Chevron Left
Back to Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
4,627 ratings
1,125 reviews

About the Course

Successfully marketing brands today requires a well-balanced blend of art and science. This course introduces students to the science of web analytics while casting a keen eye toward the artful use of numbers found in the digital space. The goal is to provide the foundation needed to apply data analytics to real-world challenges marketers confront daily. Digital Analytics for Marketing Professionals: Marketing Analytics in Theory is the first in a two-part series of complementary courses and focuses on the background information and frameworks analysts need to be successful in today's digital business world. You will be able to: - Identify the web analytic tool right for your specific needs - Understand valid and reliable ways to collect, analyze, and visualize data from the web - Utilize data in decision making for agencies, organizations, or clients This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

VB

Apr 16, 2018

Well, this is great course since I did it online, but the material well covered and the lecturer give clear and interesting material through video. I will take another course after this. Thank you.

OA

Feb 29, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the professor's teaching style as well as the materials the course provided. All the knowledge I've got from the course helps me when I do research online.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,113 Reviews for Digital Marketing Analytics in Theory

By Dilrabo S

Jan 6, 2021

Very organized and theoretical course! Too little attention given to the tools. Perhaps, a module on the tools would have been nice, at least a review of them.

Thank you for this course! I was very glad to have completed it.

By Oscar C

Aug 3, 2020

Out of the Digital Marketing Specialization probably this is the weakest course so far I've taken (4 taken already).

These are the reasons why

+ Interviews are more than that just a simple answer to a question. They lack depth and interest of a conversation with some experienced individuals

+ There's too much repetition of concepts. So much that lesson 7 is mostly a complete repetition (slides included) of a previous lesson in this course

+ Concepts shown, ie. 4 digital channels and its associated analytics, lack depth as well. I assume in the optional readings those can be more detailed, but I would have expected some of that to be explained by the professor.

By Qihua Z

May 2, 2019

Need to review a lot of submission but if you went so fast, there are lack of submission to review

By Kendra H

Apr 28, 2020

After a strong showing with the first course in this specialization, this was disappointing.

Among the issues:

Content in both lectures and readings was out of date and often no longer relevant. This is especially frustrating in a field that evolves so quickly.

Assigned readings only sporadically backed theories discussed in lecture. Many readings were behind paywalls, or you had to sign up for an additional account to access them.

Quizzes would ask questions about readings that have since been removed or about content in lectures that hadn't been covered yet.

The course encourages use of the discussion forums, but very little ongoing discussion happens. Instead, the threads turn into a repository for assignment answers that get copied by fellow students. I was disgusted by the number of times I had to report submissions for plagiarization.

The only reason I gave this a 2 star review instead of a 1 star is because there are a few useful basic theories covered that are helpful if you're new to marketing like I am. I don't think I would ever actively recommend this course to someone, but if you are set on taking it, my advice is to skip all of the readings except those from Harvard Business Review and McKinsey.

By A.C

Apr 19, 2021

This class had a good start with the history of data analytics, but the lessons quickly devolved into slides packed with words and/or detailed infographics, and the professor only briefly touching on points or rewording something that was difficult to follow alongside the slide. The information was disorganized, and there was so much of it, it was difficult to absorb. Because the class was mostly quizzes, it was mostly memorizing disjointed information and spitting it back out. There was only one written assignment, only allowing us to think critically and analytically at the lessons learned. I dread having to take the next class after this because it's from the same professor.

By Tharma P

Apr 22, 2020

Some good information provided for beginners like me, but the entire course material was terribly outdated and desperately needs an update for 2020. The assigned textbook was also not useful, outdated (updated in 2004) and clunky. The lecture slides were messy and text-dense; just felt like the lecturer copy pasted a lot of material without bothering to make it student-friendly. A lot of important concepts were given textbook definitions, without any explanation on how these concept apply in the real world.

By Kristina K

Dec 30, 2015

The course introduces some basic concepts but fails to deliver on the objectives set out in the initial module description by barely listing out most topics through a very narrow, linear approach instead of delivering an actual in-depth explanation and commentary on the subject. Some more advanced learners will also find some tools to be out-of-date and some areas - very Google-focused.

By Angela H

Sep 20, 2016

I felt like this course was too repetitive. Basically, all I learned were from readings and textbooks. Video lectures were repeats from those contents. I did learn useful tools for web analytics, but I wish the instructor put some of his original insights rather than presenting articles written from other people.

By Roland S

Sep 22, 2021

Maybe my expectation was not inline with the "theory". It is hard to summarize what a student can take with him/her from this course. Every component of digital marketing was described in a very general way. The material was not coherent for me as it based on several external sources which was cited correctly.

By Susan K

Sep 10, 2020

This class was very disorganized. It was a list of terms and services with no real content tying them together. The book was just as disorganized. I got a bit out of the information about ZMOT and the McKinsey model, but the rest seemed like rambling.

By José R H P

Mar 11, 2019

It was a step back after the excellent Marketing in a Digital World. It felt slower and a lot of thing presented her are your standard “Digital Marketing Tips” you could find in any blog.

