Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by DeepLearning.AI

4.8
stars
49,723 ratings

About the Course

In the third course of the Deep Learning Specialization, you will learn how to build a successful machine learning project and get to practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. By the end, you will be able to diagnose errors in a machine learning system; prioritize strategies for reducing errors; understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance; and apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning. This is also a standalone course for learners who have basic machine learning knowledge. This course draws on Andrew Ng’s experience building and shipping many deep learning products. If you aspire to become a technical leader who can set the direction for an AI team, this course provides the "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. The Deep Learning Specialization is our foundational program that will help you understand the capabilities, challenges, and consequences of deep learning and prepare you to participate in the development of leading-edge AI technology. It provides a pathway for you to gain the knowledge and skills to apply machine learning to your work, level up your technical career, and take the definitive step in the world of AI....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 30, 2020

It is very nice to have a very experienced deep learning practitioner showing you the "magic" of making DNN works. That is usually passed from Professor to graduate student, but is available here now.

JB

Jul 1, 2020

While the information from this course was awesome I would've liked some hand on projects to get the information running. Nonetheless, the two simulation task were the best (more would've been neat!).

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 5,697 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Frank M

Oct 20, 2022

Thoughtful and enjoyable course in the Deep Learning sequence. Lectures are characteristically clear. The "simulation" quizes help to expose nuanced concepts - good idea.

The weekly interviews with respected industry researchers are a nice touch. I would also like to know moure about the interviewees experiences wiht practical applications.

By Emīls K

Aug 11, 2020

So far the course I found most useful in the deep learning specialization.

Does away with the copy-paste programming tasks, compacts everything into two weeks and gives a lot of valuable insight on the proper mindset to make a machine learning project work.

The flight-simulator quizzes really made you think and reflect on what the lectures taught.

By Urso W

Sep 8, 2017

Having followed this course I have learned how to address common problems that I have found in the evaluation of performance of my neural net based on fed datasets. I am now able to reason much better (thoughtful) on the problems that I encounter having learned some error analysis techniques which have been addressed in this course. Thumbs up!

By Mohammed A A D

Mar 25, 2023

I appreciate the opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of the practical aspects of implementing projects in the field of machine learning. The case studies and the idea of flight simulators are actually effective un my opinion. As usual, Andrew Ng is the leading authority in the realm of deep learning. Thanks for this wonderful contents.

By Ajiboye M

Sep 23, 2022

It was an amazing course to get strategies and tips to help achieve the best in any machine learning project. I also love the fact that Dr. Andrew was speaking from experience and gave a lot of examples to help understand the best scenerios for this facts. I'ts a great course for every machine learning practitioner and researcher out there

By Ondrej T

Dec 25, 2018

I really liked the programming assignments in the two previous courses (although, it was usually not enough challenging for me). In this course, I found "case study" assignments very useful and exciting. So far, I am very satisfied with the DeepLearning Specialization; I will definitely continue to the 4th and 5th course. Many thanks for it!

By Chong O K

Nov 19, 2020

The strategies, guidelines, and best practice taught in this course will help students pinpoint the directions accurately when managing a deep learning project, saving enormous time and resources. The "flight-simulation" style assignment is very useful in training students for managing a deep learning project in various real-life scenarios.

By Eden C

Dec 12, 2019

I thought it's a trivial course and I didn't expect that much. HOWEVER, I must say this is one of the most important courses EVER in ML. SO MUCH I should larn before doing my dissertation. I really don't need to DIY so many things. Thank you, teacher Andrew for sharing the treasure experience. I really learn many concepts from your lecture!

By Oly S

Jul 7, 2019

Wow. This course is densely packed with really great *practical* and well-justified advice, based on Prof. Ng's extensive experience. There's lots of wisdom here for taking the step from understanding 'in principle' how machine learning can be applied, to having practical understanding of the techniques to get it to really work in practice.

By Alejandro S M

Feb 17, 2018

Very interesting course to avoid common pitfalls and have already some developed intuition without having worked in any ML project before.

The case studies in the quiz are extremely helpful as some concepts can be a bit confusing and they help clarify the doubts you might have in the subtleties between the different situations you may find.

