Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,541 ratings
545 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

PB

Sep 27, 2021

I used to be in a statistics career field and use some of that knowledge for this course. I absolutely feel like it's easier to spot fraud and will help me have a critical eye for so many other areas!

LT

Apr 29, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 549 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By Lara Ž

Oct 25, 2020

Excellent course! Not only is it an excellent place to start, but it is also very exhaustive without being overly overwhelming. I already recommended it to my friends and will continue to do so. Again, excellent course!

By Laras C A

May 17, 2021

I really really love this course! The professor taught me so many things I didn't know before, in a fun and interactive way of course! I hope Yale and Coursera can provide more course as good as this one in the future.

By Jacob W

Oct 25, 2020

Incredibly useful content taught by an engaging presenter who clearly has a passion for this field. Moreover, the motivation behind the course is incredibly encouraging - making important information accessible to all.

By Tonna C

Apr 12, 2021

A must-take course in this age of information and misinformation. The professor presents the material in an accessible way and the course is designed for the individual to learn from any mistakes. Highly recommend!

By Joan R

Jun 1, 2020

An excelent course for medical an non-medical personel who wants to engage in the world of medical research and wants to know the truth behind all the seansationalistic news that appears now and then in the media.

By Kevin R

Jun 17, 2022

Very fun and informative lecture. I'm now more confident on reading and interpreting medical journals. Indeed, my facebook friend is wrong and should definitely attend this course as well. lol Thanks Dr. Wilson!

By Lucía F

Jun 4, 2020

I love this course! Easy to understand, using examples to make each concept more understandable. Short-enough videos to make progress by watching a couple of videos per day - ideal for when you are short on time.

By Tor M

Mar 30, 2021

Everything promised at the beginning was fulfilled. The course was logical, it was fun and yes, medicine is definitely cool.

It has been an educational and inspiring experience and really a confidence booster!

By Wee K N

May 2, 2020

Very interesting course delivered by a lively instructor with humorous touches. Fun and easy to understand. There are some errors in the answers for the quizzes but the learners should be able to figure out.

By Tigest S

Dec 31, 2020

excellent course

A course that I will comeback to again and again and again

lots of information, EXCELLENT , specially in current situation where so many claim to have the "right" information

Thank you so much

By Mary C

May 31, 2020

This was the first online course that I've ever taken, and it was a pleasant surprise. The Professor was engaging, the material was challenging, but well presented, and overall, it was an excellent course.

By Robin R

May 18, 2020

Excellent. I wish all my friends would take this. Funny, engaging, breaks down topics that would intimidate many people in easy to understand ways. And thanks for adding in the topical research on COVID-19.

By Paul B

Sep 28, 2021

I used to be in a statistics career field and use some of that knowledge for this course. I absolutely feel like it's easier to spot fraud and will help me have a critical eye for so many other areas!

By Ольга В

Jul 3, 2021

просто вау! Нереально потрясающий курс! огромная благодарность доктору и его команде за этот курс! я занимаюсь научными исследованиями, но этот курс дает просто потрясающие систематизированные знания!

By Elaine E

May 23, 2021

I am no academic but I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I liked that I was able to try again if I wasn't satisfied with my results.

Just a little aside here.. the professor.. can any man be so perfect?

By Linda H

Mar 2, 2021

Informative, entertaining. Great content.. (a lot of very important content). The instructor provided excellent examples to capture our attention and help us retain concepts more easily. Thank you!

By Amr M S s

Aug 23, 2020

It is a pretty good course to begin sailing in the tricky sea of research :D but you will need more in-depth courses to fully understand and write in medical literature , specially on biostatistics .

By Deleted A

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent overview of understanding how to read and interpret medical studies.

I've been skeptical about how medical studies are portrayed in the news, and now I have some tools to better assess them.

By Deb B G

Aug 29, 2020

Such a timely course as the news is filled with research study after research study with, sometimes, competing results. Never before have I heard "pre-print" and "not peer reviewed" so frequently.

By Don S

Mar 6, 2022

This course is a valuable and detailed course on understanding medical research and statistics. It is well presented and enjoyable to watch and learn. And, yes, your Facebook friend is wrong.

By Simon F

Jun 17, 2020

Clear, engaging and great fun. There might be some optional supplementary theoretical readings, not just medical papers. The exams are jokes. The lecture transcripts badly need proofreading.

By Donchenko T

Jun 18, 2020

Very exciting course, although quite difficult sometimes. Mr. Wilson is the best Professor I've ever seen. His sense of humor and cheerfulness in presenting the course helped me complete it

By Max H

Aug 11, 2020

Great Couse! The information is very useful and easy to understand. It is also presented in a way that is not boring and not too complicated. Everything was very informative and enjoyable!

By Metin Y

Mar 16, 2022

Dear Professor and The Team Which Concern

It is an eminent presentations with useful and necessary informations about medical research. Thank you very much.

With best regard

Dr.Metin YALAZA

By Don M

Feb 20, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! It provided me with many great insights and provided some great tools to decipher medical research papers. Thank you for providing this great course!