Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,523 ratings
871 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 858 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Akshay P S

Jul 9, 2020

good

By Rangasamy K

Jun 6, 2020

Nice

By Mayank P

Jun 2, 2020

good

By Kamakhya P M

Dec 14, 2017

good

By rakesh k

Jun 12, 2017

good

By Arivazhagan S

May 4, 2019

nil

By Parth S

May 26, 2020

N

By Rajiv K

May 10, 2020

.

By Sajib K N

Sep 7, 2020

This course will help to know the stress, strain,ductility,fatigue, semiconductor and any other topic. Also help to know the eutectic and eutectoid point.That will be help me go ahead in the engineering sector. My teacher also be great.The system of teaching process also interesting.

By Bryan H

Dec 19, 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

By Samet G

Nov 27, 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

By Jis N G

Jul 23, 2020

Lectures by Prof.Shackelford is not very clear as it lacks details but his book is excellent.Places where he takes the lectures is also very good-just the right place that has applications of the subject.

By Bhaumik U P

Dec 12, 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

By Padraig C

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

By Ramesh K

Apr 22, 2020

content is good but more number of experiments need to be added to understand the concepts clearly.

By Istiak U S

Jul 3, 2020

Poorly designed course. But has some great information with a good explanation.

By muhamed m e

Jan 29, 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

By Anthony E S

Nov 19, 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

By Arup K D

Apr 22, 2020

Poorly Designed course. Not much information to understand.

By Frankie L

Oct 7, 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

By Kishor D S

Mar 22, 2019

Though good but less content.

By Chinmay J

Sep 20, 2019

Basic introductory course

By RAJAT S

Jun 20, 2020

Please add more content.

By Marcin G

Aug 15, 2017

It was OK, I guess...

By Rushikesh K J

May 27, 2020

Nice coures