Chevron Left
Back to Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course by Duke University

4.8
stars
2,254 ratings
581 reviews

About the Course

How can we create nano-structures that are 10,000 times smaller than the diameter of a human hair? How can we “see” at the nano-scale? Through instruction and lab demonstrations, in this course you will obtain a rich understanding of the capabilities of nanotechnology tools, and how to use this equipment for nano-scale fabrication and characterization. The nanoscale is the next frontier of the Maker culture, where designs become reality. To become a Nanotechnology Maker pioneer, we will introduce you to the practical knowledge, skills, and tools that can turn your nanotechnology ideas into physical form and that enable you to image objects at the nano-scale. This course has been developed by faculty and staff experts in nano-fabrication, electron beam microscopy, and nano-characterization through the Research Triangle Nanotechnology Network (RTNN). The RTNN offers training and use of the tools demonstrated in this course to schools and industry through the United States National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure program. The tools demonstrated in this course are available to the public through the RTNN....

Top reviews

RM
May 21, 2020

Highly informative..Nan Jokerst , you are the best teacher .Amazing team work with proper theory as well as practical knowledge. I gained my interest in Nanotech. Thankyou for the wonderful sessions.

HC
Apr 4, 2021

It's a wonderful course for anybody looking to gain some good insights on Nanotechnology along with practical exposure. Nan Jokerst, you are an amazing teacher.\n\nWould highly recommend this course!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 589 Reviews for Nanotechnology: A Maker’s Course

By Syed M B F

Mar 23, 2018

I am still confused about RTNN thing, I mean, if I am abroad how can I get access (hands on - in fact) to equipment? Otherwise the course is good with less lecture hours. Great to learn more in less time.

By Jay G

Mar 8, 2018

This Course is really useful if you want to work on characterization of material. This course give brief information of every characterization technique as well as basic information of lithography also.

By Ahmed S

Nov 7, 2018

An amazing course which gives both of the practical and theoretical parts of whatever equipment explained and gives the needed information for the usage without filling unnecessary deep concepts.

By Raja F G

Jul 24, 2020

Although basic but very interesting course. If you want to learn, revise or improve your knowledge about the Nanotechnology fabrication, you must invest some time into this course.

By Maayan F

Mar 12, 2020

High quality information. Not too deep, good for general information. Some tests are better than others, most are too simple but allow a smooth transition through the course

By ASWATHY r n

Sep 14, 2020

excellent course.This course does give a deep insight into basics as well as advanced understanding of technology used in nano-fields.Kudos to the maker's of this course

By deep t

May 29, 2020

amazing demonstration about practical usage of variety of equipment.

nano scale processes are well explained and are really interesting for new learners in this field.

By Md. R H M

Apr 17, 2020

Well outlines course. Provides a brief of the fabrication process. The best thing is direct familiarization with the lab instruments and environments.

By Manukrishna M

Jul 9, 2020

I got to know many basics about Nanotechnology from my home and had a glimpse of expensive robust and complex instruments through the demonstrations.

By Anil K

Oct 28, 2019

I was really searching for such course to understand the fabrication process. I am glad to complete this course withing 3 days with utmost interest .

By Deleted A

Feb 21, 2020

This course is overall easy to follow and well-organized. In some sections, more animations would be helpful to illustrate the process more clearly.

By Dnyaneshwari P

May 25, 2020

It was a good course. Every thing was given in detail. I liked the instrumentation videos to prepare various films by using different techniques

By Kamal R

Apr 20, 2018

The course briefly describes the different processes involved in the Fabrication of Devices.

More detailed lectures would have been appreciated.

By Hiroshi T

Aug 13, 2020

Very well paced and informative course that goes in depth on the types of imaging used for nano-tech and some of the techniques used.

By D. A p

Jul 20, 2021

Its very informative and interesting that we could complete it without boring. Highly recommended for Biotechnology Undergraduates

By abhishek k

Apr 14, 2020

An intermediate-level course for anyone who wants to know about characterization, fabrication and basic level instrumentation.

By SHANTANU B

Jun 9, 2020

Really an effective course in purpose to learn about the instruments that are highly used to personalize nano particles

By Rajaguru

Mar 28, 2019

The seminar taught by the staffs are goods but the subject is very complicated.Changing in syllabus is more better.

By P S B

Sep 19, 2018

The course is well structured and organised. The questions can be a bit more technical and thought provoking.

By Abdesselam S

Oct 15, 2019

I enjoyed the course, it was an immersive dive into the world of nanotechnology and nano-characterization.

By Javier N

Jan 27, 2020

Very good course, well designed and performed by teachers, technicians and students!! Thank you!!

By Sarthak V

Jan 25, 2020

An excellent course, giving detail information regarding the equipment used in Nanotechnology.

By PRIYANKA K P

Sep 9, 2020

It helped me a lot to learn the basics and the working process of different techniques

By Mohammed N

Aug 24, 2020

fabulous course , thank you very much for every one take part in this course

By smita m n

Jul 22, 2020

got an insight into most complex devices we've only learnt in the textbooks