Chevron Left
Back to Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why by Duke University

4.3
stars
679 ratings

About the Course

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Top reviews

TS

May 16, 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

Sep 21, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 170 Reviews for Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

By Gisel C

Mar 22, 2020

Thanks so much Dale for your teaching! I'm highly interested in this and would like to know more about this and get more involved!

By maria e b m d

Jan 27, 2020

muy didáctico aun cuando no seas médico ni músico. explica bien un analsis de la música como parte de la expresion del ser humano

By Jooe D V

Mar 30, 2020

M encanto el curso porque pude aprender muchas funciones del habla generado por la música y sus distintos Orígenes culturales

By Fernando V

Apr 12, 2018

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

By Peregrine H

Jan 2, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.

By Renny G L

Aug 29, 2018

Very interesting course! especially if you are musician or you like Physicis and Biology

By Samara S

May 29, 2020

Great course! Helped my further feed my interest in music and biology!! Thank you! :)

By Andres G

Oct 31, 2020

So deep. I really learned about music in an aspect I never thought before.

By Darren H

Nov 2, 2021

An excellent introduction to another elusive facet of human perception

By Lluis G

Nov 29, 2016

I learned awesome things on that course, things that I never imagine

By Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

By Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

By Marilen A B

Sep 25, 2020

Demasiado interesante, te abre la mente de manera sorprendente.

By Zairus C

Jan 12, 2024

"I really enjoyed the connections between Neurobiogy & Music."

By Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

By Miguelina G

Aug 29, 2019

Excelente curso, entusiasmada para aprender más. Gracias!

By Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

By mtakara

Aug 27, 2020

very interesting and enlightening. great instructor too

By Erich C

Oct 2, 2016

Very interesting, a stimulating and in depth course!

By Shivani R

Jul 19, 2020

GOOD EXPERIENCE TO LEARN A NEW SUBJECT. I LIKED IT.

By Brankko S

Mar 28, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

By Arshia V

Sep 9, 2022

Very interesting, loved the music demonstrations!

By Karen B

May 21, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto.

100% Recomendado

By Wilson O

Sep 11, 2022

Enjoyable, and key ideas clearly conveyed.

By muntassir h

Sep 16, 2019

It was an amazing experience studying this.