Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
2,360 ratings
618 reviews

About the Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

MC
Nov 5, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

HH
Jan 24, 2021

Very interesting and fun course\n\nDr. Zelikow really captivates the attention of the students and brilliantly explains complex situations to the layman audience.\n\nLook forward to Part II !\n\n:)

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 610 Reviews for The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

By Andréa G P

Sep 24, 2015

As a fan of History, I highly recommand this MOOC, it is always good for you to see history from a different prospective.

By Paul H

Dec 27, 2015

Great overview of this period in history. Professor makes it interesting without overwhelming. I definitely recommend.

By David M

Sep 22, 2015

Very analytical. Not just a recounting of facts, but a thorough review of trends and attitudes. Very enjoyable course.

By WMChen

May 4, 2019

The lecturer and course materials are excellent! Very well organized and explained. Thank you very much, Prof. Zelikow.

By Thriveni p

Aug 24, 2020

Well- stiched methodology, challenging assignments combined with eloquent delivery make the course highly interesting.

By Natasha S

Sep 6, 2021

T​he prof was so engaging, clearly loved the subject, and made sense of the big picture issues. Would 100% recommend!

By Catalina F

Mar 18, 2020

Super interesting, although it gives the image from a western point of view it is very interesting and well explained

By Cristián G C

Oct 16, 2020

Great teacher, great and easy way to undersand complicated ideas and new interpretation of the ideas around History.

By Henry S

Dec 20, 2015

An excellent course that provides a thorough overview of the changes that lead to the formation of the Modern World.

By Freddy S

Oct 25, 2015

I found the course to be well structured, and striking an appropriate balance between insight and detail.

Well done.

By Praneet S

Jul 4, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thank you, Prof. Zelikow.

I really look forward to the next part of this course.

By Arjun S

Apr 20, 2018

Wonderful Course. It helped me develop a much better world view and understand issues by thinking about the "why".

By Utkarsh M

Oct 15, 2020

I loved how the professor takes you to an interesting journey around the world and teaches you interesting things

By Måns A

Jun 3, 2017

As often at Coursera an important course that made me think in new directions about things that I already knew.

By Nicola F

Apr 16, 2017

Really good insight into the history of this period. I have found it fascinating and cannot wait to learn more.

By Mary A P

Dec 10, 2015

Great course. World history with a different flair. Proffeser is is top-notch. Thank you for the experience.

By Yushan S

Sep 24, 2015

A great course in a narrative view , and mainly focus on "Why this happen"~~PS:The professor is very charming~~

By David V A

Sep 10, 2020

Fantastic and engaging lecturer. Excellent switches between big, broad ideas and concrete localized examples.

By Tete G

Jul 14, 2020

Thank you professor Philip Zelikow, it was a pleasure do to this course with you ;)

Let´s go for part two now.

By Roya G

May 5, 2020

very good. a lot of information to digest but a good introduction to dig deeper into interested areas later.

By M J S

Nov 3, 2016

Find informative...and with additional details/perspectives that helped me to rethink what I thought I knew.

By Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

By Adrian J

Oct 17, 2016

An important explanation of how the world transitioned to the modern, with its benefits and disadvantages.

By Akash S

Sep 13, 2020

Really it is amazing ! I have enjoyed in all time . Hats off to the teacher . I am very thankful to you .

By Cesar A V

Dec 27, 2017

Excelente curso. Muy completo y riguroso, es mucho más que unas pinceladas sobre el periodo en cuestión.