Chevron Left
Back to Mechanics of Materials IV: Deflections, Buckling, Combined Loading & Failure Theories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mechanics of Materials IV: Deflections, Buckling, Combined Loading & Failure Theories by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
544 ratings
112 reviews

About the Course

This course explores the analysis and design of engineering structures considering factors of deflection, buckling, combined loading, & failure theories ------------------------------------------------- The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

JS

Jul 10, 2020

Very interesting topics are discussed here.It is very use full in understanding the load conditions of materials and failure phenomena. Thanks a lots for giving us this great opportunity....

KD

May 01, 2019

very useful course........Include strain energy concepts and deflection of beams using castiglianos theorem. it will be useful for undergraduate indian students like us ... thank you

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 114 Reviews for Mechanics of Materials IV: Deflections, Buckling, Combined Loading & Failure Theories

By Muhammad T F

Mar 25, 2019

Column Buckling, Combined Loading, & Failure Theories very interesting and every mechanical engineer should learn these important topics

By Umair A S

Mar 29, 2018

An excellent series of course to build very strong foundations in mechanics of materials. Hats off to Dr. Whiteman;an amazing teacher.

By Anvesh K

Apr 19, 2020

The course is fantastic as expected from Professor Dr Whiteman, This part contains bit of more calculus, and good that the modules can be repeated by playing the video again for more clear understanding. i have taken the other courses made be professor, they give crystal clear explanation of the concept. Thanks to Professor.

Professor, we are waiting for the next set of courses from your colleague in Machine Design, looking forward for those courses too.

By Mario R B d l P

Mar 27, 2017

Excellent Course! It would be awesome to have more advanced topics covered in future courses if it's ever in your plans. i.e. Lateral Torsional Buckling, Strain Energy, Fatigue, Composite Material Failure Theories, Anisotropic Materials, Local stresses due to bolts, bolt groups, etc. You are the man!

By Ethan R

Oct 09, 2016

Clearly explained, easy to follow and generally interesting. I didn't do any of the precursor courses, more to do this as a refresher on structural mechanics. I thought this was well presented, I appreciated the use of real world examples and I liked the teaching style.

By Pradnya R T

May 04, 2020

This course helped me understand the different loading and their effects on the structure. what are the loading condition to be applied in design consideration for the safety of the structure. Instructor has taught very nicely. Grateful that I completed this course.

By Krishnaraja G K

Apr 25, 2020

Real application problems solved by the Course instructor is very useful. Awesome teaching.

Concepts are made clear. One has to practice and is very much useful, especially when doing Capstone project for the undergraduate students.

By Matthew R

Apr 20, 2017

The Mechanics of Materials course series is a must for any engineer. The material is presented in a logical and straight forward manner with applications to the real world. Dr. Whiteman is truly a a great teaching Professor!

By Muhammad U

Jun 13, 2020

I like the way this entire series of MoM is presented. I have learned a whole lot of things. Now I can imagine the load's, stresses but the amazing part is that now I have tools to get accurate values too.

By Mohammad M A

Mar 25, 2017

First of all a very very big thanks for providing such a great course with the great professor, really he way of teaching is great and I can easily understand all the module.

The course really good.

By JISHNA K S

Jul 10, 2020

Very interesting topics are discussed here.It is very use full in understanding the load conditions of materials and failure phenomena. Thanks a lots for giving us this great opportunity....

By Kuladeep D

May 01, 2019

very useful course........Include strain energy concepts and deflection of beams using castiglianos theorem. it will be useful for undergraduate indian students like us ... thank you

By Paolo B

Apr 25, 2020

I enrolled just to understand about buckling. The explanation is extremely clear and gives you also guidelines for application in real world cases. Completely satisfied!

By Varun T

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent. This is the first course I have completed fully. The way of teaching is perfect with real world problems taken are great perspective to understand the course.

By Antonio C

Oct 28, 2019

After taking a long hiatus from this field (almost ten years!), these courses really helped me brush up on my past studies at university. Thanks Dr. Whiteman!

By Lakshmi s

Jul 14, 2020

Though the topics were difficult..the explanation was really good to understand the topics.

I learned something new that I couldn't before

By Khalid Z A

May 17, 2020

Thanks, professor I have cleared many of my doubts happy teaching, I wish your well-being .i hope to see more courses from you soon <3

By irtiza z

May 21, 2016

just viewed and downloaded and gone through all lectures......one word.....great awesome teaching thanks will remember you in prayers

By Carlos R P A

Sep 06, 2016

Este es el ultimo curso, de una serie de cuatro. Todos fueron excelentes, los recomiendo a cualquier estudiante de ingeniería.

By HITENKUMAR K

Apr 24, 2020

GREAT COURSE FOR THOSE WHO WANTS TO LEARN MECHANICS OF MATERIAL AS ALL TECHNICAL CONCEPT WAS PROVIDED IN THIS COURSE.

By Milan M

Aug 29, 2019

This course is very useful for engineering professionals who may tackle this failure modes in industrial applications

By Mukesh C

May 24, 2020

it is really excellence Conceptual all module. I learn lot of thing from this online training. Thanking you

By Dr P K K R

May 14, 2020

It is good subject that i have made to think and gather the fundamentals of the subject again after long time

By Максим Г

Feb 23, 2017

Хороший курс. Доступно объясняется. Единственная проблема была с имперскими единицами измерения.

By V N V R

May 05, 2020

Am very glad to participate in the coursera course and am looking forward for more courses