Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
5,560 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a shared vision for your team and effectively communicate it to your teammates. You will also learn how to set effective goals and expectations in a way that best enables your team to attain the shared vision. Finally, you will understand the most important needs and drivers of performance across cultures, and will learn to align rewards with desired behaviors so that your teammates are motivated to attain the team’s objectives. Motivation represents a crucial challenge for contemporary organizations: A recent Gallup poll revealed that only 13% of workers worldwide exhibit high levels of engagement and motivation. We will show you why these motivation problems are not simply due to a “bad” or “unmotivated” team member. Rather, motivation is very much driven by what work conditions we create for our teammates, how we structure goals and objectives, and how we reward people for the accomplishment of those goals. This course will help you diagnose and solve motivation problems so that you can bring out the best in your people....

Top reviews

KG

Mar 23, 2021

Excellent instructors, material is reliable and more than sufficient, overall presentation of information is well-paced, and all activities, included peer-graded assignments have learning potential.

TD

Jun 20, 2017

Great course, but perhaps forewarn students of the feedback assignment in week 4 a little bit earlier - it took me nearly a month to get feedback from people on my team because we are pretty busy.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,205 Reviews for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

By Tracy M

Mar 7, 2016

Course content and professors were excellent. Valuable insights and cross industry learnings to strengthen your leadership skills. Recommend.

By Paul K

Sep 8, 2016

I've taken a bunch of Coursera Courses, and these were my favorite. Fun to watch and packed with useful stuff I wish I had known a long time ago.

By Vivek S D

Nov 12, 2020

This course is an eye-opener to inspire employees and team members to be more productive. Highly recommended for HR enthusiast and professionals.

By Aakash S

May 7, 2016

This course perfectly sums up what individuals value and what are the ways managers can assess and better engage employees to drive performance.

By Deleted A

Dec 17, 2015

so far, this course has benefited me beyond any expectations! I'm forever grateful for taking this course and I highly recommend it for everyone

By Shannon S

Apr 22, 2018

I have been discouraged taking online courses due to my ADHD but the coursework and ease of assignments/quizzes motivated me to stay committed.

By Marco A

Oct 11, 2015

Great course with a scientific approach. Discussed topics are not just theories, but matters of fact which have been measured and investigated.

By Richard H

Nov 3, 2020

This course is very similar to what we studied in IT Project Management. The topics are well-presented and the quizzes are not that difficult.

By marvin

Jul 27, 2017

excellent course, it will prove to be helpful no matter what industry, you will always encounter a situation were you will need to inspire and

By Pablo A

Jun 7, 2024

Excelente curso, muy preciso y directo en como influir y motivar a nuestros equipos de trabajo, generando motivación constante en el tiempo.

By Marina Y K

Jan 9, 2016

It definitely helped me a lot to improve and inspire me with my leadership skills! Thank you very much for such a great lessons you gave me!

By Ravi K

Apr 16, 2020

The course was very well planned and articulated. The real life examples helped to correlate the course content for a better understanding.

By Kyle C

Sep 15, 2015

This is an excellent course. The materials and videos are fantastic and relevant to anyone in a leadership position within an organization.

By Maria C V C

Nov 4, 2020

very nice topic, can apply not only to our workplace but to our day to day activities thank you University of Michigan more courses to go.

By Cesar L P

Aug 4, 2018

Excellent course, with a special mention to both instructors! Thanks for help me to improve and consolidate my skills about leading teams.

By Thomas M S

Dec 5, 2015

A very informative and enjoyable course. It is refreshing to see someone talk based on actual research rather than popular management BS.

By Haresh S

Apr 16, 2024

I'm an university student. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the lecturers, University and Coursera. This course is amazing.

By Bronzetti N

Jan 17, 2017

Very insightful in providing a wide range of practical and theoretical tools concerning motivating and leading people, including oneself.

By petri

Dec 13, 2015

Clever programme that reveals the basis of team leadership. This stuff is a necessity for everyone in business with leadership ambitions.

By Melissa R

Sep 21, 2020

This has helped me understand more about people and how they operate in the office atmosphere. I look forward to the rest of the course!

By Mahmoud H M

Sep 16, 2016

Inspiring doctors and Amazing course, thank you for giving me the chance to learn so much knowledge and information from you, I owe you!

By Aamir A K

Feb 27, 2016

It was an amazing experience, I have completed the course before the deadlines and now waiting for my certificate to be delivered to me.

By Karen S

Feb 28, 2022

I really enjoyed this class, I learnt a good amount dynamics about leadership that I had not been aware of. I enjoyed the assignments.

By Wallace G

Oct 29, 2021

In general the program was very good. So glad they included video presentations -- makes it way easier to connect with the instructors.

By Asher A

Dec 6, 2021

Combination of psychological essence with an effect of leadership that helped me to capitalize my strength to welcome new opportunity.