Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,730 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,572 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Alena L

Aug 12, 2019

Very well prepared, entertaining videos and flow. I would take this course again without any hesitation. I would only like more practical examples as some students may not have experience and may struggle to understand the application.

By Boneiba C

Aug 3, 2022

Very well explained. The course is quite detailed and contains activities and readings that complement the learning and make you think about the importance of HRM within a company and its important connection to the business strategy.

By Rashadul W

Apr 24, 2020

This course is great. It gives you an excellent learning on the management styles, HR strategies, People Manager Value Proposition and about some theory. Experienced and Non Experienced HR people easily can do this course. Thank You

.

By Nicolas V

Oct 8, 2018

Without going in to too much detail, I would say that without a doubt this course gives a very good introduction to the field, and gives perspective on to the people managing side of things in a short and consise, yet efective manner.

By REZOANA A

Jun 16, 2020

It is indeed a wonderful course. I have learned about different approaches, strategies and constraints for managing people. After completing this course now I feel confident to learn the advanced courses of Human Resource Management.

By Angelica H

Feb 12, 2021

Excellent professor!! Always keeping us entertained, incredible references that helped us to remember the information, great content and great way to share his knowledge with us, a TERRIFIC way to start and love this Specialization!

By Christina C

May 9, 2018

This course is fast paced and full information. The beauty of it is that John Budd makes the content interesting. I took a lot of great knowledge away from this course and expect it to help propel me to the next level in my career.

By Jeferson Y C P

Apr 30, 2024

Excelente, el enfoque multidisciplinario la información es clara y de calidad, a pesar de ser profesional en RRHH ha abierto mi mente a nuevas formas de interpretar no solo la perspectiva psicológica, sino otros ámbitos completos.

By Ornella N G

Dec 16, 2022

This course has helped me to understand the role of a manager in a organization, the meaning of work to employee and the law at work. I encourage fellows who are interested in becoming an HR Manager to try this course to the end.

By Gerry A P

Aug 6, 2021

This course is AWESOME learning. Thank you very much for the opportunity that has been given. I have now become an HR who can humanize fellow human beings and be a useful figure for the company and society. Once again, thank you!

By Saumya M

Jul 31, 2020

This Course was very interesting. It will be further more interesting, if more Human Resource functions like Performance Appraisal, Training and Development, Employee Engagement, Exit Process are also incorporated in this course.

By Daniel B S

Jun 16, 2020

A sound overview about the specifics of managing human resources.

I would appreciate to get a short written summary / booklet after completing the course that enables to briefly look up important concepts afterwards in daily work.

By Muhammad N A Z

Mar 2, 2019

Excellent course for any leader to appreciate and understand the complexities of people management. This course gives a great framework and structure for approaching real life HR & management challenges for all managers & leader.

By Brent E

Jun 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course. It gave me an understanding of the way human resources is supposed to work. It will certainly help me to better interact with HR now that I understand these principles. I enjoyed the lectures very much.

By Yashika S

Jun 19, 2023

Thank you very much for providing us with this course. Through the professor's teaching ways which were easy to understand, I truly learned a lot about the basics of Human Resource Management, looking forward to future courses.

By Aderemi A

May 30, 2019

I am very very new to HR and this course has given me a good grasp of what it is. So I am just going to go with the flow. Some things are still tough for me to understand but I will listen again to my lectures in my spare time

By Wendy A W

Aug 14, 2018

I found the content and context of the video's to be very informative. I also like the class discussions and interactions. I really learned great stratagies and a better understanding of how to look at my team as individuals.

By Gary C

Jan 22, 2018

This course is one of the best course Ive ever taken. It's way more interesting than i expected. My instructor John Budd is super nice. Everyone who wants to learn more about managers role have to try this course, not regrets.

By Anjali R

Jul 9, 2020

It is such an amazing course for starting your career in the HR field. It will help you build the foundation and will make you understand what things you should focus on. Thank you so much for offering such an amazing course.

By Nienke T

Oct 31, 2018

Interesting and exciting course. At first I thought it was very dry with the instructor tiny in the corner, but the instructor actually has a funny sense of humour and puts in his own personality into the course. Nicely done!

By Priscilia A E

Nov 2, 2022

GREAT EXPERIENCE

I would love to go over it again and again, i love how detailed the course is, i enjoyed every step and i learnt so much. A MILLION THANK YOU WON'T DO. I'M GRATEFUL FOR THIS OPPORTUINITY IN THIS CAREER PATH.

By Jonathan A

Aug 16, 2018

Solid course, more economics than expected but that is not bad thing! I enjoyed it.

Peer Review Assignment was a headache, one person failed me for fun, then I had to wait four days to have someone review my assignment again.

By Victoria P

Apr 3, 2019

So much more academic and theory based than I expected from an online course. Worth so much more than what I paid for it. Highly recommend it for any one who is given responsibility for HR but hasn't been trained to do it.

By Luka D

May 19, 2023

A fun and thorough look into the basics of managing & HR. What I found especially appealing is the more philosophical background of the course - taking into account the history of work, not just current/modern practices.

By Katia L J

Nov 4, 2021

I am very satisfied with this course I have mastered the concepts learned. Thank you for your availability, your patience and your support for those who are far away to deepen their knowledge effectively and efficiently.