Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
160,541 ratings
41,131 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

JS
Jun 16, 2017

Everything is taught from basics, which makes this course very accessible- still requires effort, however will leave you with real confidence and understanding of subjects covered. Great teacher too..

CC
Jun 19, 2018

good course; just 2 suggestions: improve the skew data part (week 6) and furnish the formula to evaluate the number of iteration in the window from image dimension, window dimension and step (week 11)

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Ajay T

Jul 29, 2019

Excellent course. Discussion forum help from the mentors was super in the first half of the course but towards the end the mentors did not participate

By R S

May 15, 2021

Hi,

After this course I am feeling very confident and now can confidently make changes to my algorithms.

Thanks to Andrew for setting up these courses.

By Carlos A M A

Oct 18, 2020

Excellent course to teach the fundamentals of ML and AI. It is the best course and I recommend making the programming exercises a but longer!

By Sohan j

Jun 6, 2019

It was an amazing experience in learning Machine learning. I learnt a lot from this course. I thank the instructor, Prof. Andrew.

By Anish K A

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent course. I am not an expert in mathematics, but this course gives me a very good understanding of ML and algorithms.

By Joydeep S

Nov 7, 2018

Excellent course. Anyone interested in Machine Learning should definitely take this course. Thanks Andrew for making this.

By Daniel

Dec 7, 2020

I used the python versions of the programming assignments (in the form of jupyter notebooks). Can't recommend enough.

By Cosmin V N

Aug 7, 2015

Amazing course. Complex topics explained in a way that anyone with a rudimentary understanding of math can follow.

By Kumar N

Apr 9, 2020

One of the best Machine learning course :) Andrew's way of teaching is really a masterpiece :) Thank you Coursera

By Luka B

Jan 30, 2019

Great course, only a bit updated. Would be wonderfu if there was an update (or additional week of two) for 2019!

By 黄生

Apr 1, 2021

Thank you to the course team! Your efforts make the world more better , Let's make things better and better !

By Mai S

Jun 6, 2019

Thanks Andrew for this informative course. I am looking forward to taking deep learning specialize as well.

By Nguyễn H T

Jan 5, 2019

This course is absolutely amazing and suitable for ones who want to begin to study about Machine Learning.

By Lukas C

Oct 31, 2020

VERY GOOD!!!! BEST CLASS TO LEARN Machine Learning as a beginner and easy, pretty concise intuitions.

By Anton S

Mar 21, 2019

It's a good way to get an understanding of machine learining principles and to improve your English.

By dinh

Dec 15, 2018

Great course on Machine Learning. I learned a lot!

Thanks to Professor Andrew NG and all the mentors.

By YuShih C

Jan 4, 2019

Great introductory course for Machine Learning using MATLAB/Octave. Highly recommended.

By syh

Feb 9, 2020

从机器学习新人、小白,通过这门课程充分理解了机器学习的原理,掌握了一些机器学习的技巧,并能够根据学到的知识,举一反三,应用到更复杂的机器学习算法的理解中。总而言之受益匪浅。

By runner_yang

Jul 25, 2019

Thank you sincerely! I have learned a lot through this course. I love Ng and coursera!

By Zihao Z

Feb 10, 2020

8个exercise出的非常好,程序中给的note和hint有助于理解计算过程、加深记忆。

吴恩达老师英语很有亲和力,对于我这样的英语听力一般的人来说非常友好

By Phanidhar m

May 25, 2020

It would be great if the assignments would be in python rather than octave.

By Mohammed R

Aug 7, 2015

the audio is sometimes noisy, but everything else is perfect, thanks a lot

By Erasmo G M S

Oct 2, 2018

Great!, this was my first aproach to machine learning and I learned a lot

By 王奇

Aug 6, 2015

吴恩达老师的这门课帮助无数学生了解了什么是机器学习,虽然有时候作业会很没有头绪但是通过努力研究一般都能做出来,而且满满的成就感。。感谢andrew

By Mattias J

Apr 24, 2020

A great course to start your journey into the machine learning universe.