Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,730 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,572 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Humayun M T

Jul 1, 2023

Attending ‘Preparing to Manage Human Resources’ was an incredibly valuable and enriching experience. I have learned a great deal from its detailed step-by-step instructions, first-rate video lessons, enlightening quizzes, and useful assignments. One brilliant feature of this course was provision of very useful & vivid examples to elaborate points wherever and whatever. My knowledge was furthered by the videos' inclusion of interviews with subject matter specialists. I am delighted with the course and would like to express my gratitude for the exceptional knowledge imparted and the certificate awarded. Thank you immensely for extending such an outstanding learning opportunity!

By LUCI F

May 26, 2024

Thank you, I'm glad I was able to provide a helpful analysis of the full statement and explain how the missing word "police" fits into the context. Receiving positive feedback helps reinforce that I understood the nuance of the question and provided an accurate and insightful response. It's valuable for me to know when I've successfully interpreted the intent behind a query and offered a thoughtful explanation. Your confirmation that my feedback was good encourages me to continue providing thorough and contextual responses to these types of questions.

By Tony M

May 14, 2022

The instructor was excellent, as were the materials. To make this course better, I think the discussion questions should be required and I think that more needs to be done to filter out peoplem who are just clicking through. More rigor should be added to complete this course. The other submissions on the peer reviewed assignment were generally not serious and were kind of insulting considering the work I put forth. Thank you for the opportunity to take in the excellent material you offered here for essentially free online. You have helped my career.

By Mónica A S

Jan 28, 2021

Really great module, I learned a lot of new concepts, a lot of things that have an influence on HR, the different things that a manager should consider in order to be a great manager and so much more. I personally think that the interviews and "speed-dating with HR executives" were amazing and really helpful. As an undergraduate looking forward to specializing in HR, this introduction was amazing and I'm looking forward to complete the whole specialization course. AMAZING PROFESSOR and amazing explanations. Thank you very much.

By Sandra E

Aug 3, 2021

I previously submitted feedback. My name is Sandra Escalante, I am Human Resources Generalist at Lone Star Reel, Inc. in McKinney, TX. Our corp. office is Carris Reels, Inc. in Vermont. I am not a teacher, but I am working with our Production Manager to build training programs and standards for our current supervisors and shift leads. Most of them acquired their current roles through "battlefield promotions" Carris acquired the company and removed some people and others quit, but the ones that remained are not prepared.

By Apurva H N

Aug 24, 2020

This is a best course for someone who wants to learn what HR is about or explore the field. The course gives flavor of all the different areas in HR in a very easy to understand way. There are frequent quiz and assignments which actually helps to check our understanding a lot. The best part was indeed the peer graded assignments, which encourages to think creatively and helps to connect the theory into practical application. Plus, it allows to read responses by other students, which gives so many new perspectives.

By K V

Nov 23, 2020

Professor Budd is definitely a fun teacher. Everything is explained in detail without that much nonsense talk. Being someone who likes taking down notes, I actually filled up a whole notebook with all the awesome information he has taught. I definitely have a better understanding of what HR does now. I took his course so I can manage people better, and will definitely finish and do all the other courses under HR for People Managers Specialization, so I will be a better leader and manager.

By Jude P

Apr 29, 2022

It's a valuable course, providing profound and priceless lessons. As the course opens, the introductory speeches state something along the lines of that this HR-relevant course is different in its approach than other HR courses are. I don't yet know because I have only taken this HR course. But, with that said, by the end of the lessons I knew it was true.

I am glad to have participated, and glad to have been exposed to the lessons and the weath of information and insight it provides.

By Douglas I

Feb 20, 2021

My review is based on what I have learned so far, bearing in mind that there could be a lot of details that I'm yet to know about, being new to the course. However, Professor Budd did a good job in the way the course was presented. He defined the subject, gave a good background of where economics, psychology and sociology come together in human resources management. He talked so much about strategy and how to be successful, and the pit-falls to avoid. Again, a very good start.

By Sucheta C

Aug 7, 2019

I feel that this course is an absolute commendable course as an basics to know what HR is all about. It can basically give an bird's eye view on how things work in an organization both from the worker's and the HR manager's side. By going through this course you'll realize how vast and dynamic this field is. I would definitely recommend this course to all the beginners like me who aspire to become HR as this would act as an introductory foundation class for your higher studies.

By Jason L

Dec 17, 2021

The course had robust video content and interesting ideas on the principles of management of human resources. I would have liked to have started the series with a more basic human resource course, because I am not in management at the moment. This seems like it shouldn't be the first course in the series but something that you work up to. That being said, the material is good and useful for anybody, even people who aren't managers, but more useful for those who are.

