Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by DeepLearning.AI

4.8
stars
45,338 ratings
5,164 reviews

About the Course

You will learn how to build a successful machine learning project. If you aspire to be a technical leader in AI, and know how to set direction for your team's work, this course will show you how. Much of this content has never been taught elsewhere, and is drawn from my experience building and shipping many deep learning products. This course also has two "flight simulators" that let you practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. This provides "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. After 2 weeks, you will: - Understand how to diagnose errors in a machine learning system, and - Be able to prioritize the most promising directions for reducing error - Understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance - Know how to apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning I've seen teams waste months or years through not understanding the principles taught in this course. I hope this two week course will save you months of time. This is a standalone course, and you can take this so long as you have basic machine learning knowledge. This is the third course in the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

MG
Mar 30, 2020

It is very nice to have a very experienced deep learning practitioner showing you the "magic" of making DNN works. That is usually passed from Professor to graduate student, but is available here now.

JB
Jul 1, 2020

While the information from this course was awesome I would've liked some hand on projects to get the information running. Nonetheless, the two simulation task were the best (more would've been neat!).

Filter by:

4851 - 4875 of 5,107 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Andrew W

Aug 5, 2019

Good information about how to structure projects and how to boost performance. Not very hands-on however. Fits in well with the Specialization though as a break before CNN's and sequences.

By Daniel C

Nov 19, 2017

Not as helpful... just a few suggestions and ideas... but there's no great application of the information learned here like a walk-through project or something with code, that's graded.

By Luiz C

Oct 22, 2017

less useful than previous courses.

Would appreciate to go much deeper in directions like CNN, RNN, RL and review Unsupervised Learning (which was too light, ... no mention about RBM)

By Akshay S

Jun 18, 2020

It was very theoretical and subjective.

It would be useful if the learner has some more experience in DNN than currently expected.

But I definitely enjoyed 2nd week of the course.

By Andrew C

Oct 29, 2017

Interesting content, but lacking in real work. As with all of the deeplearning.ai courses thus far, the multiple choice questions are frequently ambiguous and poorly worded.

By Zsolt K

Sep 24, 2018

The information is really basic, most of it is self explanatory. This shouldn't be a course on its own, rather maybe a week/half weeks worth of material in another course.

By Sherif A

Nov 25, 2017

This course is too subjective. Andrew shares his experience in a structured way in the lecture. However, I feel that correct structuring decisions need to be brainstormed.

By Patrick F

Dec 12, 2019

Seeing different practical use scenarios and adaptions is fine but it got pretty boring without a real application to tune. The Quizzes on the other hand were very good!

By Alberto S

May 29, 2018

Although everything taught is relevant, it was too much theoretical. And some of the evaluation questions are not clear (well, at least for non native English speakers).

By Daniel V

Feb 26, 2020

Generally useful skills, but the contents partially overlap with previous courses and the overall quality doesn't match the previous courses (eg poor video mastering).

By Davide C

Nov 26, 2017

The course was interesting, but in my opinion too theoretical. I preferred the first 2 courses with Python programming. I am now looking forward to the next 2 courses.

By Felipe L d S

Jun 7, 2018

Even though some of the content is useful, I feel like this course should be merged with the second one. There is not new information enough to justify a new course.

By Thomas J

Jan 24, 2018

Good material was presented in this course but there were a number of technical errors in the video recordings. If they were cleaned up this course would be perfect.

By Jose P

Sep 30, 2019

Topics are a bit vague, which is fine as the content is interesting and useful nonetheless, but perhaps exposition is too lengthy relative to the amount of content.

By Robbin R

Feb 17, 2018

Gives good insights on how to work on a Machine Learning project yet. Provides some rule of thumbs for different hick-ups that may be encountered during a project.

By Nick S

Sep 8, 2017

even though there are great tips and advices, it does not justify an entire course and they can be mentioned in 3 videos so a lot of the videos were repetitive.

By Kan X

Feb 18, 2020

I like this specialization in general. However, this third one has too many overlapping contents and some videos are not that useful. Just personal opinion.

By Jkernec

Dec 23, 2017

Homework is lacking. It is too easy to pass. I feel like the programming task or homework task fell short. The lectures were good but too little practice.

By Hanbo L

Sep 22, 2019

Good non-technical materials, but short enough to be incorporated into other courses. Some aspects feel subjective. Many typos/minor mistakes in quizzes

By Vincent P

Aug 24, 2019

Was really enthousiastic about the first two courses in the specialization, the third however felt a bit like going back a step in level of advancement.

By Rishabh G

May 22, 2020

A different course for only two weeks of content? This is nuts. I waited for 15 days for financial aid to be approved and I completed it within 5 days.

By Leitner C S E S

Sep 15, 2017

Only interesting if you don't have much experience with machine learning; Might or might not be great if you are a novice, though - hard to say for me.

By Deleted A

Oct 14, 2017

There was some very valuable material. However, I think some of the videos could have been prepared a little bit better and could do with more editing

By Carsten F

Jan 30, 2018

Course was less interesting than the other parts. Also very negative that the last part of the 5-part specialization is taking ages to be finalized.

By Dany J

Nov 15, 2017

Good content, but could definitely benefit from a more fleshed out problem to solve. The content beg for a larger concrete coding exercice project.