Chevron Left
Back to Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
3,015 ratings
664 reviews

About the Course

This course explores the topic of solid objects subjected to stress and strain. The methods taught in the course are used to predict the response of engineering structures to various types of loading, and to analyze the vulnerability of these structures to various failure modes. Axial loading with be the focus in this course. ------------------------------ The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

RR
Sep 8, 2018

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

FA
Aug 28, 2020

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 661 Reviews for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

By Favour S A

Jul 8, 2020

This was very enlightening, I have been able to acquire relevant knowledge from the modules and a big thumbs up to the lecturing professor, Thank you so much for breaking down the concepts with such simplicity.

By Shobhit B

May 10, 2020

a must have course for a mech engineer. this course beneficial basic knowledge of stress and strain and question quality is also moderate not so tough and not very easy either.....overall very effective

By Haad A

Jun 7, 2020

The course access all the topic in a way about the MOM-1 in a beautiful manner. Processor has explain all the things very briefly in a effective way and enhance my concepts about the complicated things.

By Fazla Z A

Aug 29, 2020

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

By DEEPAK K M

Oct 13, 2020

Marvelous instructor, he arranged the topic in very excellent way and explained it nicely.

Most important coursera teaching method is very good. Here they write on virtual board instead of using PPT.

By Gianluca L B

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent course, it gives a powerful initiation on one of the most important topics for Mechanical Engineers. The videos are didactic and the professor makes all the concepts easy to understand.

By Sherwin R T

Jul 3, 2020

I've already learned this course when I was in college, but I was surprised about how good Dr. Whiteman's explanations are! It was like learning things a whole lot better! Thank you so much!

By Surathep N

Jul 10, 2020

Really appreciate Dr. Wayne Whiteman. His teaching method is fantastic, Clarity in Explanation and Concepts. This course is suitable for people who has moderate mathematical level.

By K S S

Apr 7, 2020

It's a wonderful platform to learn various online courses I'm utilizing my time through this Coursera.

Thanks to Coursera for providing online education with a certificate.

By YADAV N D

Jun 22, 2020

I had a pleasure in learning with georgia tech. They povided a good platform for learning through online.

thanking to the professor for spending there time for teaching .

By Pradheep K A

May 21, 2020

The coarse is very well organized and provides a better understanding of stress and strain equations.It helps us to visualise the engineering structures under load.

By Kasuntha M

Jan 31, 2021

Great course to learn about Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading. I highly recommend this course. Thank you for offering this valuable course to me.

By Ava J B

Jun 2, 2020

This is a great course for students who want to learn or review the fundamentals of Mechanics of Materials deeply and quickly. I really enjoyed the course.

By Abhishek b

Jul 21, 2020

An amazing 5 week course by prof Whiteman. Will highly recommend this course if you are looking to brush up on your basics on Mechancis of Materials.

By Kodithuwakku A P M

May 10, 2020

Very informative and easy to understand course. Highly recommended to anybody who have an interest towards the field. Very useful. Thank you Coursera

By Sweta S

Apr 30, 2020

It was too good course and the professor was so nicely explaining all the concept.I am highly satisfy with this course and Georgia Tech University.

By k a

May 3, 2020

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course.

Dr. Whiteman is outstanding and his explanation is Excellent

By Denis E K D

Oct 17, 2020

Dr. Whiteman, I think you are one of the best instructors ever. Honestly, your delivery is the best I have ever had in Mechanics of Materials.

By kamesh p

Aug 30, 2020

Mechanics of Materials this course is really wonderful methodology is very nice and excellent practical , real life problems are super sir

By Priyanshu K

May 27, 2020

This is one of the important course for civil engineering . because it is the basic or fundamental part of the loading in construction .

By Andres P G

May 25, 2020

Outstanding explanations and thorough analysis of each example and subject. Good for intermediate learners with previous related background.

By SOUTRIK B

May 4, 2020

Excellent teaching learning platform. Please make all the video and pdf lectures available in my account so that I can refer these later..

By Abdulkadir S

Jul 2, 2020

it's been an amazing experience studying these very detail not at all easy one so be prepare for the amount effort you have to put in it

By Imran S

May 28, 2020

Excellent course design by Georgia Tech and special thanks and congratulation to Dr.Wayne Whiteman for the well organised lecture series.

By Ainur T

May 17, 2020

Thank you for this course, it was very well paced and comprehensive, good for beginners as well as for revision and deeper understanding.