Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
12,466 ratings
3,371 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 3,326 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Syed H

Jun 2, 2020

VERY WELL EXPLAINED COURSE AND GOOD ASSIGNMENTS TO CLEAR CONCEPTS .IT IS PERFECT AND PRECISE FOR A BEGINNER.

By Manotosh H

May 30, 2020

The full course is amazing and helpful for me. The whole programme is very useful and easy to understandable.

By Sebastien L

Nov 22, 2019

Great cursus, very easy to follow, with a lot of exercises to really understand the concepts. Great material!

By jesus

Jan 17, 2017

Perfect course to learn Matlab (no matter whether new to programming or not). great for Physist and Engineers

By Chen K

Aug 12, 2016

Great Course! The teachers are very nice and patient. It is very friendly to students with little experience.

By Wojciech K

Nov 24, 2020

Great course for getting to know Matlab's syntax, but also overally for begginers to start with programming.

By Suraj G

Jun 8, 2020

Designed course was absolutely awesome! Main attraction about this course was it has sufficient assignments.

By Nishant

Jun 6, 2020

instructor was very polite and has given a lot of fruitful information for basic and enhanced understanding.

By Imtiaz A

May 16, 2020

This course was very interesting. I get the opportunity to learn something new with such an amazing teacher

By Jyotirmoy S

Mar 9, 2020

nice course, l have learned wide range of basic matlab course. thanks to coursera and vanderbilt university.

By Lenaraameswar.K

Nov 8, 2019

It has some difficult problems but it took me some time to learn this course i will come back to study again

By Jihye S S

Feb 18, 2017

It was fun! We can take the course without buying MATLAB software. The course provides web-MATLAB interface.

By Matthew T K K

Jul 10, 2020

Good start for programming and it will be easier to understand if you learn C programming first. Good Luck.

By Deep D

Jun 28, 2020

Amazing experience and deep understanding about the programming ideas. Thanks Vanderbilt and the faculties.

By SHIVANI J

Jun 18, 2020

The best ever course which contains all steps to program a computer and enter wide world of MATLAB.

Thankyou

By Ansh S

Jun 4, 2020

A nice compilation of videos and examples to go through basic of Matlab. Covers all basic aspects of Matlab

By Lalit S P

May 25, 2020

Great experience. Learn basics of matlab. I am very happy that this course complete my basics about Matlab.

By Shashwat C

May 18, 2020

The course throughout its run made me to learn more than enough, as a novice. It is great and worth doing .

By Sumit S

Nov 14, 2018

Very Good for Beginners , Levels of the question of the assignments will increase your level in programming

By Shubham S

Oct 15, 2017

Brilliant! I loved it course, all the explanations were lucid and I really enjoyed my time learning MATLAB.

By 江子飞

Jun 11, 2017

It's a great course for me to get into the MATLAB programming world and solving problems has a lot of fun.

By Carlos E M T

Apr 24, 2017

It's a great way to learn how to use Maltlab, gives you all the tips and hints to become a good programmer.

By kumar S

Sep 4, 2020

For a beginner who wants to start from scratch and go to a recognisable level, Its a very promising course

By Omar F N

Jun 15, 2020

great course to learn how to program with matlab like a pro

i wish if they had a course about simulink too

By Nitish B

Jun 11, 2020

This course is very good and anyone who doesn't have any knowledge of programming can learn these courses.