Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,730 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

MG

Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

SH

Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 2,572 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Jagwantie P

Oct 30, 2020

Really helpful course for HR managers or anyone deciding to be in HR department of any business. All the topics are relevant to HR. I really enjoyed this course and it was more than worth it. This is, by far, one of the best HR courses I have come across. Thank you very much, Professor John W. Budd! You really did a great job in explaining all the topics in each module. Love your videos! Keep up the wonderful job that you’re doing! University of Minnesota, thank you very much for making this so simple for us around the world in this pandemic! I’m recommending this very course for some of my colleagues.

By suresh m

Jul 28, 2020

My name is suresh somnath malvekar from India, i learned new policy about HRM. this course helped me to learns more in details about HR.I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Coursera. I have loved the learning I have been able to do and look forward to taking many more classes with them. I have always been interested in Psychology and Coursera has given me the chance to take the classes that really interest me. I don't understand the reviews with low ratings. I have never had any problems with them.

By Isabel A P M

Apr 15, 2019

I THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT THAT GIVES YOU THIS GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO ALL, DEMONSTRATING THAT EDUCATION DOES NOT HAVE BORDERS.

THE POWER TO TAKE THIS COURSE IN A UNIVERSITY OF GREAT PRESTIGE AS IT IS MINESSOTA IS FOR ME A GREAT HONOR.

ACQUIRING THE TOOLS AND SKILLS NECESSARY FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF MANAGEMENT MAKES US BE AT THE VANGUARD TO THE GREAT CHALLENGES.

By Seçil B A

Oct 29, 2020

Mr. Budd is a brilliant instructor! Learned a lot of theoretical information which lies beneath the HR policies and many practical information that I can start instantly applying in my daily business. Many thanks for this informative course!

By Rizwan N

Oct 26, 2020

First of all i would like to thanks my teacher who has such a tremendous way to explain which really helps me to understand everything.

I will continue my study from Coursera and i would must say its just a beginning.

THANKS COURSERA

By Jessielyn T

Jun 14, 2023

I learned a lot of things that I've never encountered. It helps me a lot not just being an employee but also as a normal person now I can share all things that I have learned from this course. Thank you Professor Budd for sharing.

By Cynthia Z

Nov 1, 2020

I really enjoyed this first. I didn't know that to be a good manager all of the mentioned in the course are required. Big thank you to Prof. John Budd for teaching us this course in an a fun but effective way.

By Dr. C

Dec 17, 2020

I thank Professor John W Budd, for his excellent insights in human resources subject and the way of teaching is excellent. the course was very informative and interesting.

By Keatlaretse K M

May 16, 2023

Very lively visuals that captured my attention. Tone and speed were really good, I had the best time taking this course.

By Chayada H

Jun 12, 2023

Very useful for someone who start an HR career with non experience

By Beulah S

May 16, 2023

Very informative!

By Mary T

May 15, 2023

Great

By Pimchat P

Oct 28, 2020

This course is really useful for any managers who would like to know how to efficiently manage their teams or employees. It’s also useful for the one who would like to know the meaning of HR, how HR people work, the process behind the scene, and other things that one needs to know about HR.

After I finished this course, I realized that HR is a lot more than I thought and it’s really interesting. I can also extent my knowledge and continue searching for more resources and studying by myself easier since I’ve got all the basic knowledge from this course.

By Akinsola A

Oct 8, 2023

Great course, great facilitator! but I found the peered review grading worrisome, most learners on this platform, usually don't understand the scope of the assignment and the grading. So, they just do it anyways and one gets marked down, even for a good project (My experience).

By Mel

Oct 28, 2020

This course was harder than I had anticipated. I learned a lot and definitely could have benefitted from a vocabulary outline/key.

By Sumaiya T

Jan 26, 2021

I'll be very honest and give my opinion. I gave 3 stars because this course overall gave me a lot of knowledge and taught me what exactly is the job of an HR. However, I didn't give 5 stars because of the lecture presentations. It was really annoying at first (when they showed trains running in the background and more) but after week 2, I got used to it and didn't have any trouble on focusing on the lectures.

