Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,738 ratings
3,914 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 3,898 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Ahmed I

Sep 4, 2020

I just cannot describe the usefulness of this course. Although, it is called ''Introduction to programing with MatLab", it takes you from zero to hero literally. At the end of this course, there are three challenging real-life problems; solving these problems gives you the impression that you can do something with the knowledge you earned. Thank you VANDERBILT

By Rutvik J

Jun 4, 2020

It was an amazing experience. I have learnt a lot about programming of MATLAB from this course. I am very much happy with the course content created by Akos Ledeczi and I just love the technique of teaching of the Instructor Mike Fitzpatrick. I hope to work with you people someday and I am very much grateful to both of you and your entire team for this course.

By Mohammadreza N

Aug 19, 2019

I think professor fitzpatrick is one of the best professor in the world. All the section was very easy to learn and they was so helpful for me. All the sections were full of informative points. I think the class was so funny with the jokes that were said. At the last, I miss this lesson and this professor so much and I'm sad that it's over. Wish you the best.

By Sagarvivek K

Jul 1, 2020

Firstly I should thank prof. Mike Fitzpatrick because the way he explains made me listen to his lectures he is very student-friendly & a little humor in the class which makes me more interesting and the content was very good.

Finally thank you Akos Ledeczi, Vanderbilt University for providing this course in a good manner I mean the video & background effects

By shiv s

May 7, 2020

Completely worth to take this course if you are a beginner in programming language or if you want to build a career in MATLAB programming.

Every small aspect is explained so precisely , hence at the end of this course you will feel enough confident.

Thank you to the whole team of this course , especially to Mike Fitzpatrick sir,, I wish to meet you soon sir .

By Kwok N T

Jun 2, 2017

This is a good introduction to MATLAB programming. The lecture is clear and I believe that it is suitable for anyone who is interested, even for those without programming background. The tutorials are easy at the start but it gets so much more difficult towards the end. Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in MATLAB programming.

By kevin r

May 16, 2021

Excelente desarrollo virtual y evaluaciones con el nivel necesario para pasar cada materia enseñada en el curso; además, gran flexibilidad para personas que pueden desarrollar las clases en cualquier momento del día por motivos de trabajo o estudios, ambos en mi caso, que finalmente permitió completar el curso en un plan de 7 semanas de las 9 que requiere.

By Samarth a

Jun 15, 2020

I am enjoying the course literally and the way it has been taught by the lead instructor is extremely good, His way of teaching will never get you bored during the lectures.

I request to the course organizers and instructors to come-up with the advance version of this course with same instructors.

Thank you Coursera for giving such a wonderful experience.

By Paul O

Jan 1, 2020

This course deserves 5 stars because the teacher is very thorough. He and his team really put a lot of work into creating an excellent course for beginners. I found it tedious in places because I came to the course with a lot of previous programming experience. This course covers basic programming and MATLAB. I did learn what I need to learn about MATLAB.

By Hermes J D R P

Jun 23, 2019

This course will give you a lot of tools and insights to handle many programming problems using MATLAB. Its content is really interesting and of high quality, despite being just an introductory course. Professor Fitzpatrick is really funny in each lesson and assignments led you to do your best. Thanks a lot to the instructors and Vanderbilt University.

By VAIBHAV V P

Oct 10, 2020

Really impressed by the content and method of teaching. although it's a beginner level course, it gives a better understanding and much knowledge about MATLAB. more importantly, this course helps to get rid of the fear of programming. Matlab is truly a user-friendly programming language and very helpful to solve many complex mathematical stuffs easily.

By Sarthak C

Jun 29, 2020

This course is one of the best programming courses out there on MATLAB programming, and also one of the best courses for someone who is new to programming. I highly recommend people who are looking for courses to start programming or to people who are looking for courses on MATLAB as this course provides a great overview on the concepts of programming.

By Anik M

May 31, 2020

This certification course was awesome and i want to state that by solving the problem statement i really learnt and enjoyed a lot . thank you for organizing such course and approving my financial aid . Hereby , i will try to enhance my coding skill on this language , also i am grateful yo coursera for giving the course for free with such rich content .

