Chevron Left
Back to Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Learning by Stanford University

4.9
stars
149,689 ratings
38,150 reviews

About the Course

Machine learning is the science of getting computers to act without being explicitly programmed. In the past decade, machine learning has given us self-driving cars, practical speech recognition, effective web search, and a vastly improved understanding of the human genome. Machine learning is so pervasive today that you probably use it dozens of times a day without knowing it. Many researchers also think it is the best way to make progress towards human-level AI. In this class, you will learn about the most effective machine learning techniques, and gain practice implementing them and getting them to work for yourself. More importantly, you'll learn about not only the theoretical underpinnings of learning, but also gain the practical know-how needed to quickly and powerfully apply these techniques to new problems. Finally, you'll learn about some of Silicon Valley's best practices in innovation as it pertains to machine learning and AI. This course provides a broad introduction to machine learning, datamining, and statistical pattern recognition. Topics include: (i) Supervised learning (parametric/non-parametric algorithms, support vector machines, kernels, neural networks). (ii) Unsupervised learning (clustering, dimensionality reduction, recommender systems, deep learning). (iii) Best practices in machine learning (bias/variance theory; innovation process in machine learning and AI). The course will also draw from numerous case studies and applications, so that you'll also learn how to apply learning algorithms to building smart robots (perception, control), text understanding (web search, anti-spam), computer vision, medical informatics, audio, database mining, and other areas....

Top reviews

AD

Apr 22, 2017

Very good coverage of different supervised and unsupervised algorithms, and lots of practical insights around implementation. All the explanations provided helped to understand the concepts very well.

TP

Jun 26, 2020

This course is a very applicable. Professor Ng explains precisely each algorithm and even tries to give an intuition for mathematical and statistic concepts behind each algorithm. Thank you very much.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for Machine Learning

By Camille C

Oct 18, 2020

This class was really interesting and the videos are very well explained with examples to show how machine learning is applied in everyday-life. I would definitely recommend it !

By Nicholas J P

Aug 06, 2020

Amazing introduction to machine learning. Broke down complex topics in a very accessible and interesting way, looking forward to using the knowledge I gained here going forward.

By Brian

Aug 07, 2015

It's amazing, I can learn fanstastic stuff through this free course. There is no boundary. I could implement the machine learning code , and understand well. Thank you so much.

By John M

Dec 13, 2018

Very detailed. The programming exercises were very well made, it was great to be able to implement the parts of the exercise one by one, and see the effect that each step has.

By Adam D H

Jan 02, 2020

This class is well worth your time to gain an excellent survey of the current ML state of the art processes. Very enjoyable and well taught, and the resources are very good.

By Rajkumar B

Aug 15, 2018

Much better than the lecture on machine learning than that is offered in my university. only problem is that if you are a fluent user of Matlab, you should skip week 1 and 2

By Tushar T

Aug 07, 2015

Its amazing course, very detailed and good explanation of each algorithm. Mr Andrew NG has good teaching skills, I am glad that I came across this course. Thanks Cousera. :)

By Ramdhani Y A S

Jun 21, 2020

A Great course for beginner in Machine Learning. Hope the exercise can be updated.

It will be good if decision tree, random forest, and bayesian is added to the course.

By Antoine G

Jan 02, 2020

A really good introduction to machine learning with real and practical examples. I can't believe we did so much in such a short time.

Well done professor Andrew Ng !

By Akash P

Sep 14, 2020

I'm glad to be the part of this Machine learning course by Andrew Ng Sir....and i'm also very thankful to coursera for providing me financial aid for this course...

By Abhinav P S

May 20, 2020

An exciting course that is as good for a beginner as anyone. The references provided were really helpful if one wants to pursue more knowledge on that subject.

By Hicham J

Apr 08, 2020

Very challenging and rewarding course. From concepts to hands-on experience, I enjoyed the journey and would highly recommend this course to my colleagues.

By Jorge L R C

Jun 05, 2019

Even being for a "old" course, it has the very best ground of concepts and techniques of Machine Learning. I am very much satisfied and have learned a lot.

By Danny F B L

Feb 12, 2020

This is definitively an excellent course for beginners. I am graceful with Andrew Ng for the dedication he gave for building this course. Congratulations.

By Ajay T

Jul 29, 2019

Excellent course. Discussion forum help from the mentors was super in the first half of the course but towards the end the mentors did not participate

By Carlos A M A

Oct 18, 2020

Excellent course to teach the fundamentals of ML and AI. It is the best course and I recommend making the programming exercises a but longer!

By Sohan j

Jun 06, 2019

It was an amazing experience in learning Machine learning. I learnt a lot from this course. I thank the instructor, Prof. Andrew.

By Anish K A

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent course. I am not an expert in mathematics, but this course gives me a very good understanding of ML and algorithms.

By Joydeep S

Nov 07, 2018

Excellent course. Anyone interested in Machine Learning should definitely take this course. Thanks Andrew for making this.

By Cosmin V N

Aug 07, 2015

Amazing course. Complex topics explained in a way that anyone with a rudimentary understanding of math can follow.

By Naveen K

Apr 09, 2020

One of the best Machine learning course :) Andrew's way of teaching is really a masterpiece :) Thank you Coursera

By Luka B

Jan 30, 2019

Great course, only a bit updated. Would be wonderfu if there was an update (or additional week of two) for 2019!

By Mai S

Jun 06, 2019

Thanks Andrew for this informative course. I am looking forward to taking deep learning specialize as well.

By Nguyễn H T

Jan 06, 2019

This course is absolutely amazing and suitable for ones who want to begin to study about Machine Learning.

By Anton S

Mar 21, 2019

It's a good way to get an understanding of machine learining principles and to improve your English.