Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
12,437 ratings
3,366 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 3,323 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Eddy P

Sep 16, 2019

it is quite an enjoyable course. But to be aware that the emphasis is on "Programming", not "MATLAB".

By pankaj e

Feb 5, 2018

A very good course. The exercises given helps a lot to learn. The lectures are good and bring clarity

By Minor O B

Jul 19, 2020

Gracias por la oportunidad de poder llevar este curso y las facilidades que se me dan para el futuro

By Laxmikanth p D

Jun 21, 2020

The explanation was detailed and helped me a lot to strength hold my knowledge in Matlab programming

By Moritz L H

Jun 14, 2020

Sehr gut erklärt. Aufgaben sind so verfasst, dass man sich selbst gut kontrollieren und lernen kann.

By Mukeshkumar M B

May 16, 2020

This is perfect course for the beginners. I thank instructor for nicely explaining all the contents.

By Arjun S K

Apr 2, 2020

I prefer for adding basics about SMULINK too as it has become very useful in the mordern generation.

By Muhammad W

Nov 27, 2019

I am giving the rating but the lecture should be updated accordingly as New version comes in Market.

By Raul P

May 31, 2018

Amazing and challenging course. I accompany this course along with the ebook which was very helpful.

By James D

Feb 27, 2018

Great course. Videos explain the concepts well and the homework assignments help with understanding.

By Amit K

Feb 21, 2018

Mike Fitzpatrick taught me to code. I wish i could thank him personally.

Excellently prepared course.

By Charlie C

Dec 19, 2016

Perfict course! Very suitable for someone that is interested in programming without basic knowledge.

By Md. R

Nov 30, 2020

very informative and nice presentation. Anyone can adopt easily. Love the way instructor explained.

By SHADAB K I L S

Aug 27, 2020

It was my first course in Coursera. It definitely did not let me down. I learned much about MATLAB

By Abu M

Aug 17, 2020

as a entry level course, its good. It helps me to get out of my fear about Matlab and its features.

By Sarthak A

Jul 21, 2020

My experience was literally good......this course contains graded assignments whose level was good.

By Praveen K R

Jul 8, 2020

All the problems for assessment were so good and the instructor was so good explaining the concepts

By Oliver S

May 16, 2020

An excellent course, both in content and presentation. This is how an Online-Course should be made!

By Cian H Q

Dec 8, 2019

Great, challenging exercises throughout the course to ensure you're learning every step of the way.

By Shreyas S V M

Jul 15, 2019

Amazing content and faculty. Can't believe I was able to learn it within 9 weeks time. Thank you :)

By Anna-Lena P

Oct 19, 2018

Sehr gute Erklärungen und sehr großer Lernfortschritt. Echt jedem Einsteiger zu empfehlen, danke :)

By CHING-JUI L

Jun 9, 2017

Very useful course with great homework to practice and helpful response from teachers in the forum.

By ayush p

Jun 1, 2017

The course is awesome and provides us with good learning videos as well as challenging assignments.

By Timon S

Jul 30, 2020

A perfect course to get started with Matlab with very cool excercises to get practical experience!

By Sergio F G B

Jul 16, 2020

Muy buen curso, bien explicado y el profesor explica de manera correcta cada tema. Muy recomendado