Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning with Python by IBM

4.7
stars
11,818 ratings
2,036 reviews

About the Course

This course dives into the basics of machine learning using an approachable, and well-known programming language, Python. In this course, we will be reviewing two main components: First, you will be learning about the purpose of Machine Learning and where it applies to the real world. Second, you will get a general overview of Machine Learning topics such as supervised vs unsupervised learning, model evaluation, and Machine Learning algorithms. In this course, you practice with real-life examples of Machine learning and see how it affects society in ways you may not have guessed! By just putting in a few hours a week for the next few weeks, this is what you’ll get. 1) New skills to add to your resume, such as regression, classification, clustering, sci-kit learn and SciPy 2) New projects that you can add to your portfolio, including cancer detection, predicting economic trends, predicting customer churn, recommendation engines, and many more. 3) And a certificate in machine learning to prove your competency, and share it anywhere you like online or offline, such as LinkedIn profiles and social media. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course....

Top reviews

FO
Oct 8, 2020

I'm extremely excited with what I have learnt so far. As a newbie in Machine Learning, the exposure gained will serve as the much needed foundation to delve into its application to real life problems.

RC
Feb 6, 2019

The course was highly informative and very well presented. It was very easier to follow. Many complicated concepts were clearly explained. It improved my confidence with respect to programming skills.

Filter by:

1826 - 1850 of 2,029 Reviews for Machine Learning with Python

By Eric G

Dec 4, 2019

The parts on regression are previously covered in other courses that are part of the IBM Data Science professional certificate. Overall, there is a lot of information covered in this course but it feels rushed and done in not enough depth. It is an ok course for an overview of machine learning methods, but sits in a weird spot of trying to be too broad while being detailed, but too shallow for a rigorous study of each method.

By Alex M

Jul 21, 2020

I understand that this is a higher level course, so it may be designed in such a way to require learners to take bigger leaps, but I did not feel the explanations of what was required on the final were very clear, and once I graded other people's finals, it was clear that it was not clear for almost anyone.

Not a terrible course, the material and the topics were good, but better explanations are needed, I think.

By Vimal O P

Nov 9, 2021

On overall IBM data science professional certificate track: P​ros: Content is just good enough, instructors are good. Cons: IBM watson and the platform given to practise on is awful and has terrible performance and reliability issues, most often doesnt work and had an impact on my test deliverables. I personally overcame those issues to some extent with kaggle's and google colab jupyter notebook environments.

By Advaith G

Sep 21, 2020

While the course does give a pretty good introduction to the concepts behind most machine learning algorithms and enables us to realize how ML works, the problem lies in the code. None of the code is explained in detail, so the course is extremely theoretical. It basically tells you to copy the code for your own use with small edits but does not explain how to write the code in the first place.

By Ankur G

May 18, 2020

A good course to learn know-how of Machine Learning using Python language so as to facilitate analysis and visualization of data to make effective decisions. I thank the professors to make this course interesting and worth it. Only thing is, videos can be made in a better way so as to facilitate people with non programming background. Maybe some basics of programming would help.

By Harry T

Jul 14, 2020

Good introduction, but not complete.

The course does well in introducing Machine Learning, and covers a good range of classification algorithms. However I feel doesn't go the full length. The labs very briefly cover implementation but I find that it falls short. There's a lack of polish in the material, while typos are minor, the labs are can be jarring and hard to follow.

By Nicolas F G

Apr 6, 2021

The course gives a useful insight into machine learning algorithms and model creation using the python library sklearn. I liked the content, even though a little bit more mathematical background would have been nice. The exercises were good, but there was much of it already written in advance for us to use, so I didn't learn as much as I would have liked to.

By Sergio T

Jul 15, 2020

The course presents a useful overview of basic machine learning techniques without going into mathematical detail. The weekly test questions can be improved to assess the non-qualitative aspects of the topics covered. Using scikit-learn is well illustrated by labs using Jupyter Notebooks. There is plenty of room to update and improve the contents.

By Chetan K D

Jan 12, 2021

Overall, I found this course to be enriching. However, there were more than a few errors and unclear directions in instructions for the final assignment. I hope that the course team is/will update the assignment instructions so that they are in line with current version of the required libraries and will make the instructions more precise.

