Chevron Left
Back to Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
8,579 ratings

About the Course

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Top reviews

VS

Jul 19, 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

AM

Jul 17, 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,495 Reviews for Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

By Daniella M K

Jun 2, 2021

it was a really great course, thank you so much Prof... i've got so many new insight and i just realized that mental health and anxiety are really important for human's mind.. thank you so much and keep up the good work..

By BISRIJA R K

Sep 27, 2020

Thank you very much for your providing course.if IAM very happy.this courses provide a many knowledge.today our society facing in main problem is covid 19 .but when this problem solved in answer available in this courses.

By Bernice B

Jul 16, 2020

I enjoyed the course quite a lot. It got me to evaluate what was going on in my life presently. It gave me ideas on how to improve my schedule. I think it has lessen my anxiety by adding or subtracting to my lifestyle.

By SHIVAM T

Sep 7, 2021

I have finished this course in a week, it was amazing to learn, beautifully explained and i feel lucky and very thankful to our Professor, the way he teaches is so magnificent, i felt like i should listen for more weeks.

By Giernie R T

Nov 27, 2020

I become more conscious of my feelings right now and I have come to a better understanding of what's happening with me and how do I prevent my self from becoming more anxious. Thank you so much for providing this course!

By Gabriela C

Nov 16, 2020

El curso es excelente. El profesor Steve explica de una manera muy clara y divertida varios conceptos relacionados a la ansiedad y a su vez, da consejos muy útiles para poder controlarla durante estos tiempo de pandemia.

By Astel J

Oct 12, 2020

The journey with Prof. Steve Joorden was heart warming and effective. I thank coursera and the professor for introducing this subject during this crucial time. Hope everybody who attended the four weeks found it helpful.

By Marcia T

Oct 8, 2020

Prof. Joordens created a very informative (and enjoyable) course that gave me language for the anxiety felt during this pandemic and strategies on how to deal with it. Thank you for taking the time to create this course.

By Mayda G

Aug 20, 2020

Excelente! Buenas técnicas y habilidades para entender mejor los conceptos y como actúa nuestro cuerpo, y así dan una mejor respuesta de ayuda para afrontar estos momentos de incertidumbre e aislamiento físico. Gracias!

By Tanu S

Jul 4, 2020

I learned many thinks from this course like that how to manage our mental health and how to be socialize in this critical situation. And the main thing that I learnt how manage our mental health as well physical health.

By Tonya P

May 4, 2021

This course is a much-needed course during the current pandemic. It is a true help for those who have anxiety, but even more so knowing to change the way we think about physical distancing instead of social distancing.

By Terry G

Nov 2, 2020

I found this course to be helpful in understanding the basics of anxiety related to the current pandemic and some actions and strategies that can be used to build and maintain mental wellness and connection. Thank you!

By Kirti P

Jul 24, 2021

This was a very supportive and optimistic course on mental health. It's not just applicable for during COVID-19, but consists of many valid points to follow even post COVID-19 and in future. Thank you for this course.

By Jose G P J

Feb 2, 2021

simple, direct and i highly recommend this to everyone in pandemic and non-pandemic, this is all about knowing yourself. Internalization is a very powerful tool to help yourself nad others to propel or move forward...

By Jose M P

Jun 27, 2020

Great! This course was very helpful in my work as a school physician, many of my clients (teaching and non-teaching staff) have been asking me about coping mechanisms and management of stress brough about by covid-19.

By Rocío M M N

Aug 22, 2020

Thanks to the professor! Incredible experience and it helped me so much with my anxiety and to understand so many things that now are so helpful. Lots of greetings from South America (Chile), take care and stay safe!

By JEVWEGAGA H

Jul 29, 2020

The lecture on Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health during COVID-19 by Professor Steve Joordens is very rich and educative. I enjoyed every bit of the lecture because it is quite relatable and impactful. Thanks!

By Paulina S P A

Feb 14, 2021

Very helpful and interesting course. A little Short but to the point!. Thank you for sharing your knowledge professor Steve. All the best guys!. Stay safe, healthy and do not forget to connect with your loved ones.

By Farhan v

Aug 30, 2020

This course is really very helpful for all of us because as this moment we all are struggle and have some anxiety and stress due to COVID-19. This course will help me to control my stress and anxiety due to COVID-19

By Kalgi B

Jun 17, 2020

It had such a positive impact on me. Thank you so much Dr. Steve Joordens for sharing all your thoughts about mind control. This will be very helpful to me and for sure the beach is going to be my favorite word too.

By Wendy W

Oct 20, 2020

I personally think that this course was very instructive and practical in how I can deal with my anxiety in COVID-19. I feel anxious sometimes and doing this course will me to manage me better. Thank you very much!

By anjum n

Oct 3, 2020

thank you for this very useful course which Professor Steve made so pleasant and smooth.I can gauge my self ,before and after the course,to observe myself a better human being.Thank you Professor Steve & Coursera.

By SARITA P

Jun 15, 2020

I am very much relaxed after attending this online course. It is really beneficial for all of us who are not able to give a right direction or structure to our mind and body during this COVID-19 lockdown situation.

By Alyncito R

Apr 13, 2021

Steve, thank you for this course, my daughter and I enjoyed it greatly, we are already implementing some of your recommendations. Can’t wait to sign for more courses. P.S we were unable to find your email address.

By Assanatul L H

Nov 30, 2020

I'm glad I could take this course. This course is very helpful for us especially in this pandemic situation where everything feels uncertain and we easily get anxious. Stay safe everyone, we can go through this :)