Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,211 ratings
242 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended to help you become a better manager by helping you more fully understand and deal with the complexities and challenges associated with managerial life in organizations. You will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you more effectively manage and lead your organizations. You will be able to: - Analyze common managerial challenges and develop solutions to these challenges - Use power effectively and strategically to implement organizational change - Understand the foundations of organizational culture and decision-making - Navigate common decision-making pitfalls and ethical challenges - Apply principles of organization management to common challenges of management This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

SM
Dec 8, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

RO
Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 240 Reviews for Managing the Organization

By Ayesha B

Jun 10, 2020

Okay so I just completed course 4 of 7 called "managing the organization", and it was good, however; It did take a while to read through and comprehend all the info being presented because at times, the people in the videos rambled on for so long that the importance of the material in the video was getting lost. I had to re-read over and over again to really understand what they were rambling on about! Also, the quizzes often had questions that were NOT referenced in the material. For example there was mention of "time tellers" and "clock makers" in the week 4 quiz, but nowhere in the material did it mention any such jargon! Even if i was to go back and re-read or re-watch the videos, there would be absolutely no reference to the question being asked, and I had to take a wild guess because the wording just wasn't ringing any bells. Lastly, there was a peer reviewed assignment that was being reviewed by students of all skill levels....so in my case my work was being reviewed by students who have terrible written and I am assuming also terrible verbal english skills and very clearly (based on their comments) not competent enough to be grading other people's work. If my work was being graded by a professor and not some numpty, I most certainly would have received a higher grade. other than that, it is a useful course for anybody looking for supervisor/management courses. Cheers!

By Lawrence S

May 17, 2017

The essence of the course was good, but the lectures where not the quality I expected. So while I found the theory incredibly interesting and helpful, with application to every day business interaction, the lectures where long winded, lacked in depth knowledge and explanation of a complex subject, and on occasion where dull and uninteresting. source material, readings and extended content on the topic was incredibly interesting.

I would keep the topic, but restructure the lectures.

None the less, i would still suggest participation in the course, just to broaden understanding and knowledge.

By Jai P

Jul 22, 2018

Prof. Leblebici has done a great job in making this course pretty practical and useful. This makes it readily applicable within my organization. The required reading selections were very useful. Creating an assignments and the questions based on the reading helped to think through the message more deeply, including the peer review of the same.

I found the questions following the case studies pretty challenging though. It did not follow a logical answer based on my thought process. I may need to review the material again, and not take the case studies as simple :)

Thanks again

By Anton F

Nov 7, 2016

strong 5 stars. There are some minor issues and concerns, BUT even the sun has spots. Two great things about this course. First, it's very structured overview of how organizations are designed and managed, HR policies, culture, decision making, also it reiterates Northcraft's courses pretty well. Second, is brilliant reading assignments. I would never found and read those articles. They've been SO useful. I definitely recommend this course, although I was a bit skeptical about the first part.

By Adrian M

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent material and explanations from the professors through the videos. The Professors are obviously very knowledgeable in their field and it shows through their preparation and presentation of the videos. The ability also to print the video materials to use as a reference was extremely helpful for review and for reference at a later stage through the course. I would without hesitation recommend this course.

By Krishna W

Jun 23, 2020

Very insightful topic on what you might have taken granted. In either way you are always in an organization, be it your academia, office, business or any other form of organizations, even probably religious organization. This course helps you structure your view of what an effective leadership in an organization, and the best part is how to become one.

By Dhinesh A D

Jun 1, 2020

The course elaborates different leadership styles followed in an organization. Appropriate use of leadership styles in various organizational structure explains why managers should adapt to certain leadership style. It's more to the role than to the person themselves. By taking the course I get clarity on different leadership styles and its applications.

By Joe F

Apr 24, 2018

Very insightful course. It has already changed my way of thinking when it comes to how an organization / department is designed and how the company operates. Sadly, most of the companies that I have worked for lack a strong organizational design and therefore have no way of implementing or executing the goals of the organization.

By Neil M

Nov 9, 2019

Great course, the instructor was very good and covered some critical content. The conclusion of his two courses were particularly helpful to reinforce what was learnt.

The negative is the sheer amount of theory and reading materials, makes this challenging to absorb all the course materials.

However highly recommended!

By CIRIELLO V

Oct 23, 2021

Fantastic course! This course specialization passionate me a lot. The topics of leadership principles, management and strategic leadership passionated me by several years. A big thanks to Coursera and Illinois University for this specialization. It is enlightening.

By NAND K J

Jun 17, 2020

Went through in depth knowledge and understanding. practical situation based analysis widening thought on application of the learned subject matter . Five star and many congrats with thanks to all mentors teacher and entire team of illinois. Warm Regards Nand Jha

By Bo L

Dec 15, 2019

I have learned a lot throughout the course. I think i gained the most when I was able to relate knowledge that i learned to my work and situations in real life, which i often can with the concepts and insights from this class. great course in general!

By Alejandro B

May 29, 2016

Excellent, this is one the best Specializations in Coursera platform. My congratulations to Professor Huseyin Leblebici, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Coursera. Definitively, you are making a better world for the future generations

By Daniel O

Apr 9, 2018

Insightful, creative, well thought and presented course by all standard. Very challenging and flexible to understand and apply. If you need ideas as a leader to survive and thrive in this modern trend, then go for this course

By Raul N C G

Oct 14, 2018

Good course and consistent with the previous one making a solid set. Somewhat easier to follow than the previous one, although the Case Study Quizes remain trickier. Undeniably an important component to the specialization.

By sangram d

Oct 16, 2020

It's an important course for leading the organization in the right track. I have gathered knowledge on various types of leadership. I would like to appreciate the instructors for giving important deliberations.

By Aakriti G

Apr 2, 2019

A great way to learn about the various aspects of organisational Design and change leadership. Well articulated and demonstrated. The reading materials are interesting and helpful in understanding the context.

By Nnene A A

Aug 3, 2021

I totally enjoyed this course and I learnt a whole lot. Kudos to the institution who made it possible and the lecturers who delivered the lessons, you made it so easy to understand and learn, Thank you.

By RANDAL O

Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

By Sonia M

Dec 9, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

By Emi K

Dec 28, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

By Sohrob N G

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks for offering a useful course with lots of supporting videos, presentations, pdf files, and materials to test my comprehension level. Would definitely recommend.

By Akash P

Jun 20, 2020

This Course series of Strategic leadership and management is just great. Especially the suggested readings and handpicked HBR articles which give really good insights.

By Antonio A E

Jul 13, 2019

Excelente curso. Claro, preciso y muy retador. Con grandes aprendizajes. Prof. Leblibici extraordinario instructor para aprendizaje significativo. Recomendable al 100%

By Gayrat S

Oct 26, 2020

Dear professors, I really enjoyed the course! Thank you for all your efforts, interesting presentations and lectures, your valuable tips. Take care and Good luck!!!