By Carlos V M

Dec 25, 2017

"Structuring Machine Learning Projects" provide so many good practices in how to correctly implement Deep Learning Models, troubleshoot them and make them better, the tips and recommendations are excellent, highly recommended to anyone interested in deep learning this is a fantastic Course, thanks to everyone that make this Course possible.

By Reza M

May 11, 2020

When you deiced to join AI teams, you need to tackle out-of-the-blue and state-of-the-art problems. Managing this kind of situations aren't easy and need different tips and tricks based on the problem statements. This course come up with brilliant ideas to make up your mind in these challenges. Great job! Coursera and deeplearning.ai

Thanks

By Raja S C

Oct 5, 2020

The concepts taught in this course are giving very basic foundations which are essential to build deep learning career. I no longer scared to talk confidently about a model in terms of bias, variance, error etc. Though this course was scheduled for 2 weeks, because of interest that it created, I am able to complete it in a day. Thank you.

By Shivdas P

Dec 25, 2019

This course gives a very intuitive understanding for analysing performance of neural networks and strategies to go about improving them. Also liked the introduction for Transfer Learning. The quiz which was kind of a pilot simulator for machine learning project, is excellent in understanding the decision making process for such use-cases.

By Rahul K

Mar 1, 2018

Really well structured material! Don't be fooled by the lack of assignments, though; this course is pretty theoretically challenging. Pay extra attention to all the data distribution lectures - they are bound to come in handy in practical use. I learnt tons of really useful information from this course. As usual, hats off to Prof. Andrew!

By Raimond L

Aug 23, 2017

This course provides a lot of interesting topics, which are general things to understand before taking on any deep learning project. I highly recommend listening to this course. It widened my view on projects I work on.

Quizzes on the other hand are bit of a mess on this course (however they are giving enough challenge to apply the theory)

By Sriram V

Oct 9, 2019

Another set of insightful patterns from Andrew' (as well as his team') experience was stitched well together. Definitely, most of the discussions were thought-provoking for someone who is late entrant in this space. Some more reading (optional) could have added to enable us to understand more common problems in Machine Learning projects.

By Utkarsh P

Mar 11, 2019

This course is extremely valuable for any Machine Learning student. It covers a lot of important concepts that need to be used even for simple ML tasks (not deep learning). This course provides a framework to iterate on your problems and I believe that will make the most difference in how fast you are able to achieve desired performance.

By Rishubh K

Mar 13, 2018

Really unique content. People do talk about this stuff but providing access to these learnings in a structured manner i amazing. I feel I could now lead my efforts in DL project much more efficiently. I felt the case studies were amazing. I wish we had more of those available to us to practice. But, nonetheless, great work. Thanks much!

By Marcio R

Aug 21, 2020

Excellent course overall! The course structure is very well made, Andrew is an amazing teacher and explains everything in a very detailed and intuitive way. The tests are a great way for practicing what was explained in the lectures. Strongly recommend this course to anyone interested in the topic and that have the required background.

By Subhasis M

Oct 12, 2017

This is an excellent overview of the points that someone taking up an ML/DL project should keep in mind. Though this is not a comprehensive guide, which is understandable given the stipulated duration online courses like this are meant for, this is a definitive guide to give someone a nice head start into structuring his ML/DL project.

By Pablo G G

Sep 10, 2020

Nice intuitions of what to do when you need to improve model, and believe me, you will! :D If you set up your local jupyter lab and start playing with deep learning, you will quickly see that this course is gold in order to optimize you DL algorithms!(its all about getting that loss to 0.0000001! :P) Don't understimate this teachings!

By Dmitry R

Apr 15, 2020

This, in my opinion, is the most important course in the specialization! It teaches you how to plan your machine learning project, which errors and challenges can rise during implementation and how can you deal with them. Personally, I feel it helped me a lot as I currently try to plan my machine learning project as part of my thesis.

By Fasih U

May 25, 2019

I learned a lot about different strategies to chose for getting fast and much better out come from this course. Also downloaded the book mlyearning written by Dr. Andrew. So that i will have all this in my hand when i will need this strategies to review. Thank you Andre Ng for giving this much information. You are the best I love you.

By Ankit K

Mar 12, 2019

thanks for providing good insights on how to approach a machine learning application and where not to waste valuable efforts. I think Mr Ng has been very thoughtful to setup the structuring part as a dedicated course which highlights the importance of setting right goals and not to lose our direction during the development iterations.