Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
6,342 ratings

About the Course

Modern Art & Ideas is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. You will look at art through a variety of themes, including Places and Spaces, Art and Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art and Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects key works of art to the theme. You’ll also have access to interviews with artists, designers, and others who speak about their materials, processes, and sources of inspiration. Through the discussion forum prompts you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with you....

Top reviews

AM

Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,599 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Lily

Jul 7, 2020

A really interesting course, I enjoyed it a lot whilst it gave me much more insight into works that I love. It helped me understand the messages behind some of my favourite works and works that I may have never discovered had I not taken this course, whilst providing me with the skills to help me write about art. The course shone a new light on art that explored very interesting themes. The end of module assignments and weekly reflections were extremely helpful in developing my responses to art works and helped me create my own art. In my opinion a great course!

By Mustafa U D

Aug 28, 2018

Inspiring & elaborative. This Course should be considered as a Model for each course in Coursera. Their style of transferring information is amazingly simple and yet very intriguing.

What I admire most is however that each source at the Reading Part is open to public. This helps people to benefit from the course in full. In addition, the reading list is extremely detailed. It offers numerous alternatives. Even though each reading material of the courses cannot be made open to public, I believe at least the alternatives may be increased as done under this Course.

By Rasika G

Jun 15, 2017

This course has unraveled the mysteries of art to me, and has pointed out to me that art is not an abstract and distant concept which only art connoisseurs can understand, but surrounds our everyday lives. Art is a way to express one's ideas or belief, and I have learnt to appreciate the subtleties and hidden meanings through the excellent readings and videos in this course. This course manages to strike a good balance between selecting famous paintings as well as those which are not very well known. Looking forward to more courses by MoMA in the future!

By Embreane J

Dec 17, 2020

I am nearly at the finish of completing this course and I am beyond impressed with the level of ingenuity and interactivity that this course provides. The subjects are entertaining and approachable for all levels of students, and the materials are insightful and engaging that I had a lot of fun being able to learn more about the art world and share my own thoughts and experiences on the subjects. I highly recommend for anyone seeking just more time to study thought provoking subjects or with a true interest in pursuing this as a career kickstarter!

By Ruth M

Jun 26, 2020

I have really enjoyed the content of this course, and it's certainly helped me understand more about the intentions of the artists included. I haven't really used the discussion forums because I couldn't quite get my head around how they are organised, although I did enjoy sharing my work and seeing other people's work at the end of each week in that forum. I've enjoyed the challenge of the weekly assignments and the two at the end (cutting to be within the word count was a good challenge!) Really great learning materials and content. Thank you.

By Maria I

Sep 26, 2015

I am a little over halfway through this course and I would recommend it to any teacher, or any person who just loves art. Exploring themes in modern art is presented in an accessible way through short engaging videos. There is a resource list with further readings to help you get as in-depth with the topics as you would like, and a list of artworks used in the lesson so you can refer to all of them at once. I plan to do more MOMA courses on Coursera, and hopefully visit MOMA sometime soon! (This review was written by a teacher and former art maj

By Elle

Apr 6, 2021

I enjoyed this course not only because of the super informative reading and video materials but the process of completing reflection and peer-reviewing at the end of each week. This creative course has provided me with an incredible opportunity to think out of the box, critically understand modern arts and relate art to different themes such as identity, society, places, etc. Through reviewing others' reflection, I have learned quite a few fresh ideas to deepen my understanding of art and create connections between arts and real life.

By Laura S

Feb 22, 2022

I refreshed my memory about the art that I had studied years ago when I was enrolled in university. Furthermore, I was introduced to new works that I had not studied in the past. This course would be great for adults of all ages, even experienced artists who would like to explore specific themes that motivate artists. In the past, we studied art based on periods, but it is very refreshing to come to understand the underlying themes. Artists and people interested in new ideas will certainly enjoy MOMA's class "Modern Art and Ideas"!

By Daniella S

Apr 14, 2022

I love art and any chance I get to speak, think, look, and wonder at it. MoMa has a great brief sort of intro to art appreciation and understanding of how a piece comes about and not at all in a cultural vacuum.

You get the chance to really delve into the concepts not just a chronoolgical look at art and its makers. There are alot of women and black artists mentioned and finally that really has impact being that it just in 1980s that MoMa recognized either !!

Kudos MoMa. And Kudos Coursera, gotta give credit where credit is due.

By Pedro P L F

Apr 17, 2023

O curso Modern Art & Ideas do The Museum of Modern Art é altamente recomendado para qualquer pessoa interessada em arte moderna e seus movimentos. Os professores são experientes e qualificados, e o material do curso é apresentado de maneira clara e concisa, com exemplos e imagens para ajudar os alunos a visualizar e compreender melhor o material. As atividades práticas são úteis para aplicar o conhecimento adquirido durante o curso. A oferta do curso pelo The Museum of Modern Art torna a experiência ainda mais única e valiosa.

By Vincent K

Jul 19, 2020

Excelelnt introduction to the way we can think about modern art. The chapters were organized in a way that enhances absorption and retention of the ideas. This format of starting a brief intro section at the beginning of every chapter, followed by a more in-depth discussion, then in a third section tkaing it further with readings, quizes, and short essays works for me. If ever MoMA decides to put on another course to further explore other ideas, or perhaps take what we learned here to the next level, I will be most interested.

