Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,385 ratings
498 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

JA
Jul 24, 2020

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

LT
Apr 29, 2020

I enjoy studying this course , the material and video example are well made ,and easy to understand too . Overall this course is great and really helpful it also help me improve on my judgement skill.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 502 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By Singankutti A N S G

Nov 28, 2020

This course is more valuble and knowledgeable. I could improve my knowledge about statistics and reasearch through this course.

By Taweesup

Dec 30, 2020

This course is very good, easy to understand. Strongly recommend for anyone who want to really understand medical publication.

By Charlotte S

Jun 4, 2020

Brilliant course, in depth, fascinating and enlightening, and made really accessible by Dr Wilson's entertaining presentation.

By Eman K

Aug 1, 2021

Very informative , I think I will return to many of the information in the future.

Really enjoyed Prof. Wilson teaching style

By Andy C

Mar 2, 2021

A very interesting topic, once I started to understand the complexities. And Professor Wilson is really an excellent speaker.

By Arno H

Jun 25, 2020

These seven weeks gave me wonderful and useful tools to make THE difference between science and fake news. Thanks a lot!!

By David O

Jun 17, 2020

A remarkably comprehensive and concise examination of medical research, an emergingly important facet of media literacy.

By Duncan C

Feb 8, 2021

Enjoyed the lectures and the course content also feel better about my learnings related to medical research.

Many thanks

By Dinesh P

May 24, 2020

If you have the time then definitely take this course. It contains information that I will use for the rest of my life.

By Rita S

Nov 24, 2020

This course was a joy, thanks to Dr. Wilson. It was well organized and aimed for allowing the student to comprehend.

By Fardin K J

Jun 9, 2020

So far the best instructor I had. Very interesting and informative course. Much needed for the media persons I guess.

By Sakher M

Aug 29, 2020

what i felt with this course was already statistically significant .

best wishes to all supervisors on this course .

By Daniel P C

Jun 2, 2020

Es un curso excelente. He aprendido mucho y de una manera muy didáctica un tema que es relevante en la actualidad.

By Elizabeth o

Jun 23, 2020

You have the magic to teach statistic as a funny subject . I really don't wanted to finish the course. Thank you

By Jenny O

Jun 1, 2020

Great course. The presenter is very engaging, the material is extremely interesting and very clearly presented.

By Matt

Jun 19, 2021

Incredible course!! Super thorough and host and content were so interesting the time studying actually flew by!

By Dr. V B

Sep 7, 2020

Wonderful presentation. Complex issues are presented in a simple way so that everyone can understand. Thank you

By Chelsea P

Jul 5, 2020

Very informative, even for someone with a fair amount of science classes in their past and working in medicine.

By Anna

Jul 8, 2020

Wonderful, entertaining and also very insightful course. Kudos to the great instructor - Mr. F. Perry Wilson!

By Cara H

Jul 19, 2020

Took a while but it was worth it! Great Instructor! Loved his examples on the Campus with the Yale students!

By Basset B

Jun 8, 2020

one of my best cours ever with an outstanding teacher!

highly recommendable to all medical students

thank you

By Martin P

Dec 27, 2020

Absolutely fantastic and very helpful course. Thanks so much Dr Wilson and team for your hard work on this.

By Ken B

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course. Dr. Wilson did a wonderful job explaining the material and making the course interesting.

By Mary A

Oct 26, 2020

Very engaging speaker, everything made simple but very informative, a good overview for medical research.

By shaimaa

Jul 19, 2020

Thank you so much Dr. Wilson, this is really very well structured course. it was very interesting course!