Chevron Left
Back to Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
741 ratings
150 reviews

About the Course

This course explores the topic of solid objects subjected to stress and strain. The methods taught in the course are used to predict the response of engineering structures to various types of loading, and to analyze the vulnerability of these structures to various failure modes. Axial loading with be the focus in this course. ------------------------------ The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

RR

Sep 09, 2018

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

DL

Jul 21, 2019

I can not afford to unlock the quizzes and assignments but I did learn and really enjoy taking this course. Thanks, for allowing us to take it on audit!.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 150 Reviews for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

By Kirti B

Jul 01, 2019

nice explanation of basics of mechanics of solids

By mahendra

Sep 08, 2019

thanks a lot

best teacher.

By Gulzar H B

Sep 08, 2019

It was excellent to clear the concepts of Fundamentals of Stress and Strain And Axial loading within linear elastic range.

By arpit k

May 27, 2019

the course material and lectures were awesome,were simple to understand.

By KUNCHALA V K

Oct 03, 2019

VERY NICE LECTURE AND EASY UNDERSTANDABLE NOTES

By Edgar A M M

Oct 06, 2019

i learn too much, thank you

By miguel a c c

Oct 14, 2019

muy buen curso, de mucha ayuda, gracias!!!!!

By Aman S

Oct 16, 2019

Excellent course and a good study material, learnt a lot

Thank you sir

By subham k g

Feb 23, 2019

Good faculty and also great arrangement of syllabus in 1 course .

I like to thank the faculty of mom who given me wonderful and very to the point knowledge in mom 1.

By abhishek v

Mar 21, 2019

good

By Nandlal D

Jan 19, 2019

Content was really excellent but some of equation are difficult to understand.

By Nikola D

Mar 21, 2016

Very good Course for learning fundamentals of mechanic of materials.

By aneek s

Jun 06, 2018

More Work problems could have been introduced . But it was a nice experience to do a course under Mr. Whiteman

By Miguel A G G

Nov 04, 2017

I think that the methodology used to this course is so good, Although, I would like have more exercises or test to practice the concepts. Other thing to say is that the pdf of each module sometimes is not complete, it would be good that you can improve these documents.

Thank you for everything :D

By Venkata S G

Feb 22, 2018

I found this course very much interesting and got refreshed my basics in brief and concise way. More practical way of explanation of the basics is fantastic.

By Joseph S F

Dec 16, 2015

there is a lot of Errors in your words and you correct it by Messages but it make a lot of destrbution for us , You are very quickly please be little slow when you speake , we need more Examples and please mention for us before the module what module we should revice in your courses or out before go ahead on it.

By Omar H

Jun 21, 2018

Great course. Well worth doing. My 5th star is reserved for brilliant courses. This is merely great.

By 陶兆君

Sep 06, 2016

very interesting

By Mirza N B

Dec 22, 2015

Very Simple... Very Interesting... Clear and simple examples...

Very good for refreshing with very basics.

By Amir K

Dec 25, 2015

This course is a very good refresher of the basics and Dr Whiteman has explained things very clearly and precisely. Moreover, If you're following the complete series of courses, you'd have grasped a good command over stress analysis. However, in the last leg of this course, I felt that couple of cases with statically indeterminate structures should have been in more detail.

I highly recommend this course to everyone looking for a refresher in "Strength of Materials". I am eagerly waiting for the next part in this series.

By CHAN W F P

Jul 24, 2017

It is a hard works non-engineering b

By Joao M A d C

Jul 18, 2019

very simple, well structured and clear to follow

By Yaswanth k R

Sep 07, 2019

I learn how to solve the problems in stresses and strains

By chittiboinaharikrishna

Sep 07, 2019

i learn about stresses and strains

By dinesh r

Feb 17, 2016

sir, could you pl. include some real time problems or natural phenomena while explaining a concept