Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
6,352 ratings

About the Course

Modern Art & Ideas is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. You will look at art through a variety of themes, including Places and Spaces, Art and Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art and Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects key works of art to the theme. You’ll also have access to interviews with artists, designers, and others who speak about their materials, processes, and sources of inspiration. Through the discussion forum prompts you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with you....

Top reviews

AM

Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,600 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Tom P

Oct 15, 2017

Absolutely superb course, with clear interesting videos with points that are easy to absorb...and then to get you reading more about it. The breath of the artworks chosen, as well as breaking these up into categories were a big bonus to help me into the world of modern art and ideas. Many thanks folks and keep going!

By Anfal f

May 27, 2020

I am more interested in modern art after completing this course than ever before.I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. now I love the museum it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

By Tonya

Jun 5, 2016

This was a thought provoking, tip of the ice-berg, inspiring and simple course appropriate for nearly anyone with an interest in 'the arts'. I will say also that crucial to 'getting' this topic and the most out of the course content you must do the final project. That is where the aha! moment awaits. Great course.

By Elif E

May 22, 2021

Thank you so much for this opportunity to learn modern art history and all these precious artists. Now I'm more aware of how modern art support one and another with all these artworks. How it connects with our social and political world and how it affects us. Thank you to everyone who is a part of this tutorial.

By Amelia H

May 21, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the subject was both interesting and engaging. I also appreciated the feedback and discussions held with my fellow students, this helped with understanding the subject better with a different perspective. I would definitely pursue other subjects with Coursera in the future.

By Tingting W

Jan 26, 2020

Courses designed according to thematic perspectives make learning more than a single understanding of genres, painters, and techniques. Throughout the learning process, I kept thinking about art and expression. The combination of rich art forms and themes inspired my new understanding of art. Favorite course

By Annie M

Oct 7, 2021

The course is really well designed. It's very engaging in the sense that you learn about different art subjects through images. Modern and contemporary art history taught in engaging and innovative way. I like the fact that the MoMA are using themes to introduce modern art and ideas, rather than chronology.

By Robin A

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! I learned quite a lot, but for me the best part was to do the initial reading and video-viewing and then meander through other materials at MOMA. My only complaint is about the technical glitches I have already reported in doing the final assignment. Those should be fixed.

By Michele M

Oct 25, 2021

This course was a fabulous overview in Art History done by way of modules on themes and ideas using videos, readings, quizzes, essay questions, artistic contribution, active participation and so much more. I would highly, highly recommend this awesomely MoMA curated course my first of many with Coursera.

By EDUARDO S M

Aug 2, 2021

Este curso ha sido increíble he aprendido una nueva visión del arte moderno que me ayudado para buscar trabajo en galerías de arte había muchas sobras que no conocía y sobre todo he aprendido a saber a interpretar las obras en base de artista muy importante conocer siempre artista antes de juzgar su obra

By Fernanda C C

Feb 11, 2020

Este curso es realmente útil para cualquier persona que desee entender mejor el arte moderno. Es un tema que independientemente del conocimiento académico, llega a ser difícil de entender y por lo tanto de apreciar, el sistema de unidades a través del cuál explican las obras ayuda a valorizar y entender.

By Corinne S

Feb 17, 2016

As Art History Major I thought this course would give me a little insight but did not expect much. I couldn't have been more wrong. I learned so many things my degree never taught me. I was even introduced to artists I didn't know existed! Great class and super interesting and well put together lectures!

By Jen K

Apr 28, 2020

This course was a great art history refresher. I feel inspired to take more MoMA online courses to learn about MoMAs permanent collection and about modern art in general. The last art history course that I had taken was about 15 years ago! I feel energized to visit MoMA when it reopens post-pandemic.

By MJ L

May 25, 2020

The materials and readings are supplementary for the topic. Really enjoyed being able to discover so many works of art and understand it using the various themes of the course. Reviews and discussions are thought-provoking and I can say my interest for modern art has grown after completing the course!

By Khadija S

Feb 28, 2019

I gained new information about contemporary art. I leart so much about it. Highly recommended course for art lovers. But you must have enough informatoion about art and movements, otherwise you can be awkard about the pictures which you will see in courses. Art is everywhere, juts try to capture them.

By Ginger M

Mar 13, 2020

If you want to be able to appreciate modern art and have a deeper understanding of works of art that you are familiar with and those you are not familiar with from different perspectives, this course, given by MOMA educators, is for you. You'll get a lot out of this course if you put a lot into it.

By ANA B F V

Nov 10, 2020

Excellent way to virtually discover some of the most interesting and striking pieces from the MoMA's permanent collection, especially since museums aren't that easy to visit at the moment. The assignments and prompts also made it really easy to reflect and come up with one's own attitudes toward art

By Joanne H

Jun 1, 2020

This course was so enjoyable ! The units are well spaced , there is ample information and more if you want to read more deeply about a subject or artist. I loved the videos that introduce each week's theme. It enhanced my understanding of modern art and made me want to try another course from MOMA.

By Kirti P

Apr 17, 2020

This course has been very engaging departing a in depth and very apt knowledge on the topic and the themes within it. An era of entire Modern Art is consolidatd and put forward with precise content for all the genres learners. Its been an experience that i am glad i took during this quaratine time.

By Jeffrey D

Sep 1, 2020

This course was a great overview of Modern Art and related concepts. It introduced a lot of artists that I was not previously familiar with. The presentation was a good mix of video and text. Reviewing other participants work provides a more "classroom" feel that some online courses tend to lack.

By Daniel H

May 31, 2020

An absolutely marvellous experience! Taking this course has expanded my appreciation of modern art, given me tons of ways I can put to creative use what I've learnt, has introduced me to artwork I really regret not having known about earlier. It's been a transformative trip, and a very good one!

By Maria R

May 30, 2021

This was a really great course and I learned a lot through it. Everything was organised so well, and the course was engaging through out. It was a great experience, and it really helped broaden my horizon on how I view mine, as well as other artworks that I come across. I definitely recommend!

By Paula F

Feb 25, 2021

Increíble todo el material actualizado que agregaron, ya había tomado el curso hace varios a;os atrás pero volví a inscribirme y realmente no me defraudo. Un curso completo para entender el arte moderno a través de temáticas relacionadas que se pueden explicar con las obras de arte claramente.

By Scott56

Feb 17, 2016

MoMA provides an organized, wonderful, and easy to understand course that is often called art appreciation. This course differs from ones I took in college, thankfully, by pleasantly presenting methods and themes for analyses. I'm downloading all the presentations so I can watch them again.

By Zhaohan W

Aug 18, 2017

The course is really thought provoking and it brings the modern art to me. Though this course, I understood some modern artwork I didn't think I could. It also arise my interest in this area and I'd like to learn more. Really looking forward to the other course provided by MOMA in the future.