Chevron Left
Back to The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I by Tel Aviv University

4.7
stars
1,013 ratings
250 reviews

About the Course

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Top reviews

MP
Sep 10, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP
Apr 29, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 246 Reviews for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

By Charalambidou K

Dec 26, 2020

This course is not only informative but it also provides insight into the Middle Eastern history. It helps our understanding of the history and relationships between European countries and the Middle Eastern countries as wel as between the Middle Eastern countries themselves. I am glad I attended it.

By Karin H

May 8, 2018

Good overview. Wish we could have articles rather than books for complementary readings (from a time perspective). As well, would be great if, when showing and talking about maps, the professor could point to the area he is talking about. Sometimes it was really hard to make out what was on the maps.

By Kimberly K

Sep 9, 2016

The information is great and delivered in a way easy to understand. It is clear the presenter is passionate about the topic and presenting. The quizzes capture knowledge that is actually important to know. There are photos, literary sources, and many maps. However, slightly boring to watch.

By Richaundra P

Jun 14, 2016

The professor was very pleasant to listen to. The pacing was overall good, though the last few lessons have quite a bit of information packed in. My only real complaint was that I was hoping for more explicitly direct links to be made to modern events. Still, very enjoyable class.

By Euin C K

May 24, 2018

Information organized in an accessible manner and articulative of key points.

However, note takings are time consuming due to lack of presentational material during the lectures.

Perhaps extra addition of visual aid would enhance the educational experience.

By MD.I

Feb 25, 2021

It was excellent course, this course help me to know the politacal relationship between arab and west country. How to west culture influence to the arabic culture that is specified this course. Thanks dear honourable teacher who conduct this course

By bethany l

Jul 14, 2017

Thorough and in-depth without being overwhelming. An interesting perspective with logical arguments. The final exam is reliant on remembering facts rather than the bigger picture, though the facts aren't simply directly copied from the lectures.

By Jennifer B

Mar 10, 2016

A good overview of middle eastern politics in the 18-19th century. The pace of the course is very brisk, especially if you're not familiar with imperial history, but if you do some of the readings it will be very easy to follow the pace.

By Samantha B

Jan 13, 2016

I very much enjoyed the thoroughness of Dr. Susser's explaination, the slow and clear manner of his teaching and the structure of the course into small, short videos. This allowed me to complete the course in small doses through my busy

By Deleted A

Aug 1, 2018

Very interesting. Enlarged my understanding of how this region became what it is today and its current day events. Links events throughout modern history. Would definitely recommend!

By Chu T H H

Nov 2, 2016

I had an enjoyable morning to learn the modern politics of the middle east, thank you for giving me a chance learn by the course coordinators, lectureres and big thanks to coursera!

By Radi R

Nov 1, 2019

The Course is definitely recommended to those with interest in the Middle East. The course itself was pretty short and the reading material provided wasn't accessible

By majdi s

Oct 12, 2016

The information given is great so far. I would like to have some more questonnaire or summaries to further implement the learned content. Thank you for your services.

By Monica R E

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent course! Though sometimes I feel like the lectures can be redundant... But it's also good to really make sure the main points stick.

By Matthew P

Jan 14, 2016

Excellent course that really expanded my knowledge of the Middle East and historical drivers of conflict and friction. Bravo!

By Shalini A

Sep 1, 2017

Very informative course and dealt with very exhaustively. The maps given with the lessons could have been a little clearer.

By Ge X

Jan 21, 2016

Very informative course, but it would be better with more multimedia materials to make the history more interesting.

By Pucino N

Aug 22, 2017

Sometimes the language used by the Prof was a bit too technical, but in overall it is a great course!

By aarti p

Aug 2, 2020

well planned and gives information about the middle eastern history in a compartmentalized manner.

By Andrew L

May 26, 2020

Each lesson is well constructed with short "bite" size lessons and easy to keep attention to.

By Franziska D

Nov 30, 2016

The course is very interesting and has a lot of content, but it could be more structured.

By Seçkin G

Nov 27, 2020

This subject should be taught as a course in the Turkish education curriculum.

By Montserrat H S

Mar 27, 2016

Un curso que muestra otra perspectiva del surgimiento de Medio Oriente.

By Lorena D

Jan 29, 2017

el curso es sumamente informativo y entretenido, vale la pena llevarlo

By Harry F

Apr 13, 2016

It is only a survey but it is enlightening and helps to understand