By Joseph A A

Jan 2, 2020

I couldn't have enjoyed this course more. The lessons were very well done and the information was presented in a manner that makes it easy to retain. The programming assignments gradually became more and more difficult, but I felt that they really helped me learn MATLAB and gave me a solid programming foundation. Awesome course and highly recommend!

By Jozsef F

Aug 12, 2016

An excellent course with easy-to-follow, very logically built up and useful topics. The presentation style of Professor Fitzpatrick is amazing, he makes even complex things clear and easy to understand, and he makes sure the audience does not get bored at all. If you need to get a solid base in programming and/or using MATLAB you MUST take this course.

By Dennis Q

Jun 17, 2019

Es un curso muy bien diseñado para que el estudiante aprenda y a su vez se divierta con las asignaciones. Es increíble la facilidad con la que se explican los temas, incluso sin tener nociones de programación se puede comprender los temas muy bien. Disfrute cada asignación y aunque algunas fueron un tanto desafiantes fue una experiencia muy agradable.

By Mehul K

Jul 4, 2020

I find this course very informative and useful for the person who is new to MATLAB programming. The course has helped me build the basics for MATLAB programming. The course is well designed and beautifully explained by prof. Mike Fitzpatrick and prof. Akos Ledeczi. I am grateful to the professors and Vananderbilt University for providing the course.

By Nagaraju

Jun 23, 2020

Thank you very much, Mike, I thoroughly enjoyed your class. I really appreciate your patience and clear explanation of each and every detail of the MATLAB code. I could able to follow your outstanding teaching and hopefully, I will utilize this experience in solving practical problems that I am going to work on.

Thanks again!!

Sincerely, Nagaraju Dande

By Andrew M

Dec 3, 2019

Unbelievable course. The lectures, ebook, homework, and help/feedback in the forum make this an elite learning experience. The course assumes little or no knowledge of programming, and only basic math concepts. I'm so grateful to the instructors who made this course, as it is given me the foundation necessary to take the next steps into data science.

By Pok F C

Jul 10, 2017

Clear Explanation. Good for people without programming background. But MATLAB has very different syntax in some cases from other popular languages. (eg. array index starts from 1 but not 0) These are quite annoying. That's not the problem of the instructor of course. The instructor gives very good lectures! The homework problems are also interesting!

By Kenneth M

Jun 8, 2021

Very good course. Instructor and materials are well connected. Provided sufficient challenges to keep it interesting. mean2 from Signal Processing is not usable in this course but was presented in the help search. But a little deeper dig allowed me to find the same solution in MATLAB proper.

I really enjoyed it and plan to continue in the sequence.

By Ahmad M

Apr 12, 2021

It is a really great course which is clear, concise and has a lot of good vibes. I loved the professor very much; he is quite funny and he has a great way of teaching. The only thing I didn't like about the course is the final 3 SUPER-difficult assignments. Actually, I couldn't solve them without help. Other than that, this course deserves 5 stars!

By Fernando Z A

Jan 27, 2021

Not only does this course focuses on introduction to programming, but not focusing on it entirely. Other courses centers on topics, such as control structure, programming paradigms, etc., but one can loose track of that if cannot see the big picture. It also teaches concepts about math.

Projects are challengingand involve real world.

Teacher is fun.

By Rafsan Z

Jun 10, 2020

I think this is a very good introduction to MATLAB. The course was a bit too slow-paced for me, but I think that's totally fine. The assignments were also challenging. Just the last assignment should be reconsidered as, without any knowledge of audio signal, it's pretty hard to even find where to start. But overall this course was very informative.

By Undine S

Apr 5, 2019

This course was quite helpful to renew my knowledge on MATLAB and even learn new skills. It forces you to be creative, stick to practical thinking and elegant solutions rather than to lose yourself in endless lengthy loops. I find it very important to be concise when handling matrices, especially large data arrays, so this came in very handy to me.