Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
8,270 ratings
2,216 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,237 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Jayasri R S

Apr 27, 2021

Beginners best choice. If you are an HR aspirant looking for an opportunity to learn about people management, I suggest you this course right away. Prof. John W Budd, explained each and every concept with examples and we also have interactive exercises which helps us to enrich our understanding towards people management.

By KHAREN L V A

Mar 21, 2018

You won't regret investing your time in preparing to manage human resources (even if you are already in senior post in HR field). It is very helpful and informative. I really appreciate Mr. John Budd, it was a very good, interactive, reflective class. The assignments and projects are challenging and everyone can relate.

By Savannah D l

Feb 21, 2021

This was an effective course to understanding different types of leaderships and approaches to HR. It was also beneficial in understanding some basic dynamics of law in the workplace. Last, it was useful to learn about both internal and external impacts on HR decision-making through the use of a small assignment.

By Sourav G

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, Learnt a lot about HR strategies, all the modules are very helpful. John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos which makes the learning more interesting.

By MANUEL O H L

Nov 20, 2020

This was a wonderful course, the knowledge imparted brought a broader view of the HR management that wasn´t taught in my career. The way John explained each topic was really clear and direct, and the information given by the managers who were interviewed, the recommendations and advises are really valuable.

By Joanne H

Jun 10, 2020

Top notch learning experience with super in-depth videos on HR management... really liked the professor and his easy to follow style. I learned so much and am grateful to start my HR journey here at Coursera with University of Minnesota! Can’t wait to get stuck into the next course in this specialization.

By Lynda E

Apr 29, 2021

I found this course to be a good foundation to start studying Human Resources. It covered a broad range of information and the instructor, John Budd, kept it interesting with current readings, interesting graphics, and relevant interviews. This is one of the better Coursera courses that I have taken.

By Felis H

Mar 9, 2020

This is absolutely a great and useful course,I learn so much from this course, and it did guide you the right way of thinking and managing situation and courses are so fun, it is not only about the academic lessons but also with experience sharing from the experts from HR filed.I would recommend it.

By Merapelo M

Nov 28, 2020

Well instructed, clear, FUN and presented course. I highly recommend this program to anyone who is looking into pursuing the HR or Management field. I am thankful to have learned a lot, which also helped me understand this field more especially that I am preparing to sit for a certification in HR.

By Abraham M R

Jul 27, 2020

I am really confident to offer a 5 star credit to the ongoing course - you know, I have always believed that the fame of any educational institution is prompted by her lecturers so to say. In other words I want to say that I am proud of my lecturer, he is actually proving professionally equipped.

By Esmeralda S

Oct 25, 2020

I have worked closely with HR managers in my field so I came into this course with a basic understanding of HR management and learned so much more from Professor Budd. I also enjoyed his style of animation and music and just a light hearted approach to some very important and heavy information.

By ADEWARA B O

Feb 8, 2018

Indeed, this is an interesting programme and I must confess that I really enjoy my time in studying these courses.

I want to thank you so much the Management of this Institution for this great opportunity to be part of this programme. Again, thank you and I want to say that Coursera is the best!

By william y

Jan 19, 2022

I wanted to brush up on HR knowledge base after I graduated College. This course is a great refresher and great for someone who may not have a degree, but wants to learn what HR is about.

This is a VERY high quality course and it sparked a strong interest in U of M Carlson School of Management

By Abegail Y

May 20, 2021

The course was meaningful for me. I learned much about human resources and the challenges that lay ahead of me as an HR practitioner. I also had fun during the learning sessions. I appreciate the Professor for sharing his knowledge and expertise, and also the peers for sharing their insights.

By Haminat A A

Sep 13, 2020

Our lecture is amazing and outstanding. Thank you Professor John W. Budd for bringing both practical and theory to the class (numerous interviews with different HR managers in different fields and organization). The lessons are comprehensive and well delivered. Thanks to all the team members.

By Mari L

Oct 2, 2020

I liked the lecturer, videos were very nice, funny, with nice graphics and easy to follow and understand. It's definitely worth to take the course to get an overview of HR and how to manage people although most of that was familiar to me, but still good to think about it and a good reminder.

By Bea S V

Sep 13, 2020

Professor bud presented the lessons in a structured and creative fashion. He was also able to cover all the basics and use real life application for the concepts and theories he discussed. Overall, this course is perfect for beginners like myself who wish to start a career in HR management.

By Emmanuel H S

Sep 8, 2020

Absolute wonderful course that covers basic aspects of HRM in a brief but inclusive way and touches all aspects of key HRM principles. The interviews were especially helpful and full of good advice. The lecturer was very lively and engaging, It was fun to do this course. Wonderful job there!

By KEHINDE O

Aug 18, 2020

This course is extremely wonderful, the lecturer is very professional and knows how to get the job done. I really appreciate the lecturer, he has helped me to understand this course very well and how to use it in my day to day affairs. Most of all he has helped me to become a people manager.

By Andy Y

Aug 2, 2017

I have worked in HR technology for the last 4 years and found this course to be really helpful in understanding the challenges and opportunities around HR. I'm able to apply what I learned in this course to better understand HR professionals and what their day-to-day responsibilities are.

By Meenakshi T

Jul 7, 2019

This course has helped me in various forms. I would like to thank professor Budd and Coursera for giving us so much of knowledge with seamless efforts. I would recommend this course to all those who are aiming to have a career in HR or want to have the right knowledge about this domain.

By ABED A K

Nov 7, 2019

It had given me clear guidance of how and different styles of leader ship, and many aspects. Almost 80 % of the portions that I learned are very new to me and helped to gain vast practical knowledge.Thanks to all who made me get reached to this course get reached and get completed.

By eloi b

Sep 23, 2020

This course has a comprehensive explanation on what is Industrial Relations is all about and the studying all aspects of why people work. It helps me to better understand my role as an HR Specialist and how I will add value to the most important asset of the company--- the people.

By Ihab A

Jan 9, 2019

The content is well written and the videos are very engaging. I did enjoy the time spent while grasping the knowledge at the same time. The Mad Lid exercise was hilarious i am going to use if in all my coming training sessions. I enjoyed the reading assignments from Dr. John blog.

By Mansi A

Jul 25, 2020

The course is really insightful and so are the blogs of Professor John Budd. Also he enjoys the teaching with his fruits and dance which keeps the interest alive. Special performance is his "vortex swirl" (Do make it to that part if you are reading this). I enjoyed this course :)