By Marcela T

Apr 9, 2017

I'm really glad that I took this course. I've found the lessons very interesting and fun. The extra material is really good as well and the topics discussed are great. There are people from all around the world and I think it is fullfilling to have the opportunity to see so many different cultures and opinions together taking about art. I would like to congratulate the group responsible for Modern Art & Ideas for the excellent job putting all this together. I will definitely take part in another MoMA course.

By Victoriia S

Dec 28, 2018

The course "Modern Art & Ideas" is very interesting, informative, but not too much. Just enough if you are inetested in or at least tolerate Modern Art.

The course provides a lot of resources for selt-learning and gives you a slight idea how various art is, how important is it to look deeper in it and in youself.

I would recommend this course for everyone who likes new ideas and alternative points of view on traditional things, but even more for those who were afraid of modern art or "didn't understand it".

By Debora J N

Apr 9, 2020

Very informative. I revisited artists I knew much about and learned about several artists new to me. The wealth of information in the multitude of extra links is amazing. I particularly enjoyed the Week 5 short final essay and the assignment to curate a set of images. I appreciated the peer review process and I took great care to write thoughtful reviews for those peers whose work I reviewed. While I seem to have officially passed the course, I await the feedback, or peer review, on the images I curated.

By Loucia H

Feb 22, 2024

I really like this course because I gained insights on modern arts and learnt how different themes combine with each other. This modern art online course offers an exceptional blend of interactive content, insightful lectures, and engaging activities, providing a dynamic learning experience for art enthusiasts. With its innovative approach, the course delves deep into the evolution of modern art movements/themes, fostering a comprehensive understanding of key concepts and techniques.

By MARIA E S

Jul 21, 2022

MODERN ART AND IDEAS is an amazing visual trip!. Traveling through art pieces supported by impressive details and information that have enriched and motorized my passion for Art. Thanks, Mrs. Mazzuco for this incredible opportunity to learn and share our opinions in forums. Every module encouraged me to research more and more. In fact, I made a glossary about Art terminology that attaches me more to this fantastic world. Thanks again, definitely I will continue studying at Coursera.

By Gary M

Dec 17, 2016

A good entry level course on modern and contemporary art. The themed approach works well and the artists are chosen carefully to give a broad overview of the subject. The additional reading material (some optional, other not) allows you to take your understanding to a slightly higher level.

I think MoMA have used their resources well. The videos are well made, their collection provides a rich vein to tap into and their access to leading voices in the field is exceptional.

By ANA L P

Aug 3, 2020

What I like most about MoMA's Art courses is that there is a very rich material, only accessible in the Museum's books and videos. In addition, the aesthetics of the materials available to the student makes all the difference. It is impossible to take a course in art with a sloppy aesthetic. The reproductions of book pages are not very inviting for reading but we can close an eye to this issue and remember that studying directly in MoMA books has a special glamor.

By Arran W

May 16, 2020

A truly wonderful way to spend this lockdown! Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about modern art as a discipline. Amazing to see how it connects to so much of life, both internally and externally. It has been wonderful to explore the capacity of art to reflect and influence the status quo. Also, as a BME person myself, it was lovely to be able to explore the work done by women and minority ethnicities. A brilliantly put together course. Many thanks to all involved.

By Giuliana M

Jul 12, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Porque es teórico y práctico a la vez. Además, se siente cálido. Es decir, aunque sea virtual, se puede observar con claridad que quien lo hizo es humano. Incluso, ayuda a entender el arte contemporáneo que muchas veces pareciera ser algo difícil de comprender.

Lo que más destaco, es el sentir que uno está acompañado todo el tiempo, y la comunicación con otros compañero. Lo que resulta de mucho crecimiento académico y social.

By 燕可郁

Jun 12, 2018

Thanks to the works provided by the Museum of modern art and the wonderful interpretation of teachers. I have always thought that art is a bridge of communication between reality and imagination, and only those who truly understand the content and emotion of the works can get the true meaning of art. This course starts with different themes. It not only displays many impressive masterpieces, but also highlights our thinking about the real world.

By Dimitris V

Apr 26, 2020

Great course, it re-ignited my passion for art. Its structure was very solid, which is of great importance, especially for a subject like art, which is not solid at all. It made it possible to think about art in terms of themes, which in most cases were not very clear but nevertheless, were there. I recommend it all beginners who want to get a better understanding about art and to people who want to re-ignite their passion for art.

By Phillip S

Jun 20, 2022

The way this course was organised into themes worked perfectly. It allows you to engage with the art by looking through a focusing lens that makes everything sharp. The themes act to naturally guide your thinking in the right direction. The assessment was actually enjoyable. I highly recommend everyone to engage in the optional activities to share and discuss the themes with peers. I have already recommended this course to others.

By Liliana C C

Mar 4, 2021

I have really enjoyed everyday, discovering northamerican artists for the very first time and with all the videos and the enriching lectures I fill overwhelmed and full of gratitude for this huge opportunity. Art really can make us good persons, better citizens and searching to be in a same path wishing a better world for all mankind, hoping to overcome this pandemic situation that affect us all. Thanks you very much!

By Santy A M

Mar 11, 2022

MOdern Art and Ideas opened so many interesting views on how artist look at the world to how they convey their messages acros simply by ART.

Ievery theme of modern Art and Ideas opened new thoughts of will, determination, motivation, critical thinking, it opens your mind like a open blue sky and then you start Painting your imagination and colors.

each and every theme picked very interesting artist and their works.