Chevron Left
Back to Love as a Force for Social Justice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Love as a Force for Social Justice by Stanford University

4.7
stars
334 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

Top reviews

AG
Jun 17, 2021

Excellent concepts, theoretical models and practical applications of social justice work in educational institutions, business and non-profit and health care settings. Anindita Ganguly, Ph.D.

KL
Oct 31, 2019

I learned to find ways to look at how ordinary and mundane moments can be lived extraordinarily. This made me radically change my perspective on love and living life fully.

Filter by:

101 - 115 of 115 Reviews for Love as a Force for Social Justice

By Héctor S V

Oct 22, 2021

t

By Luiza M

Aug 31, 2021

5

By Mari P

May 22, 2021

very interesting course about how Love has a role to play in our society and how to work through it, not only for those around us, but for the whole of the world to enjoy. Maybe the last two weeks are a bit weak compared with all the information we got in the previous ones, that were more focused on anthropology, spirituality and philosophy, but it's interesting nevertheless to see how all those things can have a practical use.

Just as an afterthought, maybe the course lacks of some more activist point of view. We got to see Love in Business, and even how to make an NGO work, but I missed a bit more of groundwork. Maybe an interview with an actual activist when talking about non-violent resistance would make the experience more present and not make it feel like it's something from the past.

The Professor and all the speakers had were all amazing.

By Andrey

Mar 15, 2021

A great course generally. I wish there would be more courses like that. Nevertheless, some of the talks especially ones with religious leaders were difficult to follow and boring. By the end of the course, it lacked interactive pieces. There were a lot of readings where we could find links to other materials. That decreased my engagement. The homework was truly amazing. I didn't expect these practices to be so powerful but some works from other students were useless and it was a waste of time (while some of these opened new things about love for me). These useless works met all of the requirements but were written just to pass the class.

By Priscilla S

Dec 6, 2020

This course has given me a new meaning to love. I speak consciously,walk consciously and act with love.I now ask myself daily,what act of love I have performed by the end of the day.Thank you to Stanford University for this opportunity.

By Nancy C

May 25, 2021

Good course, lots of information. It was useful in helping me gain a deeper understanding of a loving kindness practice. If everyone took this course, the world would be a better place.

By Alejandra d v

Apr 4, 2021

Todo lo que nos haga volvernos más reflexivos, humildes y generosos tiene sentido. Y este curso lo logra. Uno sale mejor ser humano.

By Tracey A

Mar 22, 2021

This was an amazing course and cause participants to dig deep into their heart and explore love as a motivation for social justice.

By Ruth A S

Sep 2, 2021

Very interesting class with various interesting reading materials. I am glad I took this class. I would recommend it to anyone.

By fatima a k

May 30, 2021

good learning course

By Kimble P

Oct 16, 2018

I am a bit 'long in the tooth' to have not visited most of this material already. It was a PLEASURE to hear younger people taking all this thought process into consideration. I liked hearing the interviews, especially the women who were new to me.

By Joy S

Oct 12, 2017

Just ok.

By Sneha s

Aug 11, 2020

Very difficult to submit assignments.

By Ana C B R

Sep 18, 2018

This course feels a bit like Political Propaganda.... not worth anyone's time. Standford usually has very independent courses, interesting... This one felt a little bit like indoctrination. I liked the first part of the materials, but as the course progresses it feels a bit like a too narrow politicla mindset. I wish this would take a more academic approach rather than having a clear political bias, A documenting approach rather than a political affiliation. I thought this course would present an approach from multiple sides of the Political spectrum, from the Far left to the Far right... using a more centrist approach

By Kiran K G

Sep 16, 2020

Not impressed with the content. Not even able to unenroll. Pretty bad situation.