like this course!The prof is good

By Shova P

Jul 15, 2019

Course is very easy to follow

By Don A E

Jul 31, 2020

AWESOME. Very organized.

By Jin C

Jul 15, 2020

Thank you

You are the best!