Chevron Left
Back to Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course by Duke University

4.8
stars
2,372 ratings
608 reviews

About the Course

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

Top reviews

RM
May 21, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

HC
Apr 4, 2021

It's a wonderful course for anybody looking to gain some good insights on Nanotechnology along with practical exposure. Nan Jokerst, you are an amazing teacher.\n\nWould highly recommend this course!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 615 Reviews for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

By karyston l d s

Jun 8, 2020

amazing

By Yasser H A

Jan 28, 2020

So good

By Shakil M

Jul 2, 2019

sucess

By Pranjal S

Jun 8, 2021

Great

By ROHITH V S

Jul 12, 2021

best

By Dr. S D

Jun 1, 2020

Good

By KURAPATI S

May 29, 2020

GOOD

By Kalwa M s r

Apr 26, 2020

nice

By Lokesh g

Apr 18, 2020

Good

By Himanshu S

Feb 7, 2020

Good

By Vijay k

Feb 3, 2020

Good

By Camila G

Oct 7, 2020

top

By Shafiu A

Nov 17, 2021

E

By malavika d

Sep 5, 2021

By reem j s

Jun 29, 2021

y

By Sudipto S

Jun 19, 2020

The course would be a nice start for a beginner in the field of nanofabrication. The course mostly contains very basic definitions and a rough overview of the common fabrications techniques of classrooms. However, this course does not provide any detailed theoretical background or details about the hands-on experience about the techniques. So, I would say, if you are an absolute beginner in the cleanroom, go for the course to get a very basic overview of what happens inside a cleanroom.

By María P A M

Jun 3, 2021

Excelente como presentan de forma resumida el funcionamiento de las técnicas de fabricación y caracterización de nanomateriales, mostrando lo más importante de estas y dejando muy claro como se llevan a cabo. Me gustó mucho que mostraran los equipos y los lugares donde estas se realizan, dejando más clara la idea que quieren plasmar. Es una forma muy interesante y entretenida de aprender.

By LAKSHMIPRASAD M

Nov 18, 2019

Good self - paced course. Starting with the very basics, the course takes us in - depth. Some completely alien topics may take 3 - 4 time repetition of videos for better understanding. Other than that, course is interesting with good practical demos simultaneously. Feels great to see the state of art facilities involved in fabrication of devices at such small scale. Thank you.

By Ashwin S

Apr 20, 2020

It's a very comprehensive course giving you an overview of the basics of fabrication and characterisation. It doesn't delve too deeply to be intimidating, and the delivery of content is just right, with engaging lab demonstrations to give context to theory. However, this is only an introductory course and it does a great job of you giving you a feel for the domain.

By Bibi H

Jan 14, 2020

I loved this course , this was very helpful and interesting and it is very easy to access and it was very informative and lecturers were fantastic , they covered all important topics and assignments are the best thing in this course i really enjoyed solving it and thank you to all lectures and coursera community.

By HORNG Y T

Apr 10, 2021

Very interesting course with theoretical explanation by professors followed by practical demonstrations by students. This reinforces the key messages. The variety of presenters make the videos more interesting. Some presenters are speaking a bit fast but overall i've enjoyed the course!

By Ayah h

Jul 18, 2021

the course was very and informative, its basically a general introduction to various process to produce nano-sized materials. it had given me the advantage of understanding the basics of such a complicated branch of size that is the Nano-materials. Thank you very much!

By Stephen G

Jun 18, 2018

The basic knowledge presented is a great starting point but often not much detail is provided. I would have enjoyed a more rigorous course regarding many of the topics. Once again, it was a good introduction though.

By Tan W H

Jul 9, 2020

The course provides a general overview of the different processes and equipment involved in fabricating and manipulating nanomaterials. However, the mentioning of RTNN at the end of each week is too redundant.

By Syed M B F

Mar 23, 2018

I am still confused about RTNN thing, I mean, if I am abroad how can I get access (hands on - in fact) to equipment? Otherwise the course is good with less lecture hours. Great to learn more in less time.