Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,196 ratings
1,044 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,016 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By florian e

Jan 25, 2017

Fantastic classe, perfect introduction to Matlab and mainly based on practice problems rather than endless lectures.

By Veekshit U A

Jun 26, 2018

A well detailed course which starts from simple basics to complex calculations.

By Caleb A

May 08, 2018

As a physics/math major transitioning into mechanical engineering for my graduate degree, I enrolled in this course to refresh and refine my programming skills as well as to aid improve my MATLAB-specific skills. I had been briefly exposed to MATLAB, and had also taken some introductory courses in Python, R, and FORTRAN, but I expected to learn from this course. And it did not disappoint!

The course is well designed with an emphasis on general programming through the use of MATLAB as an interface. I believe MATLAB is probably one of the better intro programming languages to learn because its syntax is comparatively intuitive and simple for beginners compared to other languages such as FORTRAN and C/C++/C#. The primary lecturer in the course video instruction is Dr. Fitzpatrick, an adjunct professor of electrical/computer engineering who demonstrates expert level proficiency in both presenting and explaining the material. He is also, dare I say, quite a charming and witty gentleman who gave a refreshing and engaging presentation of material that may otherwise have seemed monotonous. I highly recommend the complementary course e-text, which is filled with more in-depth explanations of more advanced topics, more worked-through problems, and more practice problems with solutions. It's only $10, and it will be a great reference guide.

I will mention that the course demands a significant amount of time, especially towards the end where problems become much more complex. Even having some background in programming, it still took me much longer than the suggested homework time to work through the last several assignments. I also would have preferred the course to have a more detailed explanation of some of the aspects of MATLAB that make it stand out as a programming language, such as its plotting. I suppose much of that is included in the extensive documentation, though, and the course is designed to provide beginner programmers with the basic tools at their disposal to code. I would look forward to a more advanced sequel course that would provide further details on solving more complex problems, especially in the physical sciences, as well as outlining how some of the numerical methods of problem solving are implemented in MATLAB.

By Sami E A

Mar 17, 2017

Really good course. If you complete all the problems by yourself and really push to get 100% in all assignments you will surely gain the skills to program in matlab. I started the course with little to no programming experience with matlab and this course really did it for me.

By Mithil V

Mar 30, 2017

Great!!!

By Roberto R S

Jul 03, 2017

The professors are very prepared and its a very useful course.

By Pirasath R

Aug 22, 2017

Well structured, step-by-step instruction, enjoyable

By Naman G

Aug 07, 2017

Really loved this course, definately perfect for beginners in programming.

By Xiaoxuan L

Aug 11, 2017

perfect

By Tian L

Aug 16, 2017

Very interesting course and very clear instruction

By satyam d

Sep 27, 2017

this is really a best source for learning MATLAB...

hatts off you guys...

By Yogesh G

Feb 26, 2018

nice lecture and explanations. very much useful. thanks

By Er K G

Dec 17, 2017

Amazingly designed course, specially for beginners who want to learn MATLAB programming.

By James D

Feb 27, 2018

Great course. Videos explain the concepts well and the homework assignments help with understanding.

By Massimo M

Dec 12, 2017

Thank you for this great introduction to Matlab. Lessons are clear and effective. It was a chance for me to revise basic programming by learning a new language. I also had fun solving some homework! I would appreciate it very much if you could add some advanced topics.

By ravibaladha@gmai.com

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent teaching Faculty....

By marita

Jan 21, 2018

Pretty nice and helpful course for people with no experience in MATLAB, maybe also for people with no experience in programming at all.

By batta s

Dec 13, 2017

concept explaining is perfect.

but more problem discussions would be better.

By Aikaterini Z

Aug 26, 2017

Great course! Teaches the basics of Matlab and helps you to understand how to work with it. Thank you.

By Bowei Y

Nov 22, 2017

The tutorial is very clear and the style of the pro's teaching is special. It helped me to create a structure about MATLAB from general to detailed. I really enjoy this course .

By Adrian C

Feb 09, 2018

Exceptional beginner course..

By Aqib A

Jun 26, 2018

This was really a great course which helped me practice my previous knowledge about matlab.

By Furkan B

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliantly explained. The exercise questions are complex and makes you think about a problem inside out. If you have no prior experience this course is just for you.

By Mazen T

Jan 08, 2018

Wonderful Course, I enjoyed the lectures tremendously. The homework problems were very useful and challenging and some of them took hours to program. The gratification of getting “Your solution is correct.” on the screen after working for hours is just immense. It is clear to me that a lot of time and effort have been invested in this course over the years. The course is a very valuable resource on programming and MATLAB. Now that I am done, I will miss the lectures: from the introductory music to the closing credits. But, most of all, I will miss the lecturer himself, a true teacher.

By Velon L S

Jun 23, 2018

very nice teaching. superb. i personally recommend this for anyone who wants to learn MATLAB.