Chevron Left
Back to Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
5,555 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a shared vision for your team and effectively communicate it to your teammates. You will also learn how to set effective goals and expectations in a way that best enables your team to attain the shared vision. Finally, you will understand the most important needs and drivers of performance across cultures, and will learn to align rewards with desired behaviors so that your teammates are motivated to attain the team’s objectives. Motivation represents a crucial challenge for contemporary organizations: A recent Gallup poll revealed that only 13% of workers worldwide exhibit high levels of engagement and motivation. We will show you why these motivation problems are not simply due to a “bad” or “unmotivated” team member. Rather, motivation is very much driven by what work conditions we create for our teammates, how we structure goals and objectives, and how we reward people for the accomplishment of those goals. This course will help you diagnose and solve motivation problems so that you can bring out the best in your people....

Top reviews

KG

Mar 23, 2021

Excellent instructors, material is reliable and more than sufficient, overall presentation of information is well-paced, and all activities, included peer-graded assignments have learning potential.

TD

Jun 20, 2017

Great course, but perhaps forewarn students of the feedback assignment in week 4 a little bit earlier - it took me nearly a month to get feedback from people on my team because we are pretty busy.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,203 Reviews for Inspiring and Motivating Individuals

By Abu y

Jun 1, 2020

❤❤❤

By Onel L

Mar 19, 2021

Using Steve Jobs as an example “what to do” instead of “what NOT to do” in Lesson 1 is where you lost my interest. The professor really needs to do his homework on Steve Jobs and his “accomplishments”.

That’s not someone I would ever want to emulate.

By Raphael d O

Dec 29, 2020

O curso é muito bacana, confesso que me surpreendi. No curso você vai aprender sobre o comportamento do ser humano em um time, como você pode premiá-los e direcionar a força de trabalho de forma mais produtiva e, além disso, como o seu comportamento, a sua forma de falar e o que você fala pode ajudar outras pessoas a serem mais motivadas e inspiradas por você (ou através de você). Recomendo o curso para todas as pessoas que assumem cargos de liderança, independente da proporção, ou aqueles que almejam esta posição no seu local de trabalho. Mesmo quem não se classifica dessa forma, eu recomendo este curso pois pode ajudá-lo nas suas relações interpessoais e o ser humano em meio a sociedade.

By Felipe N

Apr 16, 2023

This first module of the course is fabulous. The ideas presented during the week of the course are incredible to the point that I never thought about it. I am already putting these strategies into practice in my personal and professional life. As a flight attendant, I am pleased that I have learned many skills and ideas that I can share with many people and put into action in aviation.

I'm excited to start learning module 2 of this specialization.

Thank you so much!

By Passakorn K

Dec 30, 2022

A great course. Even as for a 17 year old, I think this course is absolutely great. It's applicable not to only in a managerial sense, but also in a personal development sense. It has taught me to "be tolerant of failures" whch is an important skill in life. Everyone interested should take it! Trust me, I've done some courses in the past but never managed to finish them, except for this one because of how fun it was. I highly recommend!

By Yash Y A

Oct 17, 2020

This is definitely one of the best courses I have attended here. The course also gives you excellent PPTs and shows videos to keep you related to the discussion topic. The quizzes are on point and peer assignment reflect the discussion in class. I only opted for this one course, but now I wish I had enrolled in complete specialization. Great job University of Michigan and Great Job to Dr. Scott DeRue and Dr. Maxim Scytch.

By Pier L D

Feb 19, 2024

I found this course very interesting. The teachers effectively summarize the essential points of the main consolidated theories on managing relationships with supervisors, peers and subordinates, proposing as well useful and hands-on suggestions adn recommendations. The course includes useful video contributions from various testimonials along with three highly valuable assignments.

By CARLOS A D M

Apr 29, 2021

Es un curso excelente, no solo aporta a tu vida laboral, sino que te ayuda en todos los aspectos de tu ser, se puede aplicar para poder ser un lider positivo, que guia a su equipo a llegar al proposito o vision de la compañia, inspirando y motivando con sentido de proyeccion a largo plazo, generando recordacion a sus clientes, compañeros, jefes e inclusive inversionistas.

By Aida E V A

Apr 5, 2023

Inspiring and Motivating Individuals course is extremely helpful especially for leaders. It helps you think through of your vision for your team. Equip you how to craft a clear, reasonable and achievable goals. Offers you research - based knowledge and understanding how to motivate individuals in your organization. As a leader it's a must have skills.

