Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,207 ratings
1,046 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,018 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By AKASH K

Feb 02, 2019

Love the way of teaching and enjoyed solving assignments

By Derya K

Feb 02, 2019

this course is really helpfull.

thank you so much.

By Pratik M

Feb 03, 2019

Wonderful Course. Thank You for such a specified course on MATLAB. Instructor Sir is Cool.

By Samir R

Feb 03, 2019

Great course to learn Matlab. Highly recommend!

By Eluru U A

Apr 03, 2019

The course has been presented beautifully and in such an easy manner. It takes no time to understand and implement the intricacies of programming. Great stuff guys.

By Lennart B

Apr 02, 2019

For me this was an excellent start using Matlab. The content was presented very concise and clear. The grading system is very nice and the homework assignments did match the increasing knowledge. Overall I really enjoyed this course and would therefor rate it excellent! Thanks to everyone how helped making this course possible.

If I could state what I missed: I know this course is meant to be an introduction but a few more real application examples would have been nice.

By Aravind K M

Apr 02, 2019

Brainstorming assignments which tease your brain accompanied with detailed explanation by Mike sir and his humorous teaching method which never makes us exhausted or sleepy in his lecture. There is a clear transition seen in me after I completed this course compared to that before I joined this course.

Farewell!!!

By Undine S

Apr 05, 2019

This course was quite helpful to renew my knowledge on MATLAB and even learn new skills. It forces you to be creative, stick to practical thinking and elegant solutions rather than to lose yourself in endless lengthy loops. I find it very important to be concise when handling matrices, especially large data arrays, so this came in very handy to me.

By Rashmi M

Apr 07, 2019

This was an absolutely amazing course which teaches the fundamentals well enough for us to build on and learn more. The method of teaching of the professor was very engaging. Thank you for putting up this course. Worth the money for the certificate.

By 黄鹤翔

Apr 08, 2019

it helps me fall in love with matlab.

By benjamin h

Apr 11, 2019

Really clear instruction with assignments that are appropriately challenging. The staff are active in the discussion forums and the text is also very helpful. Really and excellent introduction to MATLAB and programming (I have no previous experience).

By Shishkina A A

Apr 01, 2019

The excellent course about MATLAB programming!

By Louise C J

Mar 13, 2019

Mike is very detailed in his discussions and examples during his lectures. The occasional humor that he injects during his lectures makes the subject matter less boring (sorry for the lack of a better word) to listen to. This course definitely laid down the necessary foundation that I need to learn to get me up and running with using Matlab.

By Yi C

Mar 12, 2019

Nice and Neat!

By Jorge O

Mar 17, 2019

Very good the course

By Aditya K

Mar 17, 2019

This course is made for those who want to start from scratch. Course instructor is knowledgeable and teaching quality is very smooth.

By Shivendra K S

Mar 18, 2019

Thank You Coursera for helping out a student like me.This course has enough material to get you started and the assignments given are really fruitful in understanding the concepts taught well.

I would personally recommend this course to any one who wants to start with Matlab as this course delivers enough to start.

By Nandakumar L

Dec 22, 2018

Great starting point to MATLAB programming...

By 殷维杰

Dec 21, 2018

nice course and nice Teacher Assistant and Professor!

By Zejd I

Nov 24, 2018

Best MATLAB course on the internet

By Wang Z

Dec 23, 2018

Really like this course.

By GAUTAM M

Dec 24, 2018

Awesome course on MATLAB!

By Shridhar B

Dec 24, 2018

For everyone

By Julián L

Feb 04, 2019

Me pareció un curso excelente, muy bien explicado y con ejercicios retadores.

By Богомолов Д Е

Feb 03, 2019

The course is really very good for beginners. If I had met such a course many years ago, I would have been a programmer a long time ago. After performing various tasks, I learned a lot. Thank you Vanderbilt University, thanks lecturer Mike Fitzpatrick, thanks to all the other teachers and assistants. You do a very useful and good business for the community of novice programmers, scientists and engineers.