Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,523 ratings
871 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 859 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By SAWANT R

Jun 26, 2020

It was a wonderful experience while learning this course..I enjoyed it and learned a lot from this course.thank you sir!

By Werner B

Apr 15, 2018

Good course with very useful content, definitely useful to help enrich development and problem solving programs at work.

By M R B

Jul 30, 2020

Very interesting course about basic stuff but always important to keep in mind. Dr Shackelford is a very good teacher!

By Santiago M P

May 7, 2020

Very powerfull course that remember us important phenomena, properties and performance of our everyday as an engineers

By Mahmoud S K

Mar 29, 2018

I think it will be better if you get deep in the content

but the course is very good and the instructor is very simple

By Alaz T

Oct 10, 2016

This is a course that made the topics clear and foundations of materials clear! I strongly recommend it for engineers.

By Mohit J

Dec 20, 2020

Course is very basic and easy to understand. The explanation of every topic is very uncomplicated and understandable.

By Ragunath

Jul 10, 2020

Good experience and fresh up our knowledge and get correction by video learning and finally checked by things 1 to 10

By Shah I

Jun 23, 2020

it it great opportunity to all students of sciences such as physics Engineering . good step for students in COVID_19

By Dan B

Oct 5, 2020

Very nice introduction in Materials science! Explained in a friendly way! Congratulations to Prof.

James Shackelfor!

By Chandana C B R

Jun 9, 2020

the corse was great gave a brush on tthe basic concepts and really helped in understanding the complex topics easily

By Shiddhartha R

May 22, 2020

Really well explained and gave a lot of clarity in concept. Really appreciate the mentor, Prof.James Shackelford sir

By Salonee K

Jul 26, 2020

Absolutely captivating teaching methods and great to see so many practical examples and experiments being included.

By bala k g

May 6, 2020

This course is good for learning some basic and insights into he subject. The way Professor explained is excellent.

By Juan S W B

May 2, 2020

I think the course was great. It met my initial objectives and helped me clarify some concepts of materials science

By Kodali B T

Apr 18, 2020

This course helped me a lot. This session is very enthusiastic and I learned many new concepts through this course.

By PRAKASH B

Jul 1, 2020

This course is amazing. content is very compendium and contain almost all essential aspect of material that i need

By Mallika J

May 26, 2020

Thank you for the course and the details shared which is very useful to understand the behavior of the material .

By Firas C

Jul 13, 2019

Very Good summary of Material science , instructive and very coherent with a great way of delivering information.

By devesh K P

Jul 3, 2020

i would like to thank coursera and UC Davis extension for providing this much important and interesting course.

By Umair M

Mar 14, 2020

Very good explaination & presentation by the Professor. Concise course but very fruitful.

Thanks!

Umair Mohiuddin

By Preetish C D

Dec 12, 2016

Covers all the important topics a materials engineer should know. Good course to refresh your materials basics.

By Mitul B B

Jun 3, 2020

Very good containt... All students who are interested to this topic pls learn yhis course best opportunity...

By Пимкин Н А

Apr 4, 2020

Очень интересный курс, однако понять объясняемые темы без предварительного их изучения будет довольно сложно.

By Rishikesh G R

Jun 23, 2017

Great course as an introduction to the subject and while revising as it goes though all the important points.