By belgisu t

Jan 22, 2021

i think this course was very easy. instructor was not very engaging and dull and the assignment was not for everyone. Overall, thank you for this course i think I am gonna try to get in to HR.

By Amy L B

Jul 5, 2020

Very difficult to follow the instructor.

By Niwech H

Dec 6, 2016

It is not what I was expecting to learn from this course. The course syllabus seems very good but the actual lectures are not good. I would not recommend this course to any one. I don't think we can call this as introduction of HRM because it doesn't give us any knowledge related with HRM. The only new term to me is the high-road vs. low-road, the rest is the common sense to me.

By Shaniqua P

Oct 20, 2020

There is no hands on activities with this course. It consist of watching videos and answering quizzes. I am more of a hands on learner so I got very bored with the course.

By Mleya M

Feb 17, 2021

I did not learn anything new that can be applied - Felt like an introduction to HR. A definite no for me.

By YenKuan L

Feb 3, 2022

Too traditional teaching style, a lot of concepts but not so many real case analysis

By Elishama U

Aug 2, 2022

The learner's project helped me understand that people are willing to get a pay cut in order to do jobs with significant improvements .

1. Basically, i think i have learnt entirely too much in this course to place a lot of emphasis on one specific area. As an essentials course i feel that the course filled out well and did a great job of getting my feet wet with the principles, philosophies, theories, ideas, and practice of Organization Development , Managerial styles, Laws and so on. I think one of the most important thing that i learned during the course on Organization Development is a holistic approach to change. There is no simple solutions when dealing with change. Everything including processess, employess, managers and behaviors have to be looked at to get a good sense of where, when, and how a change intervention can be successful . A practitioner needs to be well grounded and be able to look at the world around without making hasty judgments. This course was a great introduction , there is so much that goes into become a successful Human Resource Personnel and I feel like i have much much more to learn. And with this i have known my right also as an employee.

2. I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

Overall I really like this class because all lectures, assignments, and tests are straight forward. A couple things I dislike about the class are that there should be more opportunities for extension as some of us work and it would be awesome if the final was an objective essay about what we have learned in this class or what we like about the class. I believe that I have more knowledge about Management, Labour laws and hopefully, I can use them in my place of work.

The course was everything you said it would be, fun but a lot of work. And it was! I enjoyed the video classes because they were a lot of fun and easy to understand. And the answers were usually somewhere in the text. I also liked the assignments that required us to get online. Sometimes articles aside from the reading book gave me a better idea and understanding of the subject for that week. What I disliked was the short essay question because I found it difficult to explain certain concepts without introducing in some way, Ideas from the course notes . I never expected to learn so much from an online class; I now see Human Resource in a whole new way. I know I could have done better, but in the end I learned that an online class could be as much work or more than a regular class. However, I still enjoyed it very much.

By Brenda E

May 5, 2021

This excellent course taught me how to be a managing leader, a strategic HR partner, and a human resource high-road taker. I would highly recommend this outstanding professor (John Budd) for his clear ways of explaining complex material. Professor Budd made it fun, interesting, and relevant. He connected his presentations with today's business cases and blog posts, and he also gave us relevant assignments to do that were thought-provoking and meaningful. The videos, blogs, and PowerPoint slides were all designed to help me learn the material as a career changer new to the HR field, and the practice quizzes, HR landscape assignment, and module quizzes provided good assessments. Thank you so much!

By Nisal L

Oct 31, 2020

It is a good learning ...what I did to have a beter comprehension I rewrite all the subject matter on papers sothat they may help me oneday to remind my lectures at works. I got to know about the people managing in addition, people are the most valuble thing on earth to deal with. All the things take place between humanbeings throughout this human living circle so therefore this coirse values not only for when we deal with workers in a organisation but in our lives also this can be applicable. At last I want to thank for your encoragous teaching and for the cultivation you as a teacher who plant a tree ( specific knowledge) in me. So now it is my turn to harvest it. Thank you very much.