By Sean D

Feb 10, 2020

Very much enjoyed the course and am thankful for the great content, however the peer-grading process created some unnecessary headaches. On how to improve this I posted in the forum here: https://www.coursera.org/learn/machine-learning-with-python/discussions/weeks/6/threads/JmWRnLUqSfClkZy1Kinw6Q

Thank you nonetheless for a great course!

By Syed F A

Apr 18, 2020

This course provides a great introduction to machine learning. The first 3 weeks are in detail and well explained. The 4th and 5th weeks are not explained as expected. The Labs helped a lot in understanding the practical implementations of the algorithms. However, there should be a little explanation of what is going on in the code.

By Marcel V

Jul 18, 2019

Material covered is substantial.

You get a good overview of machine learning and some algorithms that are used. (Not always in depth.)

My biggest problem with the module is with the end assigment which is not clear in my opinion (and of some fellow students in the forums who also passed this module) This unclarity is not addressed.

By Juan D M G

Jul 21, 2020

Me gustaron mucho los temas del curso! Los videos son buenísimos para entender la teoría; sin embargo, en los laboratorios no está documentado el código y hay muchísimas funciones nuevas que son usadas y no hay ninguna aclaración de cómo se usan o para qué se usan. Sólo en un laboratorio encontré todo documentado y explicado.

By Sven V

Feb 20, 2020

This was by far the most time intensive course, not because the topic is so difficult but because the intructions for the final assignment are so vague and unclear. Otherwise the theory sessions were good. But whole structure of final assignment from definition all the way through marking is not clear and VERY time consuming.

By Lahiri B

Dec 15, 2020

The course content is good. But final assignment needs updation. e.g jaccard_similarity_score is

deprecated. It needs to be charged in the notebook. There are less experienced candidates which get this wrong. And it is unfair. They are not expected to know that it is deprecated(That is not the course criteria)

By VIBHOR B

Jun 29, 2020

The coding part should be explained as well. The autofilled code makes the learner lethargic and lazy to code himself. I;ve faced this difficulty and I cannot certify that I am 100% sure of what code I've learnt. Please take proper steps in order to teach CODING as well and not only theory.

By Amir H

Jun 30, 2019

the level of the course was lower than I thought it will be.. especially comparing to the final assignment.

nevertheless it did give me a strong basic for most of the materials at least to the level I will be able to explain each topic to one who doesn't know nothing about machine learning.

By Mohamed M

Jan 21, 2020

This course is a great introduction for people who have a background in Python and mathematics, but from a personal perspective, it should pay more attention to the details of the machine learning algorithms and special cases and do more practice using harder, more inconsistent use cases.

By Chi W

Nov 22, 2021

Some code (particularly relating to density based clustering) is outdated and needs updating. Also, quizzes with multiple-choice answers such as "none of the above" or "all of the above" need to be pinned to the last choice, rather than randomly placed, which creates lots of confusion!

By LAURA T G

Mar 27, 2020

Very demanding, that is great!!

It is not updated, therefore many instructions are incorrect and instead of 1 hour, one can use 2 or 3 days.

The system Watson Studio is not working all the time. I lost many lines in my final project because it stoped before I could save the changes

By Elvijs M

Apr 18, 2020

The only OK course in the specialization. I found that the intuition/concept behind various algorithms was explained quite well. The mathematics, on the other hand, were basically skipped. And as always, the assignments are sadly pretty much "copy and paste from the examples".

By Samantha R

Sep 7, 2019

Good course and quite relevant. However, the project was not gearing up for the final Capstone project. I did not feel the skills I gained from this course set me up to succeed with my Capstone project. I felt like I was still in the dark running any kind of machine learning

By Carrae E G

Oct 28, 2021

This course is a good start. There was not enough assistance with completing the course work. I waited 2 weeks for help and had to send in my assignment incomplete. I wish there was at least one session where students could get their questions answered in real time.

By Simon C

Jan 18, 2021

Some of the material is out-of-date with respect to current versions of the Python libraries. There are a lot of typos in the material. In the final assessment, the instructions were quite vague regarding what information should be included in the submission.

By 宋文傑

Feb 18, 2019

It go through many kinds of machine learning with only simple sample. it doesn't seem like I can earn some job-ready skill after taking this course. The introduction is good, but the content are just too simple to help us deal with real problem.