Chevron Left
Back to The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II by Tel Aviv University

4.8
stars
454 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Top reviews

MK
Jul 30, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

FA
May 7, 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 100 Reviews for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

By Marius S P

Feb 5, 2018

Both part 1 and 2 are great courses and can be recommended, to anyone who wishes for a deeper understanding of the underlying events that have led to the Middle East we see today.

By Andrea C

Feb 28, 2021

Amazing course. For all the people passionate about History and the Middle East this course is a must.

Prof. Asher Susser is a great teacher. Thank you Prof. Susser.

By MARCIO P D A

Jan 28, 2016

Professor Asher Susser is wonderful!

It is amazing to have the opportunity to study such high quality classes.

Thank you very much and best wishes from Brazil! :)

By Karen A D

May 29, 2016

An excellent course for getting an understanding of what's happening in the Middle East today. It's a very balanced an comprehensive treatment of the subject.

By SERDAR B

Jan 20, 2018

It would be much informative if the lectures are in chronogical order (year wise) instead of region (country wise). I think there should be Part III as well.

By Mary F H

Apr 5, 2016

This was a brilliant course that has given me, for the first time, an understanding of the history of and issues in the Middle East. I highly recommend it.

By TANIA O L

Jun 8, 2020

I learnt a lot about the root of the conflicts in Middle East and I can now understand why there are still issues in that part of the world. Great course.

By Mahmoud M M

Apr 13, 2019

<3 I'm very very very recommended this course, he teach you the history in a juice. This man is amazing someone and very useful. God bless you <3

By thomas e

Dec 4, 2015

Thanks for this enlightening course! I understand much better than before what has been going on for two centuries in the middle east.

By David H

Nov 22, 2019

This course continues with where part one ended and is full of historical facts and conclusions. Very interesting and a great course.

By Aakash A

Sep 14, 2017

A complete and thorough journey from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring with significant emphasis on the Arab-Israeli conflict.

By Rick M

Mar 4, 2016

Excellent overview, well presented. Greatly increased by understanding of the all the dynamics at work in the Middle East.

By Atul

Apr 26, 2020

Excellent course delivery. Both the lectures as well as the pdf transcript were of great quality. Thanks to Prof. Asher.

By Alfonso M

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you for this overview of the history of the Middle-East. It makes the current situation there clearer

By Gary

Dec 16, 2020

Knowledgeable professor showing a systematic and comprehensive picture of the Middle Eastern landscape.

By Nicky J

Jul 11, 2021

This was a great class. The professor had so much knowledge and he made it easy to follow along

By John K

Dec 13, 2020

I enjoyed this course and found it to be very informative and relevant. Definitely recommended.

By Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely good course, with the ability to impart an abundance of information in a short format.

By Alex R

Jan 3, 2016

Very interesting course - loaded with insights and information. Thank you very much prof. Susser

By Pedro S

Apr 8, 2016

Documentado y sintético curso sobre aspectos muy controvertidos de la historia contemporánea

By Lim Z X

Apr 29, 2019

A informative course that gives you an idea on how the Middle East is what it is today.

By Gonzalo T

Aug 29, 2020

Very clear and concise explanations of the process of Middle Eastern States formation

By Ying X

Feb 22, 2017

learned a lot about Middle East Politics during the period of 1950s to 1990s

By Joshua K

Apr 27, 2020

Overall a great experience learning from lectures, quizzes and video clips.

By Armand R

Jun 26, 2017

Wonderfully informative and detailed. Fascinating topic.

Highly recommended!