Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,232 ratings
1,051 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,021 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Peiyao Z

Feb 03, 2019

Good start!

By Durganshu M

Feb 04, 2019

Amazing course for beginners!!

By Md T R

Jan 20, 2019

Its one of the best interactive online courses that I have taken.And prof. Fitzpatric is awesome, by awesome I mean really AWESOME.

By Магжанов Т Р

Jan 21, 2019

Продуктивно и интересно!

By SHRERA001@myuct.ac.za

Jan 21, 2019

My favourite course on this platform. Truly engaging teaching, challenging exercises and excellent support. I very highly recommend! Thank you Coursera.

By EMMANUEL O A

Feb 04, 2019

With this topic, you will practically learn all you need to know about Matlab

By Reem N

Feb 05, 2019

Great course ! easy to understand the metreial and the software is very usefull

By 冯伟平

Feb 05, 2019

Very nice!

By Marios P

Feb 13, 2019

step by step introduction to MATLAB, the professor conveys excellently,

thank you for your time and the effort to provide this course.

By 孙少奇

Mar 11, 2019

Very nice, easy to comprehend, nice teacher and software display.

By RAHUL K

Jul 16, 2018

Love the way of teaching !!!

By Madhukar T

Jul 12, 2018

Incredible Experience! This course seemed out to be a journey with challenges in form of assignments. They test your capability to think out of the box. In addition to that, discussion forums are the best part of this course. Help provided by mentors and staff at each moment is an upper-hand.

By Floria L

Jul 13, 2018

It is really hard to open the video in China

By Ritwick S

Sep 08, 2018

Very helpful course with fantastic instructors.

By Subagya P

Sep 09, 2018

learn so much about matlab thank you

By Himanshu T

Sep 08, 2018

very much helpful

By Rohit S G

Sep 09, 2018

The course is very informative and it takes you from basics to advanced in gradual manner. The assignment problems are really good and challenging. It is a must course for those who want to use MATLAB as a tool for doing projects in various domains. I am using MATAB for mechanical engineering applications. Thank you for such a wonderful course!!!

By tejas d

Sep 10, 2018

the best course for matlab programming

By Juan M F M

Sep 21, 2018

Excelente curso. 105% recomendado

By Pavankumar B K

Sep 26, 2018

i'm happy what i'm doing. concepts are well explained and they are in detail.

By Gildo M

Sep 26, 2018

Undoubtedly, this is one of the best computer programming with Matlab course available. Congratulation to all the team behind this art .

By Shady S

Sep 12, 2018

The instructor is perfect, has a sense of humor and very patient with the basics but the course would be more perfect if its content is bigger like for example contain simulink

By GaneshSree V M K

Sep 14, 2018

I was new to programming but now i can say that i am good at programming in matlab.topics are clearly explained.i recommend guys to do this course.ofcoure assiginments gets challenging when we go on to later weeks.

By SANKET L Z

Sep 15, 2018

EXCELLENT COURSEWORK

By SHASHANK M

Sep 29, 2018

.