Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong by Yale University

4.9
stars
1,185 ratings
452 reviews

About the Course

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

Top reviews

JA
Jul 24, 2020

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

DW
Sep 27, 2020

Well organized and informative content. Dr. Wilson was an engaging and knowledgeable faculty member; I look forward to enrolling in another course under his leadership.\n\nCalvin E Woodland, EdD, PsyD

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 451 Reviews for Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

By R. S S

Dec 26, 2020

Closer to a 5 than a 4. You can't explain everything to everybody, and you can't fix all the problems of science in one course, but Perry came darn close!

By Anna H

Jul 29, 2020

Truly great course! Absolutely recommended for everyone interested in understanding medical studies. It was a lot of fun and new, well-explained material.

By Filipe P

Jul 19, 2020

The course is excellent, Dr Wilson really simplifies and clarifies these complex concepts in a way that makes learning them a lot funnier than usually is.

By Şensu D

Jan 4, 2021

The best course I have encountered. Thanks for your effort. Maybe you can add some additional quiz lie an end term exam to consolidate what we learn.

By SYED W U H

Jun 3, 2020

I really hope I get to work with Dr. Wilson one day. He was an inspiration and an amazing teacher. Thank you so much for imparting your wisdom to me.

By Jesus M O K B

Dec 19, 2020

Thank you for this module It tells me that medical research is not intimidating after all. Now I know the basics , its now easy for me to understand

By Mong Y F

Aug 31, 2020

The course is intriguing and interactive. The course contents are well designed and interesting to learn! Hope to see a sequel to this course!!!!!!!

By Jeanette H

Jun 11, 2020

Massively informative and entertaining. Thank you, I am indebted to Professor Wilson, his team and Coursera for giving me this knowledge, for free.

By Yasmine K

Jun 4, 2020

Great presenter.

Very imformative & well orchestrated.

Towards the end, a little too much for the ordinary person to need.

That's why I had to dropout.

By Sylvain P

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting content, i highly recommand it for any person looking for more methods when seeking information on medical science. Thanks a lot

By John H

Feb 21, 2021

A fantastic overview of medical literature and research for the layperson, or even for the practicing clinician who's a bit rusty on his stats.

By Nobody A

Jul 25, 2020

This course is accessible to laypeople who want to get a better understanding of the health headlines that promise more than they can deliver.

By Kabakov B

Jun 17, 2020

It is the best 101 to Medical Research I ever see. It is also good for repetition if you are knowing something about Medical Research already.

By Sabbitan B

May 18, 2021

I truly benefited from this course. Certain concepts in statistics were simplified do that it would make more sense. Prof Perry was AMAZING !

By Dr N N P

Mar 28, 2021

Extremely enjoyable course. Gets into the depth of analysing a medical research & shows how to be vigilant with the medical research results!

By Juan A m

Nov 11, 2020

Very good overview of statistics applied to medical studies, Very didactic, entertaining and easy to follow. Thanks to Perry for this couse!

By Magdalena M

Nov 3, 2020

Very useful course. It helped me realise how careful you have to be when reading all kinds of studies and how to draw conclusions from them.

By Abdüssamet A

May 12, 2021

It is a very good course. I learned a lot. The presenter knows what is he doing and he is very funny. I never bored along the whole course.

By Maria S

May 4, 2021

Very professional and clear presentation of the subject. Easy understood material and well organized presentation. Very useful information.

By Marilyn B L

Jul 2, 2020

The course has been helpful and insightful. The discussions were concise, easy to understand, and humorous at times. Thank you, Dr. Wilson.

By Kathy A

Oct 10, 2020

A nicely paced course with relevant information for those who need to evaluate medical studies. Made a fairly complex area understandable.

By Giovanna D

Jul 1, 2020

Phenomenally clear, engaging and intelligently put together

The very best course I have ever followed on Coursera and I have finished many!

By Fabio F

Jun 12, 2020

Incredible course altogether. Amazing teach, really informal delivery but content very engaging and thorough. Best course I've taken here

By Cheryl T

Jun 11, 2020

The speaker was amazing. Super engaging and had great real life examples that made this content very related and clear. Highly recomm

By Bryony K

Feb 2, 2021

Really helpful and well-structured course. I understand so much more about what I'm reading in the news re the covid Vaccine data now.