By Mina W W

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course

Many thanks for university of Michigan

Espically Scott DeRue, Ph.D.Edward J. Frey Dean at the Ross School of BusinessManagement and Organizations, Ross School of Business

and.

Maxim Sytch, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Management and Organizations Michael R. and Mary Kay Hallman FellowManagement and Organizations, Ross School of Business.

By Gokul

Feb 16, 2021

Excellent Course - The notes and information shared by both the professors were astounding and fascinating. Definitely I would recommend this course for any manager and manager to-be person. Materials and Narration were spot on with real time forum and review with peers. Keep the good work and keep motivating individuals! Wish the Best Always!

By IOANNIS M

Sep 28, 2022

Amazing and very unique course I was looking all across the web for this exact course and I found it! I'm actually enrolled to all 5 courses and I find them fascinating everyday!!! Thank you so much for giving me the possivility to be enrolled all the way from Greece!! I hope someday I have the chance to visit your university in person!!

By Edie S

Aug 11, 2021

Fantastic! I took a few courses on Coursera before and this course was the best one by far. Scott DeRue and Maxim Sytch are top professors and I am grateful to have accessibility to their knowledge via this course. This course even motivated me to search information about an Online Executive MBA at University of Michigan (Ross).

By Sharee M A C

Jul 2, 2020

This course was actually so much more interesting than I thought it was going to be - I loved it! The was it was presented was very interesting and entertaining and I thought the information in the course was very relevant and recent. I also liked that there was variety in the assessment tasks. I highly recommend this course.

By Alison D

Feb 17, 2016

Excellent course with just the right amount of video and homework assignment to keep you engaged. The videos and data presented were very well curated and there were plenty of fun examples that helped clarify different points. Peer review is a good way of hearing lots of different perspectives. Overall, very enjoyable, thanks.

By Anastasiia A

Dec 6, 2015

I really recommend this course. Th authors give good range of infotmation and structure it in the way it helps you to understand how to implement the knowledge in youreveryday job. They provide the dataof researchs and surveys that confirms the information. The new information is good iilustrated with the real business examples.

By Shreekanth A D

Feb 14, 2022

Inspiring and Motivating Individuals has been richly crafted course, extremely useful for the Senior Professionals. I was able to resonate lot of things to my professional life journey, loads of learnings and experience sharing. This course will be very useful for my career path ahead in building and leading team members !

By Viviana A B F

May 29, 2020

Hola, he tratado de buscar una manera de comunicarme con ustedes y no he podido. Resulta que no logro hacer el test de la segunda semana, el cual esta bloqueado, y no se porque, necesito que me desbloqueen la semana, ya que el curso lo estoy realizando para potenciar un trabajo que realizare en en el corto tiempo, gracias.

By Abhijeet A

Sep 28, 2019

This course is really wonderful to lead your team. Even though, I never lead the team before, but the way my CEO handled all of us , I was really amazed and wished if I could be like that. After taking this course, I feel I can be like him someday. Thanks to the instructor for creating such a wonderful course content.

By Maaz J

Apr 30, 2020

I loved this course as it provides all the necessary things that must come forward in order to sustain such situations that are favourable and eliminate all those steps that could harm any work or project. This course provided me very good videos and clips that helps in understanding your teammates or group members.

By syndia p

Jul 5, 2020

This is just inspiring to learn new things. The staffs did a great job in making the course simple yet powerful in every possible way.Really enjoyed this course and learned a lot through this course. This is one of the best course i have ever done in coursera. Really looking forward to more courses like this.

By Bartosz S

Jun 15, 2017

Fantastic! Many years of experience as Manager I tough I am in many situations doing wrong. After this course I know many of those situations are nothing streng for the science and it is nice to match the experiences with science. I was really great! I am sure I will use this knowledge in my future positions!

By Ghulam G

Aug 22, 2020

Offered by Michigan university , In this course i'm learn and known about Leadership,goals setting and how to create a shared vision for our team and effectively communicate it our teammates.

and also about the importance of feed-back from our teammates and employees.

i shall be very thankful and also hopeful.

By Renato T

May 23, 2017

This course gives you the most recent research on motivating employees and peers, with great examples. They teach you how to avoid common mistakes managers do all the time and the risks of some very well spread techniques that does not work all the time, so you finish the course knowing how to mitigate them.

By Iqra S

Oct 2, 2020

It is an excellent course to enhance your skills and personality as an individual. The way the course progresses is really nice. You never feel that we are doing something so serious or difficult . The course is explained through so many real practical life examples which help you understand them properly.