Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
2,734 ratings
704 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DP

Jun 16, 2020

It was a very good short course. Was very useful and informative. The videos were very creatively made. The shorter duration of each videos was an added plus to get the solid attention of the viewers

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 697 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Satish G J

Apr 05, 2020

Very good course to understand the basics of material science. Good for all engineering specializations.

By JOHN Q

Dec 20, 2015

What a wonderful course and wonderful review of stuff I hadn't reflected upon in years. Thanks so much

By Yogesh D

Jun 26, 2020

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE CONTENTS. SIR JAMES ARE HAVING GOOD KNOWLEDGE OF MATERIALS. I SALUTE HIS EXPERIENCE.

By B V S

Apr 01, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken. Explanation of minute details in a very crisp and elegant fashion

By Kristīne I

May 19, 2019

Very good description of study. More practical lecture. In another study course it is more theoretical.

By Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

By Prakash S

May 22, 2020

Such a great experience and I have learned new concepts for material testing. Thank you very much, sir

By Ernest R G

Mar 23, 2019

Very good course with lots of information well presented with practical examples in relevant contexts.

By Erin M

Sep 15, 2017

This is a good refresher of mechanics of materials, but goes into the atomic level and semiconductors.

By Pravin D

May 22, 2019

Great oppotunity to learn many thing at ease. Thank you very much for providing such a great platform

By HANUMAN G

Oct 12, 2016

its real express of materials properties and structure leads to properties and atoms structure etc...

By Prateek M

Jun 26, 2020

It was great platform even the professor thought me really well

i am throughly delighted

thanks a lot

By Harish

Mar 29, 2020

The course was brilliant and gives very crucial and deep information about materials properties etc.

By Sathyanarayanan J

Feb 23, 2019

It is a good course which provides a lot of knowledge.but i cant get my certificate after completion

By Souryadeep B

Jan 31, 2019

Very useful course: can be finished in a short duration and gives valuable ready to use information.

By MIDHUN K

Jul 02, 2020

great course ...every mechanical,automobile,aerospace and material scirnce engineer should do this

By Cody H

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent refresher course that allowed me to re-learn essential technical knowledge for my career

By BO-JUN C

Sep 15, 2019

It is a useful course for everyone to engage in materials science, logically showing each detail.

By Debaditya D

Jul 07, 2020

This course is very much helpful. The way the instructor explained everything is really awesome.

By JOSE D M

Jun 02, 2020

very good things about my carrer, i am an metallurgical engenieer, some concepts i learn to well

By vijayakumar s

May 16, 2020

Excellent teaching of various structures of metals,& phase diagrams of iron-iron carbon diagram

By Ganeshraj

Dec 23, 2018

Excellent course to brush your basics. Thank you so much sir for making it simple and efficient.

By Mustafa A

Sep 15, 2016

Excellent,all important properties of materials like tensile,modulus etc are perfectly explained

By Fazal e W

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you coursera platforms its give me a great knowledge and get a most important certificate

By Guillermo G T

Oct 22, 2016

Excelent content! Definitely a good explanation to refresh old concepts about material science.