Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
3,940 ratings
846 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a shared vision for your team and effectively communicate it to your teammates. You will also learn how to set effective goals and expectations in a way that best enables your team to attain the shared vision. Finally, you will understand the most important needs and drivers of performance across cultures, and will learn to align rewards with desired behaviors so that your teammates are motivated to attain the team’s objectives. Motivation represents a crucial challenge for contemporary organizations: A recent Gallup poll revealed that only 13% of workers worldwide exhibit high levels of engagement and motivation. We will show you why these motivation problems are not simply due to a “bad” or “unmotivated” team member. Rather, motivation is very much driven by what work conditions we create for our teammates, how we structure goals and objectives, and how we reward people for the accomplishment of those goals. This course will help you diagnose and solve motivation problems so that you can bring out the best in your people....

Top reviews

TD
Jun 20, 2017

Great course, but perhaps forewarn students of the feedback assignment in week 4 a little bit earlier - it took me nearly a month to get feedback from people on my team because we are pretty busy.

JN
Jun 24, 2016

Some material and the course was review from previous management classes whereas others were wonderfully thought-provoking. I wish many companies were forward-thinking enough to take this course.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 828 Reviews for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

By Abhay B

Apr 26, 2020

Nice course..Fresh insights....helpful in theory..needs to be put into practice at work place to unlock the real value.

By Rajendra S

Jan 1, 2020

Excellent Course!! Especially the research based content creates a lot of authenticity about the substance & take away.

By Marc S

Feb 2, 2017

Great material and inspirational reflections to increase your wisdom, even if you are highly experienced in the field.

By sudheer u

Mar 9, 2016

It was a pretty course that gives 360 view of individuals and how to motivate them, very fascinating to view the clips

By shahrzad m

Oct 4, 2015

Dear Professors Scott DeRue and Maxim Sytch,

Thank you very much for sharing your knowledge and time with us.

Regards,

By Grigorios K

Nov 22, 2020

Excellent course! Very persuasive instructors!

I really enjoyed my participation in this highly educational activity!

By alberto c

Jul 26, 2018

Useful for my work, Complete, well structured and supported by studies, surveys, etc. Finally, excellent Instructors.

By Daniel B T

Jul 12, 2020

Amazing course, It can help directly Managers to improve leadership and understand the real needs of each employees!

By Anshuman B

May 1, 2020

Excellent course for understanding real life scenarios faced in organizations and how we can improve upon henceforth

By Luiz G D M

Sep 16, 2019

Excellent course, clear classes and good tools to lead and inspiring people. You can to put in practice immediately.

By pietbartolo

May 25, 2017

Great course and great instructors! I was able to learn and apply what I learn in real life scenarios! Very helpful!

By Alp E Y

Jan 17, 2016

very nicely done course, recommended for all people regardless of ranking. Reference material and videos are awesome

By Julia V M

Dec 21, 2015

Covers theory and its application in a very straight forward and clear way. Enjoyable way to learn practical skills.

By Andrew K L

Sep 22, 2015

Loved the course, and getting more clear about intrinsic and extrinsic motivators, and how they influence on people.

By Alicia G

Apr 16, 2018

Perfect notions well explained by good teachers, it is really what I wanted to learn so thank you for this course !

By Jim

Jun 18, 2016

If you want to learn how to inspire and motivate individuals, this course will do it for you, quickly and easily.

By Joseph D S

Apr 13, 2020

This course provides simple and yet insightful topics on how to be a leader who motivates and inspires the team.

By ibon i a

Jan 16, 2020

Great course, still going through it but I have learnt so much so far. A must if you manage a team on your role.

By Kendra B

Jan 25, 2018

Good course to provide general concepts on leadership and provides good information that can be applied at work.

By Ivana K

Jan 22, 2016

Thank you so much for this useful and practical course. I am sincerely surprised how smoothly this is presented.

By Panneerselvam M

Jan 6, 2016

It has been a good eye-opener and insightful refresher course to understand the people aspect relevant to team.

By Qiyu Z

Jun 21, 2018

Very good course. This make me prepare for future learning, and I get some skills to motivate my club members.

By Mônica B

Jan 20, 2018

This course get inspired me to be motivated and getting better at work, in my projects and with my colleagues.

By Miguel Á T B

Aug 26, 2020

It was a pretty complete course to learn skills and strategies to manage, inspire and motivating individuals.

By Daniele P

Apr 16, 2020

Really well taught and with correct balance of peer assignment review needed to understand the level achieved