Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
582 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will build a practical framework to understand the critical linkages between organization design and the creation of economic value through execution. We will focus on four critical linkages: 1. How organizational growth and life cycle require design changes to improve execution 2. How managerial decision making can be improved through better organization design 3. How the design of human resource practices shape the culture of the organization 4. How innovation and change can be facilitated through organization design These linkages are critical in assessing how managers make sure that the organizations they design can execute the strategies they have envisioned under changing environmental conditions. Learners will be able to answer the following: • What are the managerial implications of organizational growth and life cycle? • How do you improve managerial decision making through organizational design? • How do human resource management policies shape organizational culture? • How do organizations plan for top management succession and change? • How do you know that your organization design is not effective? • How do you manage organizational change and innovation? This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO

Oct 16, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

EK

Dec 29, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 96 Reviews for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

By Joe F

Apr 24, 2018

Very insightful course. It has already changed my way of thinking when it comes to how an organization / department is designed and how the company operates. Sadly, most of the companies that I have worked for lack a strong organizational design and therefore have no way of implementing or executing the goals of the organization.

By RANDAL O

Oct 16, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

By Daniel O

Apr 10, 2018

Insightful, creative, well thought and presented course by all standard. Very challenging and flexible to understand and apply. If you need ideas as a leader to survive and thrive in this modern trend, then go for this course

By Anton F

Nov 07, 2016

strong 5 stars. There are some minor issues and concerns, BUT even the sun has spots. Two great things about this course. First, it's very structured overview of how organizations are designed and managed, HR policies, culture, decision making, also it reiterates Northcraft's courses pretty well. Second, is brilliant reading assignments. I would never found and read those articles. They've been SO useful. I definitely recommend this course, although I was a bit skeptical about the first part.

By Muhammad I

Oct 18, 2016

Still pursuing this course, but what I like is... This lecture gave real problem & solution sample.

By Echo l

Jan 09, 2018

It's great, I learnt a lot from the two courses, organization design and managing.

By Deleted A

May 26, 2017

Great

By Alejandro B F

May 29, 2016

Excellent, this is one the best Specializations in Coursera platform. My congratulations to Professor Huseyin Leblebici, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Coursera. Definitively, you are making a better world for the future generations

By Charlotta S R

Oct 05, 2016

Great course, highly reccomend it!

By Charles N N

Jan 05, 2018

outstanding course

By Dinh T K H

Apr 19, 2017

Amazing course with a lot of knowledge.Thanks the Instructors and all assistants for great work.

By Maheshkumar P

May 20, 2017

Fantastic Course. I felt the course covered vast amount of ideas and management concepts. I also liked the required readings. Totally enjoyed this course...

By Tauheed K

Jan 18, 2018

Very Helpful material.

By Rajashree

Jan 06, 2018

The whole process of value creation was beautifully explained throughout the course.

By STEVE D

Jun 07, 2017

Excellent information in this course. The bonus is seeing what I learned in progress.

By IVAN P

Nov 08, 2017

t

h

a

n

k

s

By Valerio C

May 18, 2017

Great Job Professor. Thanks!

By Angela I

May 31, 2018

Well structured, well explained.

By Elsa R

Jul 08, 2017

I wish I had more time to really absorb the material. Modules 3 & 4 really made me want to have classroom discussions

By Arun P R S

May 30, 2017

Great course and it aligns perfectly with current world scenarios.

By Jennifer N

May 06, 2018

Great... relevant course. I do think some topics were weakly covered, but overall very good.

By Jennesan C

May 15, 2018

Very helpful in my Organization

By Kyle J R

Jun 15, 2017

Excellent course, wonderful professor, and essential business concepts that everyone in the field should be aware of.

By Osman K

Jun 25, 2018

It is a well established course, you will have a great insight by having this course. I totally recommend it.

By Vivek B

May 03, 2018

Excellent Course, thank you!