Chevron Left
Back to Microeconomics: When Markets Fail

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Microeconomics: When Markets Fail by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
498 ratings
111 reviews

About the Course

Perfect markets achieve efficiency: maximizing total surplus generated. But real markets are imperfect. In this course we will explore a set of market imperfections to understand why they fail and to explore possible remedies including as antitrust policy, regulation, government intervention. Examples are taken from everyday life, from goods and services that we all purchase and use. We will apply the theory to current events and policy debates through weekly exercises. These will empower you to be an educated, critical thinker who can understand, analyze and evaluate market outcomes....

Top reviews

HT
Apr 23, 2021

The course is best for those who are beginners to Microeconomics. I had no idea of Microeconomics. This course has given me confidence to start my journey to start learning more. Thanks

JR
Jan 13, 2018

Great and relevant content, presented in an interesting and easy way; allowing the student to go through the video materials in an individual pace and thus optimize the study sessions.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 106 Reviews for Microeconomics: When Markets Fail

By 張守忻

May 8, 2019

very goodddd_

By APOORVA B

Feb 11, 2019

Best course.

By Ahmed M E

Feb 10, 2019

it was great

By Mahfujor R

Nov 9, 2017

It's amazing

By 許芳瑜

Jul 5, 2017

淺顯易懂, 值得推薦!

By Arrigo D

Nov 19, 2017

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

By Hà K A

Jul 15, 2017

Great!!!

By Sirui T

Jun 17, 2021

Awesome

By 丘芷瑄

Apr 30, 2018

great

By 陳宥蓉

May 22, 2017

覺得很受用

By 陳柏鈞

May 26, 2021

good

By 黃亭恩

May 16, 2018

good

By 柯勝富

May 7, 2017

獲益良多

By 邱昱維

May 7, 2017

GOOD

By 李霽雯

May 4, 2017

內容清楚

By 尹宏綜

May 4, 2017

good

By 陳嘉宏

Mar 29, 2019

很棒

By Babita S

May 11, 2017

I enjoyed this course as it covered an interesting aspect of markets - the reasons it fails. The topics were well chosen and the instructor covered them clearly though briefly. However, this course requires a basic level of knowledge of economics. I was also a little disappointed in the lack of a robust discussion forum - there were no responses from the instructors / assistants to any of my queries, as well as no discussion among students. It would also be instructive to get the answers to questions in the quiz so that we can learn from our mistakes.

By Fred V

Mar 22, 2021

This course fits the bill as an academic exercise, although wordy and with a few minor errors. It qualifies well as a support for further studies in microeconomics. We regret, however, to have seen few if any traces of where assumptions can be re-qualified and relaxed, how do the modellings apply in real life, within what conditions, etc. Case studies to prove that 'theory works', with examples from recent history, would have been welcome and useful. It is also a pity that, in numerical examples, we stick to linear modellings.

By Anshuman C

Jun 10, 2020

Well taught, great teacher, recommended, "not boring" and good & well absorbable content in short video format. Felt the Quiz questions were sometimes (occasionally) not well in sync with the content taught. Could still use slight improvements like clearing out the common doubts that could arise in student's mind, but this problem could be common to other most courses too.

By Julie D

Sep 2, 2020

Great course. The instructor is obviously knowledgeable and presents the information in multiple formats for learners. Not a true introductory course if you're unfamiliar with economic terms, and some of the quizzes tested on material that wasn't fully explained. Overall, it was a great learning experience and pushed me out of my academic comfort zone.

By Fabrice M

Apr 15, 2018

The instructor is excellent. I have loved this course. Week number 5 was a little tedious and i think it is because the instructor did not uses the transparent blackboard. Otherwise this course was really great

By Aida S

Aug 23, 2020

Learnt so much from this course has helped me reinforce some ideas I had already from microeconomics.

By Akashkumar M P

May 6, 2020

good it provide you real situation of real world and how market work