By Mayara

Feb 13, 2017

Material is outdated and course assignments failed to challenge thinking and encourage critical engagement with the content provided.

By Sanika J

Apr 27, 2020

Course material is very outdated. Very little practical application in terms of tools usage.

By Sepehr M B

Mar 24, 2020

I can't believe I'm listening to content that has a reference in 2004!

it is 2020 and I fell for this course; such a waste of time.

there is some points to be taken from this course but not for professionals; maybe for juniors in college.

By Luis A F L

Mar 17, 2016

Hated the course and the content. I truly regret investing my money on this course.

By Arpit J

Oct 16, 2017

Not very useful course

By Marcelo A

Oct 2, 2017

This course has helped my a lot with insights about the Data collection and analysis. How the data is a sensitive information that has to be worked so there would be no mistakes in using it and no bias in the analysis. The courses also explained very technically the cicles of a consumer in pondering which product/service to choose and how can the marketers work on each stage to induce the consumer to buy their product.

We also studied subjects behind the gathering of data, such as the privacy matter and how fair should it be done so there is benefits for both the company and the consumers.

It was a very good course with very new content to me. I'm enjoying this specialization and learning a lot of new things.

Thanks coursera and University of Illinois for this opportunity.

By Afrina J

Nov 1, 2021

I really love this course! I don't really have much knowledge about digital marketing and this is my 2nd course in this specialization course which really helps me to understand more about digital marketing. As we know when people talk about digital marketing, they always talk about Google Analytics, Content Creation and Social Media Marketing but this course is just something else. It teaches you the in-depth of digital marketing and it is something that I am so into. Due to my busy working life, it took me weeks to complete this course but I am glad that I passed this course and most importantly, finished this course. Thank you for the support and the effort in creating this course! Thank you so much!

By shannon h

Oct 24, 2020

This course was packed full of useful information. I would love to work with this instructor on a data analytics team! He is obviously brilliant and enthusiastic about data analytics.

My only challenge with this course was following the lecture - it seemed very ad-lib which made it a challenge to take cohesive notes to efficiently describe the content. I have created video lectures such as these for other educators and find it is best to just offer a theory with supporting bullet points then finish up each section/ lesson with an anecdote or example.

In any event - I have saved all of the module notes for future reference and found the content to be right in line with what I was looking for.

By Zainab A

Aug 15, 2016

Highly recommend. A clear, practical and well presented overview of the digital marketing field, with an emphasis on the equal playing field: Kevin makes an effort to provide free resources and tools so that any marketer may use the power of digital analytics unhampered by resource limitations. Which is a good thing because marketers often work with budget constraints. Convincing companies to invest more in marketing, which can be a long term strategy, may not always be easy.

The course covers basic concepts, ethics, history as well as practical methods. A very useful addition to my marketing knowledge base, and toolbox.

By Castor T

Apr 10, 2022

Another great digital marketing course from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign offered through Coursera. There are so many great things about this course, and I love the idea that it talks about theory and framework, too, in discussing #digitalamarketing as it is today. What I particularly like is Week 3 where brand measurement, consumer outcomes, and customer value are discussed. I also love the idea of consumer decision journey, and it has given me another perspective on how consumers move from awareness to loyalty. Again, great course and thanks, Coursera and University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign!

By Norma C P P

Jan 26, 2017

Excelente curso, tengo una gran vision con esta especializacion es una de las carreras del futuro y realmente me esta gustando cada vez mas, pienso que no es tan facil medir y conseguir una data confiable para analizar y conocer los gustos y necesidades de los consumidores, adicionalmente en este curso y en general, la especializacion requiere de gente con alta creatividad para hacer la diferencia en un mundo online tan globalizado y tan cambiante. Felicidades por esta campana de cursos de gran impacto e interes mundial. Felicidades a Kevin Hartman por tan valiosa informacion :)

By Ender P

Nov 8, 2016

For a person that did not know much about analytics, this course represents the doorway to a good understanding of web metrics, how to identify the proper ones depending on each organization as well as how to study the behavior and processes that meet consumers and needs with goods and services in an assertive and effective way. I think the experience becomes better if the learner can count on a website to apply the new knowledge to gain the skills. The course should have some study cases to see the interpretation of metrics the best!

By Ria C V M

Apr 12, 2020

Thanks for sharing the knowledge about digital marketing analytic theory this course I really enjoyed learning: zero moment of truth and other 3 step marketing model. The analyst that have tons of informations regarding online marketing.The data tools. The CDJ- consumer decision journey. The digital channel and the marketing retargeting technique. In this course a lot of ideas, information that i learn as a beginner like me. Thanks to this online course program it's just a wonderful to gain new knowledge.

By Reynaldo V

Mar 20, 2016

Although I've been "doing" web analytics for more than a decade, I still found this course incredibly informative and educational. While all marketers are familiar with the traditional sales funnel, the review of the customer decision journey (CDJ) and the introduction of the ZMOT stage was an eye-opening experience. he instructor was very knowledgeable about analytics. And I look forward to starting the next course in the digital marketing specialization track. T