Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
1,278 ratings
350 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Top reviews

MN
Sep 23, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM
Dec 7, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 350 Reviews for The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

By Ahmed M A H

Sep 29, 2015

Great Instructor/Course from great University as great as the rest of Virginia university courses. Well respected Universities in addition to Duke, San Diego and Michigan Compared to the very short courses from other reputable Universities

By Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

By Jennifer S

Mar 19, 2016

Fascinating consideration of Why history took the turns it did and what alternatives there might have been. As a professor in the area of biology, I admire his organization and I admire the extent to which he excites curiosity. Excellent

By Lucas M S

Jun 24, 2021

Al igual que la primera parte de este curso, la explicacion es estupenda, el enfoque sobre los sucesos historicos es fantastica, y los temas abordados no solo son interesantes, si no de suma importancia para entender nuestro pasado.

By Heather Z

Sep 26, 2017

Wonderfully taught! Not just what happened but why it happened. This course, part one and part two, have really turned the light on for me, to see the significance of people's choices and how deeply every choice influences another

By Manuel A A

Aug 1, 2020

El curso es un viaje durante la historia contemporánea del siglo 20, con una ayudas como vídeo expeditos , mapas de los lugares destacados en la historia, que cambiaron el curso de esta. Muy enriquecedor lo disfrute muchísimo.

By David B

Aug 22, 2021

Gives a great overview of the key points that have shaped the world we live in today. Does not get too bogged down in dates and personalities, but concentrates on the broad reasons for what happened and more importantly why.

By Alexandre M

May 17, 2017

I´m a 17-year old pupil and this was my first experience with on line University courses. This course is very clearly structured and Professor Zelikow did a very good job at explaining worldwide history in an unbiaised way.

By Nikunj B

Jun 30, 2020

This set of two courses is basically what we should be teaching in schools. Schools often miss out modern history and especially overarching themes in history. I loved these two courses and the effort put into making them

By Martin K

Sep 21, 2015

Excellent part 2 of a modern history synopsis of the world. Highly engaged professor who has excellent insights into the reasons behind why events occurred in the past. Great for overall intellectual enrichment.

By Virginia C

Jul 1, 2017

The emphasis on examining how historical figures viewed their situations and available options results in a very interesting analysis of history that is engaging and thought provoking. Thanks for the great class.

By Srikanth K

Sep 2, 2017

Thanks Prof. Zelikow and his team for this hugely informative and entertaining course. This course was more absorbing and riveting than most movies and books. Of course, I got to learn and unlearn quite a lot.

By Paul K

Mar 9, 2017

As a person who has rarely studied history, I found this to be an excellent overview of key historical dates, people and ideas. Thank you for making this such an effective and helpful set of presentations.

By Fathima T P

Jul 24, 2020

Its an awesome course. And the instructor presented things very clearly. The course helped me to learn more about modern world. Both part one and two are good. Thank you so much for providing this course.

By Lorena A

Apr 5, 2021

A great course to connect the dots and understand dependencies, global impacts and implications through modern history. Very clear and agile. Good supporting illustrations and supporting data. Thank you!

By Shravya K

Nov 21, 2020

The Professor was really passionate and took you throug the miniscule details of modern history that made the world the way they are. this is truly a global history course and i enjoyed it very much

By Bhupesh M

Oct 21, 2020

Bit lengthy, sometime i felt bored but amazing course you will learn a lot of thing after completing both the courses. If you have ample time then just do it. Thank you prof. and coursera!!!

By Ahmed, S Y

Feb 9, 2021

This is a very interesting course. Professor, gave a very detailed Political History of our Modern World for the past 250 years. Highly recommended for anyone interested in Global History.

By sofia a

Jan 23, 2021

I LOVED the proffesor!!! also the way in which the videos are made, and the use of some books extracts, movies, transcriptions, etc.

I really can`t stress enough how good the proffesor is

By Michael P M

Jul 8, 2017

I found this course, and its comnpanion course "The Modern World Part One", extremely interesting and informatiive. Gave me a much broader view on the world today and how it has developed.

By Beverly W

Feb 21, 2021

Exceptional course! Lectures are incredibly interesting and well presented. Would love to view an additional lecture that includes historical commentary/coverage through the year 2020.

By Admario L R

Feb 6, 2016

Really outstanding course: clear, engaging and thoughtful. Prof. Zelikov knows how put complex subjects and historical situations in a most clear perspective without being superficial.

By Naveen J R

Aug 20, 2020

A great course that enables one to understand the flow of recent historical changes and provides understanding of the root events and choices that has resulted in the world of today.

By Bhanu S

Apr 10, 2018

The best Modern World History course. I wish professor had a book on the course written by himself, he explains every event from a number of perspectives, which is absolutely great.

By Gabriel O

Jan 8, 2017

This is a terrific course, amazing prevention,

but it does lack reading material that Virginia's full online course has,

it would be nice to have a deeper engamente with the subjects.