Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
8,961 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 2,369 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Glulia

May 28, 2020

I love this course, the professor was brilliant, friendly but most important for me clear! Thank you very much

By Rocio E L R

May 2, 2022

Useful information and basis to define an according and strategic HR strategy. Congrats! I really enjoyed it!

By Alise T

Oct 13, 2020

Thank you much for incredible course!This information is going to be very useful for me as future HR manager.

By Viviana M

Mar 27, 2016

I totally recommend this course for an introduction to HR. The professor makes each session very interesting.

By Anastasia S

Nov 20, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I am happy to discover a lot of new things in HR! Recommend it to everyone.

By Joshua A

Sep 8, 2021

exciting learning perspective on HR..........excited to have enrolled on this Specialization...............

By Noyon M

Jul 2, 2021

it was my first taken course in online that encourage me to find more .thanks for make a such great course.

By Nikhil K

Jun 11, 2021

The course gives a new perspective. Good for those people who have to manage people and are new to the role.

By Amanda H K

Mar 30, 2021

Great course and an even better lecturer! Thank you for the well explained lectures and fun learning process

By OABONA B K

Nov 13, 2020

This course is very good and it is helping quite a lot of people regardless of where you are from. Thank you

By Mohammed E A

Mar 23, 2020

It is an excellent course , really i enjoy it. I would recommend it for all even if u are not working in HR.

By Virginia L C

May 27, 2017

Very comprehensive and engaging. Great examples were cited as well as activities with learner participation.

By Alexandra D

Mar 7, 2016

Great course, well crafted and full of some wonderful information. I have recommended it for my co-workers.

By Yusuf A P

Jan 29, 2021

This course can pull you up in your department or it can help you to find a new job. Thanks for the course.

By Jose R L R

Oct 29, 2019

Thanks, professor. It was very informative and at the same time, you made it easy to follow and understand.

By Utkarsh S

Aug 7, 2019

An absolute masterclass. John Sir is a genius. An amazing introduction to Human Resource Management for me.

By Michaela P

Dec 11, 2017

Great course! I've learned a lot of new and interesting information about how to succesfully manage people.

By Dilip S

Jan 18, 2023

Highly recommended for those who really want to start their career in HR People Managers. Thanks Coursera.

By Thomas V

Apr 5, 2020

I really liked the instructor and I liked the way they presented the information. I recommend this course.

By Sheryl P

Dec 19, 2019

I love this course since it gives you the mindset how you can embrace business and people in the business.

By Danilo V

May 6, 2018

a very good picture of HR, showing the basic dynamics and process, and different points of view. Thank you

By Rajni A

Apr 30, 2018

I strongly recommend this course. Very good explanations by giving examples and videos so fully explained.

By Shruthi K

Nov 13, 2016

This was a great course with enough materials to study and the additional resources were very helpful too!

By Karina I L C

Jun 27, 2022

Excelente curso, con mucha informacion que el instructor hace fácil de comprender mediante clases amenas.

By kiro a

May 7, 2021

Awesome

Nowdays, here most of the human going to be selfish and just want to make money not social values