Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,217 ratings
1,049 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,019 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Ashish S

Jan 26, 2019

Very good course

By Hsu M N

Jan 03, 2019

Great instructor and great content! I learnt a lot from this course.

By Mohsen S

Jan 03, 2019

very useful course, thanks a lot

By Jonayet H L

Jan 29, 2019

The designated course offered by Vanderbilt University, Introduction to Programming with MATLAB is a highly interactive and indulging course that truly consolidates one's notions and concepts on the MATLAB programming language.

By Mashhood F

Jan 29, 2019

Very helpful for all disciplines of Engineering

By Swagat P

Jan 30, 2019

Its great course and you get to learn a lot about Matlab. It also improves your programming skills tremendously.

By akashram

Jan 29, 2019

learnt many new things very useful

By Ashfaque A

Feb 01, 2019

I enjoyed the whole course specially tutor who taught in very distinct and easy way.

By Yash J B

Feb 01, 2019

Awesome teaching!

By Jesús A A E

Jan 31, 2019

Thank you

By Roi A

Jan 31, 2019

Graeat course to start with MATLAB

By Faber A

Feb 02, 2019

Michael Fitzpatrick is the first teacher who really made

me interested in programming instead of being afraid of it.

By Derya K

Feb 02, 2019

this course is really helpfull.

thank you so much.

By Pratik M

Feb 03, 2019

Wonderful Course. Thank You for such a specified course on MATLAB. Instructor Sir is Cool.

By AKASH K

Feb 02, 2019

Love the way of teaching and enjoyed solving assignments

By Samir R

Feb 03, 2019

Great course to learn Matlab. Highly recommend!

By Nicholas C

Feb 01, 2019

Great overview of Matlab. Lessons were well outlined and instructor was knowledgeable and funny.

By Durganshu M

Feb 04, 2019

Amazing course for beginners!!

By Peiyao Z

Feb 03, 2019

Good start!

By Богомолов Д Е

Feb 03, 2019

The course is really very good for beginners. If I had met such a course many years ago, I would have been a programmer a long time ago. After performing various tasks, I learned a lot. Thank you Vanderbilt University, thanks lecturer Mike Fitzpatrick, thanks to all the other teachers and assistants. You do a very useful and good business for the community of novice programmers, scientists and engineers.

By Julián L

Feb 04, 2019

Me pareció un curso excelente, muy bien explicado y con ejercicios retadores.

By Reem N

Feb 05, 2019

Great course ! easy to understand the metreial and the software is very usefull

By 冯伟平

Feb 05, 2019

Very nice!

By EMMANUEL O A

Feb 04, 2019

With this topic, you will practically learn all you need to know about Matlab

By Prajwal T

Feb 06, 2019

This course is really awesome , i have never thought that i would be able to learn MATLAB. But thanks to this course I finally achieve this . This course is really essential to those who might use MATLAB in future indirectly like in machine learning . This course really helps me to solve the problems in an efficient way like solving problem through vectorization and etc.

Lastly thank you to the whole team for providing this course.