Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
5,528 ratings
1,422 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Top reviews

TT
Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

AM
Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,409 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Daniela V

Mar 23, 2020

Curso dinámico, reflexivo y de gran interés para implementar la capacidad de análisis en el comportamiento del arte moderno, sus causas, formas de manifestarse y alcances.

By Emily T

Aug 29, 2017

Loved this course, well-organized, full of interesting material, engaging. Will continue to enroll in MoMA courses, I've completed two so far and they have been wonderful.

By Haley B

May 2, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course, i gained a broader idea of what art is and practiced writing about it. I learned a lot while not being particularly burdened or stressed.

By Barbara K

Mar 27, 2018

I love all the MOMA courses! They are balanced and informative. They provide me with invaluable information that I can use with my students in my visual arts classroom.

By Bruna B

Mar 6, 2018

The course is excellent for those Art lovers who seek to expand their view about many paintings, their artists and their reasons, and what made them create at their time.

By Shariful I

Apr 25, 2017

This course helped me to understand modern art. I have learned about renowned modern artists, their works, and ideas. Thanks MoMA and coursera for offering such a course.

By Ibbie H

Jan 17, 2016

It's a great course to let me know more about variety of conception for art and design, also to realized that how artists combines their life and thoughts into artworks.

By Yngrid A A T

Apr 25, 2021

El curso ha cambiado mi forma de ver el arte, las historias detrás pueden llegar a ser fascinantes. Todo el material y el apoyo brindado ha sido didáctico e informativo.

By Kristine I L

Dec 18, 2019

I have learned so much and it gives ample time to finish the work. Even if you’re a bit late, it is forgiving and you get to be quizzed! It helps the mind retain better.

By Denise D

Dec 29, 2018

Great class! Don't consider myself a Modern Art fan (still don't) but this class opened up some biases and gained a new perspective on the genre. Recommend this course.

By Mustafa U

Aug 12, 2021

It was amazing start to understand modern art & ideas. I am excited to improve my vision and knowledge on this topic. I appreciated everbody contributed this course :)

By Kaycee J

Nov 23, 2020

Thank you, MoMA! It's an honor to receive a certificate from a prestigious institution such as yours. Looking forward to learning more! Love from Mindanao, Philippines!

By Caroline D

Jul 3, 2020

Thank you MoMA for putting together a great course! This course has given me new perspectives on modern art in relation to spaces, identity, history, and everyday life.

By Carolina H

Jun 2, 2020

It was amazing. I loved it! I'm in love with the topic, with the art, with the concepts. Everything! It made me realize there's so much more behind an image or a video.

By Vanina G R

May 15, 2020

I miei sono sentiti vivi all'interno di questo corso, appassionata, con voglia di conoscere ancora e ancora. Le sfumature e la creatività sono ovunque. Grazie infinito!

By sivvie J

Jan 4, 2021

MOMA provides a variety of materials in this course. It helps learners get more knowledge in the art area. What's more, critical thinking is encouraged, so thanks MOMA

By Hara K

Jan 17, 2021

Thanks a lot for the opportunity to learn so many and so interesting things about different aspects of modern art .Great videos ,readings and analysis of many pieces.

By corinne s

May 30, 2020

rich in information. easy read and easy videos to watch. loved listening to the artists themselves speak about their work. enhanced my understanding of modern art.

By p. p

May 15, 2020

A comprehensive and brief introductory course on Modern Art with a wide range of materials for further reading. The lessons open many doors to more relevant subjects.

By Ana L S F

May 6, 2020

Loved it! The course gave me, an architect and urbanist who loves Art, new perspectives about the subject and how we can relate it to our spaces, identity and socity.

By Muskaan V

May 27, 2020

A very engaging, informative course which highlights some of the greatest works in a new fresh perspective through its themes. The information is brief and relevant.

By Daniel

Jan 21, 2021

I loved the assignments and engaging with other students, also reviewing their work, as always very eye opening seeing someones else point of view about an artwork.

By Marta F G

Aug 23, 2020

This Course has been truly inspiring for me, I have been able to learn about artists I didn't know and have an eye opening experience when learning from Modern Art.

By Beata W

Feb 22, 2021

this course is full of inspiration and very interesting information, given in an attractive, varied format; texts, videos, images, additional sources ... wonderful

By Paola L D

Feb 9, 2021

An attractive course, with a good structure of topics, and with the addition of tests and tasks that give it added value. Thank you very much, I really enjoyed it!