Chevron Left
Back to The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II by Tel Aviv University

4.8
stars
454 ratings
100 reviews

About the Course

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Top reviews

MK
Jul 30, 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

FA
May 7, 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 100 Reviews for The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

By Zidane Z E A

Sep 19, 2020

¡¡¡¡Excelente curso!!!

By Raymond C W

Feb 13, 2016

Outstanding course.

By David M

Aug 8, 2019

excellent course!

By Arjun B

Mar 30, 2017

Very good course.

By Barry C

Apr 29, 2019

Excellent course

By Solomon Z

Mar 14, 2018

great brief info

By Liang W

May 21, 2019

Very helpful!

By jmoumtsakis@live.com

Jan 16, 2019

Excellent!!

By Paloma M

Jun 15, 2020

Loved it!

By Mahmoud E

Aug 7, 2018

very good

By kasite U

Mar 29, 2017

great!

By Mona A A

Sep 23, 2020

good

By Kyong H K

Feb 6, 2019

V

By Tom L

Feb 19, 2021

I find the course comprehensive and balanced. However, when the lectures are in English, which is not the instructor's native tongue, the result can be a halting delivery. While this does not impact the video so much, I find the transcripts can be difficult. When the instructor pauses to order his thoughts and words, the transcript all too often shows a period, creating a disjointed narrative; among other things, there are words misunderstood ("designer's" for "the Zionists"); the dreaded apostrophe ("it's" for "its"); words missing (so guesswork is required to maintain continuity), when a little more effort may fill the gap. I feel some editing to produce a more readable version (though not a verbatim copy) would benefit all.

P.S. I found similar problems with "Russian History: Lenin to Putin".

By Zakaria G

Sep 25, 2019

it was nice seeing things from the other side's perspective (the way Israelis see it) as opposed to being bombarded by the same ideas all arabs (governments and individuals) promote...a necessary step if people really want to form an objective opinion about this long lasting conflict, even more important for those directly concerned if a peaceful solution is sought (dreamy but who knows) just wish of the MENA region universities (other than israeli universities) had the decency to make such an objective course available...would help a lot

By Eden H

Dec 27, 2015

This course is wonderful, and does not seem biased. My one complaint is that for so so much information, there are only two quizzes. I would prefer to have a test at the end of each weekly lesson, especially since the quizzes are so short. The material and videos themselves are wonderful! I learned a lot :)

By James H

Sep 23, 2020

This is a very good course, and Professor Susser is a very engaging speaker. The course is inevitably biased towards the Israeli perspective, and misses out the development of several states in the region. Yet what it does cover, it covers fairly impartially and is sympathetic of other perspectives.

By Kamil K

May 21, 2016

Very well made course, although I wish to see more on other countries, because Egipt, Israel and Palestine were making most of lectures.

By bethany l

Sep 29, 2017

The quizzes are fact based - they do not check understanding, only how well you rote-learned some parts of the lectures.

By John M

Jun 23, 2016

Good background and enjoyed delving into the detail of the Middle East.

By Michael R P

May 9, 2021

more quizzes would help information retention.

By Donna B

Jun 11, 2021

VERY GOOD BUT A GREAT DEAL OF MATERIAL

By zachary r

Dec 6, 2016

Not nearly as good as Part 1.

By Faisal B K V

Jul 30, 2020

Thank you

By mubarak A G

Feb 17, 2020

lie