Chevron Left
Back to Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC) by Lund University

4.6
stars
255 ratings

About the Course

Hello and welcome to this course! The NPAP - Medical Applications of Accelerators is one out of three courses in the Nordic Particle Accelerator Program (NPAP). Here you will be taken on a tour focusing on the medical applications of particle accelerators. You will see that there are two very important, but different, applications of accelerators in hospitals. The first application concerns radiotherapy of tumours and the other concerns the production of medical nuclides for diagnosis and treatment. Both will be included in this course and described through four modules. The first module offers the basic principles of radiotherapy from a medical and physics point of view. You there learn about the main components of the machines used for radiotherapy and get to know why radiotherapy is important for cancer treatments. The second module guides you through the different types of linear accelerators used in the machines for radiotherapy. It also describes the design of the treatment head. The design is important because it is the settings of the treatment head that determines the dose and the radiated region. It is also in the treatment head where the dose given to the patient is measured. In the third module you are introduced to proton therapy. In this type of therapy protons are first accelerated and then guided down to the tumour by magnets. The machines are considerably larger and more expensive than machines used for radio therapy. The module also offers a description and comparison between different types of accelerators, and explains how the protons interact with tissue. Also ions that are heavier than protons can be used in cancer therapy. This is described in the fourth module, where we also introduce you to the production of medical nuclides. You learn how the nuclides are produces in proton and ion accelerators and how the nuclides come into play at different places in hospitals. Medical nuclides are for instance used in Positron Electron Tomography, PET. Enjoy!...

Top reviews

CL

Aug 10, 2022

Thank you for giving me a chance to study the course with financial aid. The course is very beneficial and good. I wish University Lund launch many course about medical physics more.

PJ

Oct 14, 2020

Amazing course! lectures are short and sweet! this is recommended for medical engineering students, engineering, physics students, and other healthcare students!

Filter by:

51 - 70 of 70 Reviews for Medical Applications of Particle Accelerators (NPAP MOOC)

By Qutaiba K

Aug 9, 2023

thanks

By Akbar H

Oct 22, 2023

best

By MUKESH E A

Jun 2, 2022

good

By Fulvio R F A

Aug 31, 2020

cool

By NARAYANASAMY. K

Jun 16, 2020

good

By Phoebe A

Oct 13, 2020

Even though the lecturer speaks monotonously, he was still able to deliver and I have gained a deeper understanding of electron linacs . I also got to know about proton and heavy-ion radiotherapy for the first time.

By Engr n l k

Jun 28, 2020

Thanks for first, i learned from this course the structure and function of accelerator and i have also known difference kind of pronton therapy and how they are produced.

By Anthony P

May 30, 2020

Informative but the instructor was a bit monotonous. It was a bit hard to engage but I learned a lot about radiotherapy, its potential and its current flaws.

By Ricardo D G U

Feb 27, 2019

V

e

r

y

i

n

t

e

r

e

s

t

i

n

g

t

o

p

i

c

t

o

d

i

s

c

o

v

e

r

b

e

i

n

g

a

m

e

d

i

c

a

l

s

t

u

d

e

n

t

.

I

r

e

a

l

l

y

l

i

k

e

t

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

a

n

d

I

w

o

u

l

d

d

e

f

i

n

i

t

e

l

and keep interest about it

By Fahimeh R

Mar 24, 2023

Thank you for teaching and providing the opportunity of learning about radiotherapy and ion therapy.

By Alaka B G

Dec 17, 2020

Very helpful and intorductory course on heavy ion therapy.

By Rosa P

May 1, 2020

I like it because it is precise and not very extensive.

By Dr D M

Jun 11, 2020

Good

By t r

Aug 21, 2022

My judgment is that this course is very good and it provides an introduction to this fascinating topic, but it talks more about the theoretical side of accelerators. It would make your course better and more appealing if you showed us more about accelerators' practical aspects.

By Amrit B

Oct 29, 2020

The contents were good, the quizzes were decent and no disrespect to the professor who taught us, but I felt that he was very robotic and monotonous. the concepts weren't very well explained sometimes (especially in week 3) or maybe it was just hard for me.

By Soham S

Jul 14, 2020

The content is excellent and very nicely organized. The videos were great. However for a beginner level course, more explanation of equipment working would've helped greatly

By Khaled H

May 31, 2020

The lecturer was extremely bland and made it a relatively boring lecture

By Samer B

Nov 3, 2022

the speaker is really boring and hard to understand his accent.

By Francois S

May 15, 2020

It is my 3rd course with Coursera. I really enjoyed the first 2, but this one I must say I am disappointed. The oral expression of the speaker is not very good in english, there are errors in subtitles and sometimes inaccuracies in the statement.

By omid r

Mar 8, 2023

The pronunciation was really bad and there were a lot of grammatical errors in both videos and readings.