Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,171 ratings
230 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended to help you become a better manager by helping you to more fully understand and deal with some of the complexities and challenges associated with managerial life in organizations. In this course, you will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you to more effectively manage and lead the organizations that you belong to. We will view organizations from different perspectives that we will use as lenses to help us highlight common managerial challenges and point us toward solutions to those challenges. Some of these common challenges that we will explore in this course include using power effectively, implementing organizational change, understanding and managing organizational culture, decision-making including decision-making pitfalls and ethical traps, and leadership. As you learn and apply the principles from this course, you will be better prepared to navigate some of the complex challenges that you face as a manager....

Top reviews

RO
Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

SM
Dec 8, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 228 Reviews for Managing the Organization

By Jai P

Jul 22, 2018

Prof. Leblebici has done a great job in making this course pretty practical and useful. This makes it readily applicable within my organization. The required reading selections were very useful. Creating an assignments and the questions based on the reading helped to think through the message more deeply, including the peer review of the same.

I found the questions following the case studies pretty challenging though. It did not follow a logical answer based on my thought process. I may need to review the material again, and not take the case studies as simple :)

Thanks again

By Anton F

Nov 7, 2016

strong 5 stars. There are some minor issues and concerns, BUT even the sun has spots. Two great things about this course. First, it's very structured overview of how organizations are designed and managed, HR policies, culture, decision making, also it reiterates Northcraft's courses pretty well. Second, is brilliant reading assignments. I would never found and read those articles. They've been SO useful. I definitely recommend this course, although I was a bit skeptical about the first part.

By Adrian M

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent material and explanations from the professors through the videos. The Professors are obviously very knowledgeable in their field and it shows through their preparation and presentation of the videos. The ability also to print the video materials to use as a reference was extremely helpful for review and for reference at a later stage through the course. I would without hesitation recommend this course.

By Krishna W

Jun 23, 2020

Very insightful topic on what you might have taken granted. In either way you are always in an organization, be it your academia, office, business or any other form of organizations, even probably religious organization. This course helps you structure your view of what an effective leadership in an organization, and the best part is how to become one.

By Dhinesh A D

Jun 1, 2020

The course elaborates different leadership styles followed in an organization. Appropriate use of leadership styles in various organizational structure explains why managers should adapt to certain leadership style. It's more to the role than to the person themselves. By taking the course I get clarity on different leadership styles and its applications.

By Joe F

Apr 24, 2018

Very insightful course. It has already changed my way of thinking when it comes to how an organization / department is designed and how the company operates. Sadly, most of the companies that I have worked for lack a strong organizational design and therefore have no way of implementing or executing the goals of the organization.

By Neil M

Nov 9, 2019

Great course, the instructor was very good and covered some critical content. The conclusion of his two courses were particularly helpful to reinforce what was learnt.

The negative is the sheer amount of theory and reading materials, makes this challenging to absorb all the course materials.

However highly recommended!

By NAND K J

Jun 17, 2020

Went through in depth knowledge and understanding. practical situation based analysis widening thought on application of the learned subject matter . Five star and many congrats with thanks to all mentors teacher and entire team of illinois. Warm Regards Nand Jha

By Bo L

Dec 15, 2019

I have learned a lot throughout the course. I think i gained the most when I was able to relate knowledge that i learned to my work and situations in real life, which i often can with the concepts and insights from this class. great course in general!

By Alejandro B

May 29, 2016

Excellent, this is one the best Specializations in Coursera platform. My congratulations to Professor Huseyin Leblebici, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Coursera. Definitively, you are making a better world for the future generations

By Daniel O

Apr 9, 2018

Insightful, creative, well thought and presented course by all standard. Very challenging and flexible to understand and apply. If you need ideas as a leader to survive and thrive in this modern trend, then go for this course

By Raul N C G

Oct 14, 2018

Good course and consistent with the previous one making a solid set. Somewhat easier to follow than the previous one, although the Case Study Quizes remain trickier. Undeniably an important component to the specialization.

By sangram d

Oct 16, 2020

It's an important course for leading the organization in the right track. I have gathered knowledge on various types of leadership. I would like to appreciate the instructors for giving important deliberations.

By Aakriti G

Apr 2, 2019

A great way to learn about the various aspects of organisational Design and change leadership. Well articulated and demonstrated. The reading materials are interesting and helpful in understanding the context.

By RANDAL O

Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

By Sonia M

Dec 9, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

By Emi K

Dec 28, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

By Sohrob N G

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks for offering a useful course with lots of supporting videos, presentations, pdf files, and materials to test my comprehension level. Would definitely recommend.

By Akash P

Jun 20, 2020

This Course series of Strategic leadership and management is just great. Especially the suggested readings and handpicked HBR articles which give really good insights.

By Antonio A E

Jul 13, 2019

Excelente curso. Claro, preciso y muy retador. Con grandes aprendizajes. Prof. Leblibici extraordinario instructor para aprendizaje significativo. Recomendable al 100%

By Gayrat S

Oct 26, 2020

Dear professors, I really enjoyed the course! Thank you for all your efforts, interesting presentations and lectures, your valuable tips. Take care and Good luck!!!

By Christine A

Dec 11, 2020

Professors Michael Bednar and Geoffrey Love were exceptional instructors that made the learning of Managing the Organization interesting and relatable. Thank you.

By David H

Dec 10, 2019

I found this course very helpful in showing what the true responsibilities of managers are, and explaining the organizational designs we often see in companies.

By Maheshkumar P

May 19, 2017

Fantastic Course. I felt the course covered vast amount of ideas and management concepts. I also liked the required readings. Totally enjoyed this course...

By Bill

Jun 20, 2017

Excellent course. Excellent teacher. Excellent series. I like the range of readings, videos, tests and written assignments. Very highly recommended!