Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,727 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 2,572 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Carlos A

Mar 26, 2021

Prof. Budd is amazing, clever, creative and nice. Very straight forward in each video but without making it boring. I genuinely enjoyed his classes and think is very important everything this main information on HR subject. I wasn¿t thinking on taking the other 2 courses but now for sure I will and hope his orher colleagues keep this level he established.

By Taste o V

Nov 1, 2018

Great material. Detailed videos. The tests and reading really reflect on the materials given to us thru out the lessons. And the peer graded assignments felt great because there are actual others that are also interested in the same activities as this course and helped me understand more about their views as much as a more in dept understanding of mine.

By Muhammad F

Feb 14, 2023

I was amazed by the wealth of knowledge and information that was offered in this course. What I liked most was the way professor Budd explained the key points in the course. It was an engaging way of teaching. I liked that the knowledge kept building layer after layer in a logical way which made the learning easy. Thank you, professor Budd.

By Indranil C

Feb 27, 2021

The course is really very helpful for front line managers . It helps to develop in depth knowledge on peoples, organizations , & legal framework which will help the manager to become good leaders.

Even if there is emphasis on HR strategies and practices but this is very helpful for any Manager in any field to accomplice hands on expertise.

By Daniel R

Jun 6, 2020

I thought this was a very informative, well-organized and useful course. I liked the way outside learning options were suggested as well. As a newbie to HR and Business in general, this was a perfect starting place for me. I was able to get the lay of the land and start to think about how my own experience could transfer into this realm.

By Meri C

Oct 19, 2022

Just a great course. I just loved the whole process. I received much needed knowledge that I don't know where else I could get. The course is very well designed, you will not get bored. I am very motivated and hope to start working on my dream business after completing the whol course. Many thanks to the professor for the good teaching.

By Praveena K

Jul 28, 2020

I've learnt many new skills from this course

1.Understanding alternative approaches to managing human resources and appreciating the diversity of factors that motivate workers.

2.Applying best practices for hiring and rewarding employees, and for managing employee performance

3. Avoiding key mistakes in (mis)managing human resources

By Donna M C

Sep 2, 2017

This course provide a comprehensive introductory overview on the basics of HRM. I very informative and started to apply the lessons learned right away. As a non-HR manager the course helped to be better understand the driving principals of HR and various theories upon which the discipline is built. I highly recommend this course.

By Ana E

Feb 6, 2022

This course gave me a very interesting overview about Human Resources. I learnt diferent things that I did not have in my knowledge and also helped me to realize how important is this area in an organization. Even more than what I thought. Also I really liked how clear the professor is in his explanations, and his sense of humor.

By Suman B

Aug 2, 2017

Loved the course. It kept me engaged every week with so many things to take away. Highly informative and interactive. The practice quiz and the peer assignment was one of my favorite thing about this course. Helped to understand better. Thanks again sir. It was great. Looking forward to the other courses. cannot wait to enroll.

By JOYCE M C T

Jun 26, 2020

Me encanto el curso, muy detallada la información, muy buena la didáctica del profesor John Budd, excelente los consejos prácticos y los casos de testimonios de profesionales del área. Sus explicaciones te invitan a reflexionar y hacer lo correcto al gestionar los HR. Muchas gracias por sus enseñanzas profesor John! Un abrazo!

By Kelemedi K L

May 27, 2017

This is a course that will take you to the next level in the area of managing human resourse. You will be so glad to have done this course like me. It gave me a sence of complition understanding what MHR is all about. I can now boldly manage others well, undertanding worker's needs and how to help them work as great employees.

By Suleiman i

Jul 30, 2022

I am so much amazed at this course, and I am happy to take a second to appreciate the time and efforts spent to produce such a result. Thanks to the professors as well as the editors whose efforts are well recognized in the course. Thanks to the university of Minnesota's Carlson's School of management and the Courser as well.

By Didimo E G T

Nov 30, 2020

Excellent course, one of the best I have had at COURSERA. I must also congratulate the professor for they entertaining manner in which the course is delivered. For years I had been curious about this field (I am an Electrical Engineer) and I am definitely interested, perhaps a career change! This course is highly recommended.

By Sowmya M

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent and very insightful course .Strtuctred very thoughtfully for freshers & experienced professional too. The university with Prof. John W.Budd has done a awesome team work !!!! Hats off for the indepth knowledge Professor and his love /affection towards the community of HR Professional is really admiring. Thank you ,

By Mabel A

Jun 15, 2022

Prof John Budd is one of the best teachers i have met. He is a great teacher that siplified all the teachers, a newbie can understand . No vaguesness of ambiguity in the cause , this had inspired me and felt i should have done this course long enough. Thank you Proffesor, i wish to meet you one day. All the way from Nigeria

By Denise R

Sep 3, 2023

I've taken many courses on HR and people management, including extensive programs with recognized coaching. However, none of them addressed sensitive issues in such a specific and didactic way. The teacher is amazing, as well as the content. I am very pleased and grateful to the University of Minnesota and Coursera. Great!

By Obi G J

Jul 1, 2020

The Professor in-charge of this course blended perfectly, in a summary pattern, all aspects of Human Resource Management. Basically, I learnt that a great business is nothing without highly managed humans and vis-versa. It was a revealing session, I must say, all throughout the course. I'm happy to be part of this journey.

By Jayasri R S

Apr 27, 2021

Beginners best choice. If you are an HR aspirant looking for an opportunity to learn about people management, I suggest you this course right away. Prof. John W Budd, explained each and every concept with examples and we also have interactive exercises which helps us to enrich our understanding towards people management.

By kharen l v

Mar 21, 2018

You won't regret investing your time in preparing to manage human resources (even if you are already in senior post in HR field). It is very helpful and informative. I really appreciate Mr. John Budd, it was a very good, interactive, reflective class. The assignments and projects are challenging and everyone can relate.

By Savannah D l

Feb 21, 2021

This was an effective course to understanding different types of leaderships and approaches to HR. It was also beneficial in understanding some basic dynamics of law in the workplace. Last, it was useful to learn about both internal and external impacts on HR decision-making through the use of a small assignment.

By Sourav G

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, Learnt a lot about HR strategies, all the modules are very helpful. John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos which makes the learning more interesting.

By Liliana B P

May 28, 2024

Este curso provee los conocimientos básicos que requiere cualquier profesional que desee involucrarse en el mundo de la gestión de recursos humanos. Sus videos son cortos pero con gran contenido y controles de lectura y las actividades nos ayudan a generar estrategias útiles y aplicables al entorno laboral

By MANUEL O H L

Nov 20, 2020

This was a wonderful course, the knowledge imparted brought a broader view of the HR management that wasn´t taught in my career. The way John explained each topic was really clear and direct, and the information given by the managers who were interviewed, the recommendations and advises are really valuable.

By Joanne H

Jun 10, 2020

Top notch learning experience with super in-depth videos on HR management... really liked the professor and his easy to follow style. I learned so much and am grateful to start my HR journey here at Coursera with University of Minnesota! Can’t wait to get stuck into the next course in this specialization.