Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,529 ratings
1,422 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,410 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Kruti P

Jul 21, 2021

This course really changed my perspective towards arts. Every week I learnt something new and it brought out that curiosity that I had somehow killed in this crazy competitiveness of social media.

By Zelenma

Aug 11, 2017

VERY VERY GOOD COURSE !!!!!! for learning, discovering , practicing and i have learned to appreciate all these abstract artists , or to understand their expression with our teacher C.D'Augustine .

By Craig P

Jun 5, 2020

I found it very interesting and challenging giving me deeper understanding of art as themes and why modern art was linked with the industrial revolution, media and relationship with its audience.

By Daniel L

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent course ! Really enjoyed it and learned so much. Easy to follow and easy to complete. Thanks to this course, I will have a different eye on Modern Art. My personal goal has been reached.

By Panferova E V

Aug 10, 2019

Really liked the course! Many new artists and interesting works! And also I liked the tasks after each week, make me think and reason more. Thank you very much for the opportunity to learn a lot!

By Romina L

Sep 5, 2020

Un curso maravilloso, que permite conocer, descubrir otras miradas. Obras de distintos artistas , con sus experiencias de vida. Distintas técnicas. De distintos países.

¡ Totalmente gratificante!

By John C

Apr 20, 2020

Hi good day.

I really liked this online experience, the works and themes, the readings and the opportunity to share experiences, I hope I can continue learning with Coursera, thank you very much

By Ekaterina D

Apr 17, 2020

This course allows you to learn a lot of details about the work and artists who are represented in the Museum.

Very interesting videos and articles with the statement of artists about their work.

By Priscila H

Oct 8, 2017

An excellent course, with lots of interactive information and additional resources. The explanations are very clear and the selection of artwork is excellent and goes beyond the obvious choices.

By Carolina L

Jun 5, 2017

An amazing course, it was very interesting. I learned not only many things that I didn't know, I also learned to understand the ideas of modern art.

It was a pleasure for me to take this course.

By Bernardo R L

Sep 6, 2020

Excellent course, content and the institution is incredible. Everything is very organized, making fluency in the construction of knowledge. Thank you very much Bernardo Lins São Paulo Brazil

By Leopoldo B M

Jul 24, 2020

This course is amazing. With all the material presented and available to be read and consulted, all topics presented are fascinating. I will recommend it to all my friends. Congratulations.

By Samantha J H

Apr 22, 2020

I aboslutely loved this course, it gave me the art inspiration that I needed to get back on track! Slight shame you have to then pay for the certificate at the end as it was described as free.

By Iara N N

May 1, 2020

i think it's a great quick look on modern art and the different themes we can find in it. the videos and lectures are very interesting and i loved the idea of interacting with other students.

By Jim C

Aug 19, 2020

really enjoyable and informative! Fun final assignments. Option needed on grading: Rather than an all or nothing 2 points, there should be an option of 0/1/2 points for a partial grade of 1!

By Rebecca L C

May 24, 2020

A very informative and interesting course, with a large variety of artwork and history. I could complete it without any time pressures, and I enjoyed the reflections at the end of each week.

By Valentyna Y

Dec 6, 2020

Very well structured and interesting course. I liked that we studied artworks by the themes, not chronologically. Also I liked that there was an opportunity to use and show your creativity.

By Olga L

Jun 17, 2018

This is a very good course, well prepared, with a high level of professional knowledge and assistance. You will get a lot of interesting and valuable information and even more inspirations.

By Liliana S K

May 22, 2018

Soy Profesora de Artes Visuales y Prof. Sup en Escultura Y Dibujo pero con el curso he adquirido nuevos conocimientos relacionados a la posmodernidad, expresiones artisticas del siglo XXI.

By Jana K

May 24, 2020

Thank you very much for the experience and the possibility to learn new information about art. It was great to partecipate and I will definitely recommend to my friends and acquaintances.

By Tatiana R

May 20, 2020

I have enjoyed this course. It's inspiring, interesting, well-structured and not overwhelming. It consist of lots of short videos, pictures, articles and references. You won't be bored!!!

By Arely M

Apr 19, 2021

Un curso muy completo, me agrado bastante aunque al principio había sido un poco complicado para mí. Totalmente recomendado si quieres aprender más sobre el arte y su historia. 10 de 10.

By Julio M

Jul 2, 2020

Excelente curso! Muy entretenido y didáctico. Esencial para los que quieren ampliar sus conocimientos sobre el arte en particular y sobre cultura general. Agradecido por la oportunidad!

By Clara G

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course! It was a great way for me to engage with art during chaotic times. I am grateful for having the time to have taken this course to expand my knowledge of modern art.

By Anna S

Apr 14, 2020

It is a really nice and easy course! I loved learning about all the art in this course. It is also not so hard to understand for those who don't speak English very well. Thank you MoMa!