Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
2,369 ratings
610 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 598 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Dr. T R

Feb 25, 2017

Very Good course.

Very Good course.

In my view some needed additions to be excellent. Summaries of the important issues in each lecture video can be introduced might be in a form of Power Point Presentation. This will highlight the main topics. This can be done for each video, each lesson and each module.

Prof. Dr. John Budd have already made these summaries and conclusions during his video lectures, but it is not easy to retrieve when you are searching about some specific subject. You have to here again a group of videos to find what you need.

By MIGANOUSH M

Oct 13, 2017

This is a good course especially if you are new to managing people and want to get an understanding what is HR all about.

By Glenda J

Mar 17, 2016

Useful preparation for HR especially for the United States.

By Bernhard

Jun 28, 2017

good cource, nice overview, very well presented, interviews with HR professionals

By Julia T

Sep 01, 2017

Good theoretical background provided in an easy to understand format.

By Nicole C

Apr 06, 2017

I'm not really used to online classes but the information was helpful.

By Ina d O

Nov 02, 2017

Nice course, although the main focus is on the U.S.. It gets interesting after the first week. (first week is a lot about history)

By Karthikeyan S

Apr 30, 2018

I liked the course very much, it would be great if summary is available at each end module.

By Alexey S

Jan 08, 2018

Everything was just excellent!! I would be looking forward to have more additional reading tasks that that help see plactical applications of theoretical material. Thank you very much for a great course!

By Victoria S

Feb 20, 2017

A lot of very useful skills to be applied in the workplace. A wide scope of HR responsibilities and examples to achieve them.

Only issue I had was the inconsistency of grading from peers.

By ABDEELHAMEED K

Oct 27, 2017

great

By Gonzalo P

Feb 05, 2018

Nice intro but i wanted something more didactic

By AlexU

Oct 15, 2017

Very good introduction to the topic. During the line drawing descriptions, it might have been good to incorporate even more discussion on each specific topic.

By Odekunle K L

Nov 23, 2017

very educative and easy to learn ,i love it

By Konstantina T

Jun 02, 2018

very helpful course and the teacher was very clear. if I can find a drawback, this will be the fact that most of the course is related with the US laws and regulatuions.

By Vinay P

Apr 04, 2018

NA

By Ojo B

Aug 06, 2018

This course has actually improved improved me and I have decided to learn and relearn from the materials

By Mohamed A A A

May 24, 2019

good contain

By Miguel Á M C

Jul 24, 2019

Great course for starting a career in HR

By James L

Jul 23, 2019

Great course

By SARITA S

Jun 07, 2019

Great learning expr

By Frank

Aug 19, 2019

A well structured course which lays the foundation for further study. The insight provided and the presentation style were appropriate and well delivered.

However while understandable the excessive focus on the USA perspective this was not a helpful aspect.

By Cristina M D M

Aug 27, 2019

Good basic knowledge of HR. For me, the US law was the less relevant topic but It was interesting.

By Chinwe O

Jul 06, 2019

I've learnt a lot. I cant wait to move to the next course in this specialization!

By Joel A

Aug 31, 2019

really helped me learning new HR skills