Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,211 ratings
1,047 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,019 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Chongkun Z

Nov 19, 2018

Some assignments are much too difficult. It takes me more than 6 hours to finish the assignments each week. The rest are perfect!

By Yicheng Y

Jul 13, 2017

Great course! Interesting assignments!

By B V S

Sep 01, 2017

They made this matlab look easy.

By anjaneyulu_jalleda@yahoo.co.in

Sep 11, 2017

This is nice for different problems to do programming

By Danmei W

Aug 25, 2017

excellent! I've learned a lot from it. Although the test is a little difficult.

By AMOL A J

Nov 26, 2017

This course surely going to add required skill sets and going to encourage programming and multitasking skills in solving problems.

By Amit k

Feb 21, 2018

Mike Fitzpatrick taught me to code. I wish i could thank him personally.

Excellently prepared course.

By Yuan L

Oct 22, 2017

Very detailed!

By Marcos R V M

Oct 09, 2017

Outstanding!!! Before doing this course, I already have been using Matlab... After concluding it, many gaps were filled! I do recommend this course! The teacher is excellent!

By Andrei R

Jan 06, 2018

very good one

By Ephraim R

Dec 11, 2017

Absolutely great course.

He has a really good sense of humour and explains everything in a neat and understandable way.

His style of teaching is very impressive. Though sometimes I have to watch it on x1.25 speed, the slides and code examples help with revision.

One tip - do the programs. Pause the video. Do what it says. Create a new program based on what you learnt.

He will be missed, I'm really sad that this course is coming to an end. I'm looking forward to other courses like this.

The exercises are well prepared too. Even if you got full marks, please check with the given solution to ensure that you follow the best programming practices.

The discussion forum has a very good mentor who helped me complete this course.

By Liu L

Oct 20, 2017

Very useful to learn Matlab programming, quantities of programming exercises help me master the Matlab.

By Nour E H

Feb 17, 2018

A Really captivating course! loving it ! thank you

By Yang Y

Dec 05, 2017

It is really an interesting course ,I have learned a lot from this course.

By Ahmed B

May 29, 2017

I loved this course, the presentation was fantastic and the assignments really challenged my programming skills. Really enjoyed it.

By Manish P

Jul 12, 2017

This course helped me to learn all the basics and the advanced topics of Matlab. Will recommed it to anyone who wishes to learn all the concepts of Matlab.

By Ruben R V T

Jun 19, 2017

Complete and incredible course

By Aniket T

Jun 13, 2017

Dr.Fitzpatrick is an exceptional instructor, and the curriculum designed for the course is amazing, for newbies like me.

By Mandeep s

May 16, 2018

Excellent course , the way of teaching , types of questions in assignment , discussion board all wwas awesome. Questions which were in assignment helped me to understand the basics concepts quite well.

By 刘翰骏

Apr 19, 2017

Thanks ,It's a very useful course.

By Tsz Y C

Sep 03, 2017

It's very good for beginner like me. The instruction teaches the course step by step which make the course very clear to rookies. Thank you very much for ppl who have involved in making this course! Highly recommended to everyone who want to start learning programming!

By Moataz A

Jul 20, 2017

Very helpful and easy, the way it was presented is absolutely magnificent.

By Jack R

Jun 14, 2017

It's easy to understand. Although I can't get the pdf file because I'm in china.

By DEEPAK Y

Jun 11, 2017

it was my first hand at programming,all was good except i found the assignment problems little bit tough,else it was all fun..

By MOHD S

Jun 29, 2018

Excellent explain every point