By keyur p

Apr 28, 2023

During this course, I gained knowledge about various human resources management styles and came to the conclusion that there is no one perfect strategy. I also learned about the evolution of management strategies over time and discovered different ways to engage employees. Additionally, I gained insight into the various employee engagement methods used in different countries. This knowledge has provided a solid foundation for future courses in this field.

By ONI, T O

Sep 16, 2020

I am ONI, Thomas Olatunde a Nigerian and a Postgraduate Degree holder working in one Private University in Nigeria. The course Preparing to Manage Human Resources is a course that is loaded and contribute an educative impact to the live of learners. I really benefited from the course as it exposes me to many things which I dont know from onset. The facilitators of the course really did an impactful knowledge and I am grateful to them all.

Thank you.

By Shivam C

Oct 26, 2017

Dear Professor John Budd, thank you very much for this excellent course indeed! It is really interesting and very helpful. It helps me to improve my knowledge. Basically I am from mathematics background. This course contains all basics of HRM which is good for those students who are from different backgrounds This course provide interesting overview in very practical way . I would recommend this course to my colleagues who are interested in HRM.

By Deleted A

Aug 10, 2022

It is a very good course if you are looking to learn about the basics of HRM. It will help you to build a base for further specific courses related to this field. Also, I would suggest you not to complete the course in less than a week. Try to devote daily 2 hours to learning. It will help you to retain the things taught. Also, attempt the practice test of a lesson the next day rather than solving it on the same day you watched the video.

By Roxana I C

Jun 15, 2022

Excellent studied and presented! A really great help when struggling with HR or wanting to start a career in this field. Very clear and concise, simple language, easy to follow courses and a great final revision. You can really see that Professor John Budd did his best in helping the online students.

Special thanks to University of Minnesota, professor Budd and Coursera for giving learning access to all of us around the globe!

By Md A a M

Jun 23, 2023

"Preparing to Manage Human Resources" is an excellent course that provides a comprehensive foundation for effective HR management. It covers key topics like recruitment, performance management, compensation, and strategic planning. The course emphasizes practical application through case studies and real-world examples. It is highly recommended for anyone looking to enhance their HR skills and stay updated with industry trends.

By Diana D O N N

Jan 25, 2021

Prior to pursuing this course,I had little knowledge and experience on the legal aspects of work and to understand that different approaches matters when it comes to managing people. I love the methods provided by Professor John Budd for his extensive teaching and materials provided,now I walk away with a vast amount of knowledge that can better assist me as a person and employee, thank you so much for this oppurtunity

By Ariane M

Dec 28, 2020

I am very happy you permitted me to learn this course. It was very beneficial to me. Now I have one of the element to look for a job. I found no difficulties with the course. What you people are doing to help people like, is very great. One thing I can say is , keep on and may the good Lord continue to bless you people for this.

Now I will like to continue and finish with the three remaining courses. What can I do?

By win w

Nov 9, 2020

I am not native speaker , so to learn with English I need more time. And would like to request to get the hand out and video what I have learnt because some lesson I forgot to download and I need to study again and read again. It will be great if I could get this. Thank you so much Coursera team for your course and teacher Mr.... . I really appreciate. Hope I could join next course with discount price.

By Viviana H

Feb 5, 2022

I enjoyed this course very much. The material Professor Budd covered was informative, and he presented it in a fun and engaging way. I already have a background in HR, but I'm brushing up after 5 years away. I wasn't sure I would learn anything new, but I did. I'm really glad I took this course. I especially liked the readings from Professor Budd's blog and the Mad Lib at the end. Great fun!

By MAH N

May 23, 2022

What a complex, yet informative and fun course! Though it is just the beginning, I am s=thoroughly satisfied with the way the instructor brings about various topics into his videos. It's a pleasure to have gotten to work with the material and how interactive it was. The best thing about this is that you can learn at your own pace. It motivated me to finish within the deadline.

By Ngọc D T M

Sep 26, 2021

One of the best courses I have ever taken. The course gave me a lot of useful knowledge about the HR industry. Thanks to the course, I can equip the skills and knowledge to look for an opportunity, a job in the future. Thank you to all the teachers for providing this wonderful course. Thank you, Coursera for creating a professional and helpful environment. Thank you very much.

By Sandra V P

Oct 30, 2019

Sandra Viviana Paiz Argentina

Es un curso de mucha importancia, que brinda una excelente preparación y despierta un gran interés para seguir incursionando en nuevas experiencias. Hubo mucho respeto entre compañeros, sus opiniones fueron muy valiosas, para poder llegar al final. Me siento muy feliz y agradecida a Coursera por haberme dado esta posibilidad.

By Shubham Y

Apr 30, 2021

Thank Dr. Budd for this course! It is really interesting and very helpful. It help me to improve my knowledge. I try to keep my HR knowledge up to date and that course is that I was liking for. It contain not only lecture, it have a task/homework. You can think about you, your job, work with people grime other countries. I recommend this course to anyone!